Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 13:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.1.2 Bug Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 05:11    Post_subject:  Puppy 4.1.2 Bug Fixes
Sub_title: (Fixes only. Submit bug reports in the separate bug report thread)
 

Post Bug Reports Here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36454

Bug: some text files try to open in vi

Fix:
edit as text the following file:
/etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/MIME-types/text

change code to:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec defaulttexteditor "$@"


Edited 10DEC2008 at to fix my 4 a.m. typos

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 13:58    Post_subject:  

Prit has a mirror ready here
http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/puppy-4.1.2-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso
http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/puppy-4.1.2-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso.md5.txt
http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/puppy-4.1.2retro-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso
http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/puppy-4.1.2retro-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso.md5.txt

Thanks Prit.

Also this one is fast http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/puppylinux/
Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 00:17    Post_subject:  

Does 4.1.2 incorporate the fix Pizzasgood found for the bug where hitting the Insert key while composing a message in this forum causes Seamonkey to close?

Edit: I installed Pizzasgood's .pet in 4.1.1, then upgraded to 4.1.2 by burning the 4.1.2 iso to a DVD+RW with burniso2cd in 4.1.1 then shutting down, saving the session to the newly burned DVD. Then I booted the 4.1.2 DVD and it's what I'm using to write this. I've hit the insert key several times while writing this, so either Pizzasgood's fix was transferred to the 4.1.2 DVD or the 4.1.2 iso incorporates the fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gammagone

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 00:03    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Does 4.1.2 incorporate the fix Pizzasgood found for the bug where hitting the Insert key while composing a message in this forum causes Seamonkey to close?


I've been reading about the fix but haven't fixed it. Just now got 412-std and tested running in RAM and from full install. Go to compose window, hit insert key and Seamonkey disappears.

So the answer must be No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 19:36    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Fix:
/etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/text

change code to:...


Your message is a bit too terse for me. It seems you are saying to modify an existing file named "text"? I don't have one...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gammagone

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 22:15    Post_subject:  

Quote:
/etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/text


should be:

/etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/MIME-types/text

text is a script - right click, open as text,

change:

#!/bin/sh
exec xterm -e vi "$@"

to:

#!/bin/sh
exec geany "$@"

save, quit.

test before and after on any .css file
there may be other types but i can't remember

Wink

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 22:28    Post_subject:  

Quote:
change:

#!/bin/sh
exec xterm -e vi "$@"

to:

#!/bin/sh
exec geany "$@"

save, quit.
Actually, to be proper it should use defaulttexteditor, not geany.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gammagone

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 22:42    Post_subject:  

@Pizzasgood
Thank you. I didn't know that. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2008, 22:51    Post_subject:  

good catches - I will update the post
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 01:09    Post_subject:  

Basically ever since we started using Xorg, the xorgwizard has had a problem where if it Xorg detects two (or more) screens, it will partially configure the xorg.conf file for dual-screen support, but it won't finish the job. It adds a reference to a second screen in the Server section, but it leaves out the corresponding Screen section. This leaves Xorg un-runnable, forcing the user to manually correct the file from the commandline, by either commenting out the reference to the second screen or adding the missing section. Very annoying, and new users wouldn't have a clue what to do.

So tonight I fixed it. I didn't do anything fancy, I just did a little grepping to find out if multiple screens have been referenced, and then put the part that generates the Screen section into a for loop, replacing the hardcoded '0' with a variable. The file is /usr/sbin/xorgwizard and the lines are 874-886. Change this:
Code:
#now write the Screen section...
SCRNSECTION="
Section \"Screen\"
   Identifier \"Screen0\"
   Device     \"Card0\"
   Monitor    \"Monitor0\"
    DefaultDepth $FINALDEPTH
    Subsection \"Display\"
        Depth       $FINALDEPTH
        Modes       \"${FINALXY}\"
    EndSubsection
EndSection
"
echo "$SCRNSECTION" >> /etc/X11/xorg.conf
to
Code:
#now write the Screen section...
#handle multiple screens
SCREEN_LIST=$(grep -o '^[^#a-zA-Z]*Screen[^"]*"Screen[0-9]\+"' /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep -o 'Screen[0-9]\+' | grep -o '[0-9]\+')
SCRNSECTION=""
for i in $SCREEN_LIST; do
SCRNSECTION="$SCRNSECTION
Section \"Screen\"
   Identifier \"Screen$i\"
   Device     \"Card$i\"
   Monitor    \"Monitor$i\"
   DefaultDepth $FINALDEPTH
   Subsection \"Display\"
      Depth       $FINALDEPTH
      Modes       \"${FINALXY}\"
   EndSubsection
EndSection
"
done
echo "$SCRNSECTION" >> /etc/X11/xorg.conf


Those line-numbers apply to both Puppy 4.1.2 and 4.1.1, as xorgwizard didn't change. This should work on a good number of other versions too, but the line numbers will be a little different.

Attached are the new version and a diff.
xorgwizard.diff.gz
Description  Patch for /usr/sbin/xorgwizard to improve handling of multiple screens in Puppy 4.1.2 and 4.1.1.
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard.diff.gz 
Filesize  564 Bytes 
Downloaded  925 Time(s) 
xorgwizard.gz
Description  Patched xorgwizard to have slightly improved handling of multiple screens.
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard.gz 
Filesize  18.04 KB 
Downloaded  937 Time(s) 

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 09:14    Post_subject:  

Wow, you guys are amazing!

It has been 15 years since I chased code bugs but I remember how tough it could be to spot one in hundreds or thousands of lines of code.

Thanks for sharing this fix!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 09:22    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:

Edit: I installed Pizzasgood's .pet in 4.1.1, then upgraded to 4.1.2 by burning the 4.1.2 iso to a DVD+RW with burniso2cd in 4.1.1 then shutting down, saving the session to the newly burned DVD. Then I booted the 4.1.2 DVD and it's what I'm using to write this. I've hit the insert key several times while writing this, so either Pizzasgood's fix was transferred to the 4.1.2 DVD or the 4.1.2 iso incorporates the fix.


Flash - Is this method of updating new or improved or just locally convenient for you, please? I apparently have not kept up with all of the added versatility of Puppy! Smile

Between our three old Panasonic Toughbooks (two CF-28 and one CF-27) we have only one shared internal cd/dvd-rw as the drive carrier is hard to find and expensive. They don't allow booting from a USB stick.

Could I just burn a ISO CD on one laptop then copy the initrd.gz, vmlinuz, and pup_412.sfs to the HDD then also copy them to a USB stick and then copy them to the other two laptops?

BTW: Have you noticed if 4.12 fixes the memory/resource leak in 4.11?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 14:22    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:

Could I just burn a ISO CD on one laptop then copy the initrd.gz, vmlinuz, and pup_412.sfs to the HDD then also copy them to a USB stick and then copy them to the other two laptops?

If grub is already installed then all you would have to do is update the menu.lst otherwise you would need to install grub as well

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 21:18    Post_subject:  

OK, it worked, with a few tweaks:

1. Downloaded puppy 4.12 and the matching devx

2. Burned an iso CD

3. Booted from the iso puppy pfix=ram

4. Created a /mnt/home/pup412 folder (already had a pup411 folder)

5. Copied initrd.gz, pup_412.sfs, and vmlinuz from the CD to my HDD (sda1) into /mnt/home/pup412

6. Copied devx_412.sfs from the download folder to /mnt/home/pup412

7. Edited /mnt/home/boot/grub/menu.lst - changed all references to pup411 to pup412

Rebooted ... then realized that I created a mess as it created new pup_save.2fs with none of my saved settings, files, etc. so ..........

8. Copied pup_save-411.2fs from /mnt/home/pup411 to /mnt/home/pup412 and renamed it pup_save-412.2fs

9. Rebooted and chose pup_save-412.2fs and waited for Puppy to fix everything ... then once open I rebooted again ... then all was good!

10. Copied initrd.gz, pup_412.sfs, vmlinuz, and devx_412.sfs from /mnt/home/pup412 to my USB stick.

11. Repeated the process above on the next laptop but instead of booting from the CD I merely copied the files into that /mnt/home/pup412 and made the necessary tweaks to Grub and dealt with the pup_save thing.

Are there steps I could skip here or was this about right, please?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Dec 2008, 00:29    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
Flash wrote:

Edit: I installed Pizzasgood's .pet in 4.1.1, then upgraded to 4.1.2 by burning the 4.1.2 iso to a DVD+RW with burniso2cd in 4.1.1 then shutting down, saving the session to the newly burned DVD. Then I booted the 4.1.2 DVD and it's what I'm using to write this. I've hit the insert key several times while writing this, so either Pizzasgood's fix was transferred to the 4.1.2 DVD or the 4.1.2 iso incorporates the fix.


Flash - Is this method of updating new or improved or just locally convenient for you, please? I apparently have not kept up with all of the added versatility of Puppy! Smile

Well my secret is out: I'm a lousy writer. I didn't specify once that I was talking about a multisession DVD. (Although my signature does say that I run Puppy from a multisession DVD. Still, I should have seen that what I wrote could be confusing.)

_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0968s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]