Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 12:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Run ethernet Wiz. > Auto_DHCP at boot? (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 07:03    Post_subject:  Run ethernet Wiz. > Auto_DHCP at boot? (SOLVED)  

I beleave I found the ethernet Wizard at: /etc/sbin/net-setup.sh, I need to run Auto_DHCP at the start of the rc.sysinit script to bring the network up so pup001 & usr_cram.fs. can be samba mounted, before all the errors from not finding them locally are hit.
It looks like the function: dhcpsetup() does the work, but I don't know how to call it properly to make it work.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 14:07    Post_subject:  

The dhcpcd is inside usr_cram.fs so you cannot access it before mounting the fs partition.

What exactly are you tying to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 18:25    Post_subject:  

I'm working on LanPup, I got John Murga's 128 special to lan boot because usr_cram.fs is inside image.gz.
I need to bring the network up before the local drives are searched, because there arn't any local drives.
Then pup001 & usr_cram.fs can be mounted on a server, this so normal Puppies will lan boot.
So copy dhcpcd into image.gz, but how to call net-setup.sh from a script to run Auto_DHCP?
I don't know if ifconfig is run when [Auto_DHCP] is pressed, or if the previous [Config. eth0] button does it.
Or copy the code to my script, but what to copy, to: eth0 up, dhcp request, restart eth0 with dhcp info?

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 18:26    Post_subject:  

rarsa, I found dhcpcd with ifconfig in the /sbin dir. in image.gz, so they're available at boot time.
I Googled for dhcpcd setup info, but nothing I found gave a simple script example.
I need the sequence of commands for dhcp request, & then ifconfig from the dhcp info.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 18:29    Post_subject: SOLVED  

I beleave I solved it, after MUCH MUCH Googling, I'm astonished to find that
it's so simple.
All that's required is to run the command: "dhcpcd"!
I couldn't beleave it was so simple, so I tried it & it worked.
It's a real drag reinventing the wheel 20 times a day, that's what friends are for, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0445s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]