Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Jul 2015, 19:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Tecra 8000 - opl3sa2 chip - No Sound
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
Dgertis

Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 23 Nov 2008, 14:00    Post subject:  Tecra 8000 - opl3sa2 chip - No Sound
Subject description: Unable to get sound to work
 

First, let me say that I think Puppy Linux is absolutely amazing!!!

Second... Help!!! I can't get the sound to work.

We have an old Toshiba Tecra 8000 laptop that was gathering dust on the shelf, and were about to toss out. Instead, however, I decided to see if I could make it a "green" project and reclaim it's usefulness by installing a Linux system.

After trying SUSE, Ubuntu, FreeBSD, I finally found Puppy! I was able to install and run the whole operating system in one try, and was even able to configure a wireless card using the wizard. Pretty amazing considering this is a pentium II machine with 128k ram and a 10gb hard drive!

Unfortunately, history repeats itself, yet again. Configuring the sound is "W2K" - way too komplicated. I cannot get sound to work using the ALSA wizard, or even trying place the config values in module.conf or modprobe.conf. All of the posts I could find on this were (as expected) 3-10 years old and correctly identified and corrected the problem in a particular operating system, but I could not duplicae the fix here in Puppy.

Here are the default BIOS Settings for the sound card:

Chipset: Yamaha opl3sa2

WSS I/O Address = 530H
SBPro I/O Address = 220H
Synthesizer I/O Address = 388H

IRQ = 5

WSS (Play) DMA = 1
WSS (Rec) & SBPro DMA = 0
Control I/O Address = 538H
MPU401 (MIDI I/F) = 330H
--------------------------------------------------------

Any advice as to how to se this up in one of he configuration files to activate sound in Puppy would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance for your thoughts on this.. and again, my deep thanks to all of you who make and support Puppy -- it is really great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Wed 24 Dec 2008, 19:19    Post subject: Tecra 8000 - opl3sa2 chip - Must work
Subject description: I have the same Tecra, there is no sound problem.
 

Hi Dave,

I have the same Tecra8000 except the 256M of memory.
The 4.1.2 version of Puppy Linux contains the driver you need. It recognizes the sound card - go ahead with alsaconfig.
Version 4.0 fails for the first round but succeeds if you answer Yes when Puppy asks whether to seek the the legacy drivers.
If you want to install Skype, use the pet package.
I did not try older Puppies.
I think upgrading to 256M does worth. However, you can live with 128M. G_Pup 1.1 can be a good base for you in this case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jul 2015, 16:20    Post subject: opl3sa2 not working with 4.1.2 (pulp) Gateway 2000 (166MHz)  

The legacy driver does not work. Sound works with Win98. dma1=00 dma2=01 irq=5 Addresses 0x220 0x530 x388 0x330 0x370
Not isapnp.
How can I manually insert the modules?
The Gateway is maxed out at 3x64MB RAM.
I want to use it as an internet radio. It has line in and out ports, physical vol control, and low power draw (2.64A).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 11:10    Post subject:  

Dgertis wrote:
I cannot get sound to work using the ALSA wizard

For older hardware such as yours, particularly with devices on the ISA bus, there's a really important BIOS setting which will let your hardware play nice with Linux. By default the BIOS wants to allow the operating system to alter the computer's hardware resource values, but this will typically only works with Windows, not Linux, so you must force the BIOS to use its own hardware values. Normally this setting is called "PnP OS = Yes/No"
but instead I believe that old Tecras will have something like
"Device Config. - Configure Devices by OS"
and I think you need to change this setting to -
"Device Config. - Configure All"
Save this new BIOS setting, and exit BIOS.

Now boot to Puppy, and go to -
Menu > Setup > ALSA Sound Wizard
at the prompt, select "legacy"
the correct driver in your case will be "opl3sa2"

Now use Geany to open /etc/modprobe.conf
and at the very bottom you will see that the ALSA Sound Wizard has added these lines -
Code:
alias snd-card-0 snd-opl3sa2
alias sound-slot-0 snd-opl3sa2
options snd-opl3sa2 fm_port=-1 midi_port=-1 port=0x370 wss_port=0x530 isapnp=0 dma1=1 dma2=0 irq=5

Those hardware resource values are the default values for your soundcard, and they need to match the values listed in your BIOS.
You can actually delete the references to "fm_port" "midi_port" and "wss_port" but all other values are critical.

sindi wrote:
dma1=00 dma2=01 irq=5 Addresses 0x220 0x530 x388 0x330 0x370

I don't know where you got those values from but they are NOT the default values for a Tecra 8000. dma1=1 dma2=0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 11:22    Post subject:  

Dgertis, just one more thing, you posted a request for help back in 2010, and didn't respond -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=60478
That's improper forum etiquette.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 13:31    Post subject: Plug n Play NO - no sound with Gateway opl3sa2  

This is a Gateway2000 Solo 2300 not a Tecra. Sold with 133, 166, or 200MHz CPU and 32MB. $500 extra for an active
matrix display that works at any angle.. The display looks much better at odd angles than that of a 2102 cheap Toshiba.
800x600. A reviewer says 'USB ports. I believe these are the wave of the future'. Very rare on laptops this age.
Phoenix Bios 1985-96. Sold with Win95.

The video was not working usably for a while - shifted and jittery. We figured out yesterday (96F out, needed an indoor
project) that removing the battery helps. The black rxvt displayed blue for a few minutes then stabilized. Not
relevant to a radio.

I ran Puppy 1.07 on a 133Mhz HP Omnibook ($3500 new) where sound only worked with OSS.

Pulp (4.1.2) complains during boot of various things udevd-related. "not a directory"

The CMOS battery is holding the date but not the time.

I copied the dma etc values from Win98. They were also set in BIOS
Advanced, Integrated Peripherals:

They are currently:

I/O Address: 220H-22FH
MPU-401 I/O Address: 330H-333H
Interrupt: IRQ5
DMA Channel: DMA CH0
WAVE 2 DMA: DMA CH1

IRQ 3 and 4 are in use (I forget for what).

I changed Plug & Play O/S to NO and left above values unchanged.

(Serial, Parallel, IR and joystick are disabled).

Either way, it just tells me

Playing WAVE.....
aplay: pcm_write:1269: write error: Input/output error.

mplayer appears to play but says Can't open audio device /dev/dsp


In /etc/modprobe.conf alsaconf has added:

alias snd-card-0 snd-opl3sa2
alias sound-slot-0 snd-opl3sa2
options snd-opl3sa2 fm_port=1 midi_port=-1 port=0x370 wss_port=0x530 isapno=0 dma1=3 dma2=5 irq=3

The last three values are different from the 1 0 5 for the Tecra. Should I change mine in BIOS?

If I change them in modprobe.conf to 0 1 5 or 1 0 5 still Input/output error
Or if I change port to 0x220.

I tried modprobe snd-opl3sa2 with all the parameters above (as suggested for a Thinkpad 390 with opl3sa2).
I commented out the lines in modprobe.conf first.

I tried (from another site for opl3sa2 discussing a patch for a bug in the driver):
modprobe snd-opl3sa2 port=0x538 sb_port=0x220 wss_port=0x530 fm_port=0.388 midi_port=0.330 dma1=0 dma2=1 irq=5 isapnp=0
They got a segfault. I got Input/output error.

Someone used this on an AMD K6-2 with success:
modprobe snd-opl3sa2 index=0 id=CARD_0 port=0x370 sb_port=0x220 wss_port=0x530 midi_port=-1 fm_port=-1 irq=5 dma1=0
dma2=1 isapnp=0
Input/output error for me. I omitted the first two parameters and tried again. Same result.

Some people got the sound to work with OSS for about a minute then it freezes. I had no such luck.
If I try to specify any parameters it won't accept them. insmod opl3sa2 without parameters: mplayer says no /dev/dsp
(I tried in another older linux, not Puppy 1.07 - that computer died).

The driver appears to be buggy.

There is also a nm256_audio driver for some Gateway solo laptop sound cards. The owner also tried opl3sa2. No sound.

I will attempt to use Win98 as an internet radio. Someone pointed me at a 26MB mplayer.exe optimized for Pentium III,
and I found wget and mpg123 for Windows (totalling about 6MB). wget -O - http://URL | mpg123
I compiled a 3MB mplayer (sound only) for linux with P54C support.

Regarding the link to a 2010 post, that is by Dgertis (not sindi) and concerns an Acer.
I have not owned any working Acers. My apologies if I did not respond to another suggestion.
Thanks also for the help with gtkpod.
Sindi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry1966


Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 15:11    Post subject:  

I think Tempestous was not having a go at you sindi merely pointing out to the original poster in this thread that he had made to requests for help and never replied back if said it advice worked for him. It is annoying when you help people in forums and they don't reply back. Fair to say he has probably moved on from Puppy by now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 15:47    Post subject: opl3sa2 as internet radio in Win98  

I found wget and mpg123 for Win98. Put the exe and any dlls (one is static) in the same directory that you are in.
wget downloads, mpg123 plays mp3s, but mpg123 (version I found for Windows) will not play from STDOUT.

wget -O - http://URL | mpg123 - (I had omitted that -)
Works fine in linux, but in Windows just downloads to STDOUT (disappears).

I can download an mp3 file with wget and then play the downloaded file with mpg123.

I downloaded the p3-optimized Windows mplayer using linux on a newer computer, copied to USB flash drive,
and it is taking forever to copy one 26MB mplayer.exe file to the Gateway. Opera 9.63 does not work
properly at the forum where the link is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 21:41    Post subject: any other ideas how to make this laptop into a radio?  

linux mpg123 will also directly play some streaming audio sites such as http://streams.greenhost.nl:8080/oudemuziek
windows mpg123 will not - this may be the problem.

Anyone know of a CLI way to play streaming mp3 in Windows?
It is painfully slow to switch stations with a graphical browser (Opera 9.63 - 10.10 would not install on this hardware).

Is there a CLI vlc for Windows that streams?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 23:22    Post subject:  

Yes, I didn't spot sindi's reference to Gateway 2000 (it's only in the subject heading).
And I now see that the original post by Dgertis is 7 years old!

sindi wrote:
linux mpg123 will also directly play some streaming audio sites such as http://streams.greenhost.nl:8080/oudemuziek

Yes, that's a far more direct and elegant use of mpg123, rather than in combination with wget.

sindi wrote:
windows mpg123 will not

Works fine for me. I just tested mpg123 now, under Windows XP, using mpg123-1.22.0-static-x86 from -
http://www.mpg123.de/download/win32/?V=1&O=D
This is the command I used -
Code:
mpg123 -@ http://streams.greenhost.nl:8080/oudemuziek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 464

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jul 2015, 14:15    Post subject: mpg123 plays URLs in linux or XP not in Win98  

In linux the format is simply mpg123 URL - I just checked that is works on a P3.
The windows version adds -@ before the URL. It still does not stream in Win98.
"Error: invalid playlist from http_open()!"

This is after installing KernelEx - do I need to do anything besides install it?
KernelEx is supposed to make XP programs work in Win98 but Opera 10.10 would not work.

I suspect the hardware. In linux "Can't open /dev/dsp!" so I cannot test mpg123 here.


I finally installed Winamp and can play PLS and M3U from Shoutcast (187 sort-of
classical stations), from a browser (Opera 9.64 works) and then add each station
to a Winamp playlist, and play without the browser. WMP 7 cannot handle most stations.

I turned down the volume with volume dial.

The opl3sa2 purchased OSS driver is said to work correctly. Free one is buggy.
I checked that pnpbios was still off. (The clock battery is still working!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5388
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jul 2015, 22:22    Post subject:  

sindi wrote:
It still does not stream in Win98.
"Error: invalid playlist from http_open()!"

Well I just found an old hard drive with a Windows 98SE installation. Put it into my Pentium4, booted up, and tried to stream with mpg123. It failed, complaining about a missing .dll function.

I had never heard about KernelEx, but it sounds like a clever utility, so installed it, and bam - streaming then works. Screen-grab attached.

Bear in mind the foundations of my results:
- fully functioning Pentium4-3.06, with fully functioning Chaintech AV-710 sound card
- Windows 98 Second Edition
- KernelEx-4.5.2, plus Microsoft Layer for Unicode 1.1.3790.0 (unicows.dll)
- mpg123-1.22.0-static-x86

sindi, I commend you for (re)using old computer hardware, but I must say that anyone using ancient hardware, running ancient operating systems is bound to encounter frequent incompatibilities, problems and frustrations.
mpg123-screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   74.81 KB
 Viewed   28 Time(s)

mpg123-screen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1617s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]