Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 06:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
What database software can we use in Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2008, 20:55    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tips, Muggins.

Both of those options look like they will require some serious
upgrading to my old and feeble system, so I may pass on them for
now.

I've been using OObase and don't really need a new database
system, but I feel that database management for the desktop is a
weak area in Linux and was excited to see a new potential solution.
I actually can make it work by doing some cutting and pasting
instead of using the export function, but full functionality is what I'm
hoping for. I can also just use sqlite from the command line, but I
think a more graphical tool is what is really needed.

I think sqlitestudio has a lot of potential and am looking forward to
the next version that comes out. It's close to being a tool for the
masses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6666
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2008, 21:27    Post subject:  

AFAIK neither should require any upgrade. Tksqlite, while being tcl/tk based, comes in a completely self-contained, ready to run, executable. If it doesn't have the functionality you require, just delete the one file.

Whereas sqlitemanager you can just download the .xpi file, open it with firefox, or seamonkey, and install it as a plugin. Maybe one problem with doing this with seamonkey is that if you don't like the app, it's not as easy to uninstall as with firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 07:14    Post subject:  

@hillside

next version (1.1.1) of sqlitestudio is out.
http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/index.rvt?act=download

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 06:10    Post subject:  

Hi, I'm SQLiteStudio developer.

Please report bugs to to sqlitestudio bug track system ( http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/index.rvt?act=bug ). You don't have to report this bug above, since I've read it here Smile

I didn't met this error before, so I didn't fix it in 1.1.1. I'll fix it in version 1.1.2.

Please tell me a detail:
Did you execute SQL query, then disconnect from database file, then tried to export data? I need to know if you closed database before exporting. It might be reason (which I should fix).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 18:10    Post subject:  

Ok, I think I found source of problem and I solved it.
If anybody is interested, please monitor SQLiteStudio homepage for version 1.1.2 (I hope to release it in 2-3 weeks, or something about it) and try out if error described few posts above is really solved or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 19:34    Post subject:  

Ah. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. It's so cold here I'm dealing with freezing pipes. I'll be glad when spring comes.

Let me start by saying I think you have done an exceptional job and I'm looking forward to new releases.

Here's what I did.

I made a table in a new database and entered some data.
While in the grid view, I opened the SQL query editor.
I wrote a simple query and ran it. It ran perfectly.
I clicked on the "Export Results" button inside the editor.
I entered a file name and clicked csv.
I clicked column names as first row and clicked comma for the separator.
Then I clicked "Export" and got the error I listed earlier.

I didn't report the error because I'm not 100 percent certain that Puppy linux has a full version of Sqlite, but I think it does. I'm hoping that as your project matures, it will be the best tool to introduce people to Sqlite while at the same time being a useful tool for those of us who need a basic database system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 05:20    Post subject:  

It is important for me to know how did the SQL query look like? I know it was simple, but it will help me to understeand problem.

I think that I have solved problem, but when I would see the query, then I could quess if this is related.

P.S. SQLite database can be (generally) compiled in 2 ways - with Tcl support or without it. Anyway it doesn't matter what SQLite installation you have on your system if you're using binary distribution of SQLiteStudio, since SQLiteStudio binaries already include SQLite libraries, so you can use it even without SQLite installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 20:35    Post subject:  

googie,

The query that I ran was very simple:

SELECT Firstname, City, State FROM Names WHERE Lastname = "Smith";

Like I say the query worked perfectly. I had about 100 records in the database and I got all the data I expected and only the data I expected. The query editor gave me a view of my selected data just as expected. I tried to export the selected data while still in the query editor. That is when I got the error.

Thanks for your efforts. I'll be trying your next update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 13:41    Post subject:  

Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlitestudio-1.1.2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 14:40    Post subject:  

googie,

I wish I had better news for you.

I downloaded your development version and made a trial for each export type. csv, html, sql, and xml.

In each case, I no longer get an error message.
In each case, I get a message saying my data has been exported to the correct file name.
But in no case is a file actually created. Sad

I'm going to be an optimist and say this is progress.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 14:53    Post subject:  

Are you absolutely sure? It's strange, because if "success" message is displayed then no errors occured during exporing, including creation of file.

It is possible (in case of some error), that exported file is empty, but any problems with creation of file should be reported to user.

Could you recheck it, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 18:19    Post subject:  

I have good news. And I have something that needs explaining.

When I tested again, I got the same result. No file was written. I tested six times with different file names and data types and the system did NOT write the file.

Then, I tried including a path with the file name. I used:
/testfile.txt

Suddenly success!!! My file is written in the root directory and it has my data. I tested with several different paths and in each case it worked.

The system still doesn't export the headings, but I can live with that for now. Is there a reason I need to give a path along with the file name? I assumed it would write the file to the current directory or some standard location. So, now I just need to remember to include a path with my file name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hillside


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 642
Location: Minnesota, USA. The frozen north.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 18:31    Post subject:  

Just to let you know. I went back and tested the old verson of sqlitemanager (version 1.1.1) and it would not save my file even if I included a path, so whatever you did in 1.1.2 pre-release made a big difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
googie

Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 19:27    Post subject:  

Great! Smile

So there is one last problem left - with file to export, which I already have diagnosed. I'll fix it in final 1.1.2 as well.

hillside, It's "studio", not "manager" - some "*manager"s author will come here in the moment and kill me Smile ...or you Wink

Thanks for your help. It's always pleasure to co-work with people from open source society.

By the way it's first time when I took closer look at Puppy Linux - it's quiet interesting. Maybe I'll try it out on VBox for first.

Sorry to forum admins and moderators for a little offtopic in here. Thanks for your tolerance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JohnJS

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2009, 13:56    Post subject: sqlitestudio  

Has sqlitestudio update been dropped?

See:
Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlitestudio-1.1.2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0775s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]