Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 06:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Text that looks OK in Windows is blurry in Puppy (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 20:43    Post_subject:  Text that looks OK in Windows is blurry in Puppy (SOLVED)  

I have my screen mode set the same for Winblows and Puppy Linux; 1280x768x24.

Using Firefox 1.07 on both systems.

Under PL webpages have sharp graphics but blurry text. Readable, but not as sharp as Winblows.

Is this a Firefox problem, a Puppy-specific problem or a Linux-In-General problem?

maybe there's a "Smooth Text" option somewhere in PL that I have to set?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Auda

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: New Zealand ( Christchurchish )

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 22:30    Post_subject:  

thats a funny resolution dont you mean 1280x1024 or 1024x768 ?
If you realy are using 1280x768x24. then that maybe your problem I use Firefox 1.07 here in 1280x1024x24 and its fine
Auda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 22:59    Post_subject:  

In mozilla I use Helvetica for everything, it is not Antialiased (blurry).



You can set that in the options.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 03:52    Post_subject:  

> thats a funny resolution dont you mean 1280x1024 or 1024x768 ?

Yes, 1280x1024. Oops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 03:58    Post_subject:  

MU wrote:
In mozilla I use Helvetica for everything, it is not Antialiased (blurry).

http://dotpups.de/pics/puppy/mozilla-helvetica.jpg

You can set that in the options.

Mark



Thanks thats a little better but I still have to put my face 3 inches from the screen to read the text. I'll just enlarge the text with cntrl-mouse scroll wheel.


How'd you take that screenshot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11083
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 10:06    Post_subject:  

Mr Doolie wrote:
...How'd you take that screenshot?
You can use mTpaint screenshot from the Start menu. You can also use mTpaint to crop and resize the image so it isn't so large, in consideration of people who use 800 x 600 resolution. Rolling Eyes

Also, did you see this, about using TrueType fonts in Puppy? And I think bombayrockers posted something along those lines as well, somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 14:16    Post_subject: Re: Text that looks OK in Windows is blurry in Puppy (Firefo  

Mr Doolie wrote:

Under PL webpages have sharp graphics but blurry text. Readable, but not as sharp as Winblows.
puppy.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.72 KB
 Viewed   1079 Time(s)

puppy.jpg

winblows.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.37 KB
 Viewed   761 Time(s)

winblows.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Mr Doolie wrote:


Thanks thats a little better but I still have to put my face 3 inches from the screen to read the text. I'll just enlarge the text with cntrl-mouse scroll wheel.

How'd you take that screenshot?


I make screenshots with GIMP, but mtpaint works fine, too.

To increase the font, simply set the minimum font-size to higher values as on my screenshot.
At least in Mozilla, don't know if Firefox has that option, too.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11083
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 16:28    Post_subject:  

Mr Doolie, the text in the screenshot of Puppy in your last post looks sharp as a tack to me. If anything it's sharper than the text in the screenshot of Windows, only smaller.

Not to make light of your reading difficulty, but have you had your eyes checked for cataracts? I discovered I had one about two years ago. It took years of complaining that my vision was bad, before my eye doctor looked thoroughly and carefully enough to discover it. I guess it didn't occur to him I might have a cataract, because I was only in my mid 50s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 18:25    Post_subject:  

One other difference is that the font he has has more tails and little bumps than the one in Windows. Not a big difference, but it makes it slightly more fuzzy looking. If you want the identical fonts, you can copy your windows fonts into Puppy. There was just a how to written on that, I think.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 22:36    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
have you had your eyes checked for cataracts?


That's certainly possible but here's a good clue. At this moment I'm viewing this website in Winblows. Both screenshots are sharp. When I view the page in PL the PL shot is quite blurry and the Winblows one is a little blurry. I suspect a monitor drive problem under Puppy. That's possible, no? Maybe puppy loads a generic NVIdia driver. I KNOW I'm using the newest dedicated Nvidia driver under Winhose.

I'm off to search for a Linux NVidia GeForce 4 MX LCD monitor 1280x1024 dedicated driver.

My apologies to Barry for ever doubting the Almighty Most Holy Puppy [Bangs head on floor until forgiven].

Question #1:
When I do find the driver, how do I tell Pup how to use it? I'm a Linux noobee.
Back to top
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 22:40    Post_subject:  

I wasn't logged it! That last message was from me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2005, 22:47    Post_subject: SOLVED!!  

Got it! It *WAS* a monitor-driver problem.

At this second I'm running Puppy through VMWare with a FAT32 drive and the pup.iso as the CDROM. My Winblows system is handling the hardware driver parts instead of Puppy doing it. Either that or the Pup default drivers are made for whatever hardware VM emulates. Whatever the situation, EVERYTHING is sharp and clear and beautiful and not tiny and blurry any more.

Barry, a FYI and in no way a criticism. Whatever graphics card/monitor driver that automagically installs on a system with an on-board NVidia GeForce MX 32Meg and a 1280x1024 LCD monitor is not exactly the optimum driver for that particular hardware setup.

Now to find out why VMWare is so slow (isn't a 2-gig CPU fast enough?) but I like it better now 'cause now Pup can't touch my Win system at all. I was so afraid of accidentally writng to my NTFS drive and farkling it.

Thanks for all the help, guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec 2005, 05:52    Post_subject:  

Fixed that too. After much digging around on the net I found the answer.
To paraphrase: Put .vmdk and .vmf and .iso files in your virus checker's exclude list so it doesn't check them every time VMWare does a disk write.
Back to top
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec 2005, 17:14    Post_subject:  

Update to my update:

Never one to leave well enough alone I went back to my regular PL installation to figure out what the smeg is the problem with that smegging text.

I looked veeeeery closely at the screen and noticed that not only was the text blurred but the picture was a tiny bit too big for the screen. A lightbulb pops over my head. "Wait a second! Isn't there a button on the monitor for auto-fixing stuff like that"? Yes, there is. I pushed it. D'OH! The picture went all mental for two seconds and then sharpened up a LOT! The text is still blurrier than Windoze but that magic button made it a lot better. Not perfect yet, still looking for an updated Linux driver for my card and truefonts for Puppy, but it's way better than it was before!. I'd forgotten that LCD monitors are not autoadjusting like CRT monitors. I wonder if that's why some of my games look kinda bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0759s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]