Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 15:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
slmodem NO IRQ
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
gbg

Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2005, 16:34    Post subject:  slmodem NO IRQ  

Hello everyone!

Finally PUPPY runs on MY computer (Siemens Fujitsu Amilo)!!!
Cool...almost -> The modem does not work and I am writing this message from Win2K :-/

Once I've run the modem wizard, the following message is shown:

"PCI Modem
Bus 0, device 17, function 6
Communication Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. Intel 537 [AC97 Modem] rev 128
vendor chip 1106:3068"

-> once I've chosen ttySL0
"FAIL /dev/ttySL0 does not seem to have an irq assigned
There is probably nothing on that port so try another...

SUCCESS, /dev/ttySL0 seems to be a modem, using irq=
..."

-> and finally the Xproc-System information gives me the following info:
"Bus 0, device 17, function 6:
Communication Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. Intel 537 [AC97 Modem] (rev 128)
IRQ5 I/O at =xdC00 [=xdcff]"


-->> funny...why do here get an irq when the modem wizard does not find one...?

-->> is the missing IRQ responsible for the modem not connecting to the net?

Any help is welcome!

Regards,
Oliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2005, 16:49    Post subject:  

I've just tried that on my system and discovered something that is probably no use, but might help find the solution for you.

If I run the modem wizard, it picks out my modem ok. BUT, if I run it while connected to the net, I get exactly the same error message that you did, even though it's obviously working. Not sure why a working and connected modem should come up with an error like this though.

( just read this one back.......it's no help at all.........sorry ! )

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2005, 11:20    Post subject:  

There could be some differences due to the 2.6 versus 2.4 kernels.
Try Pup 1.03, let us know what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gbg

Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jun 2005, 14:58    Post subject:  

Hi everyone,

with puppy 1.03 I'm back where I was before v1.02:
--> no boot for puppy on my laptop...kernel 2.4 has problems with the USB Sad
I was very happy with k2.6 regarding my USB hardware recognition, with k2.4 the modem problem might be sorted out but I can't test it because of some IRQ problems during booting ... there's already some postings in the old forum on this issue.

Is the only solution a puppy 1.03 unleashed (k2.06)?


Regards,
Oliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0443s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]