Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 23:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.1.2 Bug Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Dec 2008, 00:50    Post_subject:  

You don't have to burn a CD just to get at the files inside. In the old days, I would have told you to run this and then look inside /mnt/data:
mount -o loop puppy.iso /mnt/data

But nowadays it's even easier: just click the iso. When you're done, click it again and Puppy will unmount it.

The same techniques also work for accessing the stuff inside .sfs files. It works on the save file too, but there's a catch: clicking it to mount will fail if the save file is the one you're booted from, or if it has the same name. Renaming it should fix that, or run the command by hand.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Dec 2008, 01:10    Post_subject:  

/usr/sbin/petget has issues with spaces in the path to the file it's installing. Should be fixable by putting quotation marks around the $ALIENFILE variable at lines 971 and 981. I attached a working version and a diff.
petget.gz
Description  Patched petget that works with spaces in the path.
gz

 Download 
Filename  petget.gz 
Filesize  19.19 KB 
Downloaded  651 Time(s) 
petget.diff.gz
Description  Patch to let petget work with spaces in the path.
gz

 Download 
Filename  petget.diff.gz 
Filesize  478 Bytes 
Downloaded  705 Time(s) 

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 07:11    Post_subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
Basically ever since we started using Xorg, the xorgwizard has had a problem where if it Xorg detects two (or more) screens, it will partially configure the xorg.conf file for dual-screen support, but it won't finish the job. It adds a reference to a second screen in the Server section, but it leaves out the corresponding Screen section. This leaves Xorg un-runnable, forcing the user to manually correct the file from the commandline, by either commenting out the reference to the second screen or adding the missing section. Very annoying, and new users wouldn't have a clue what to do.

It's actually not the wizard that does that, it's the output of "Xorg -configure" that's responsible.
I updated the xorgwizard to handle such cases a long time ago (in the ATI/Nvidia thread) but I don't think anybody bothered to test it and give me useful feedback (the idea was to create a working multi-monitor xorg.conf by default).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 10:36    Post_subject:  

petget-fix by Pizzasgood tested => works!

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Wed 17 Dec 2008, 15:26    Post_subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
Basically ever since we started using Xorg, the xorgwizard has had a problem where if it Xorg detects two (or more) screens, it will partially configure the xorg.conf file for dual-screen support, but it won't finish the job. It adds a reference to a second screen in the Server section, but it leaves out the corresponding Screen section. This leaves Xorg un-runnable, forcing the user to manually correct the file from the commandline, by either commenting out the reference to the second screen or adding the missing section. Very annoying, and new users wouldn't have a clue what to do.


I'm having this bug, except i don't have multiple monitors.
Before applying the patch xorg wouldn't work at all (after i chose a resolution in the list of xorgwizard). Now i get a weird graphical screen with lines...

here's the second part of my xorg.conf file :

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "fr" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
#Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30-65
VertRefresh 56-76
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "DefaultRefresh" # [<bool>]
#Option "ModeSetClearScreen" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "vesa" #card0driver
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Unknown Board"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "DefaultRefresh" # [<bool>]
#Option "ModeSetClearScreen" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "Unknown Board"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=NVIDIA231997

_________________
Puppy 2.16 on HP Vectra VL400 - PIII 800 MHz - 320M RAM
Wary on Acer Aspire X3200 - Phenom X4 - 2.2GHz - 4G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Wed 17 Dec 2008, 15:57    Post_subject:  

i removed everything related to the second screen using mp and executed xwin.
Now it works...
But i have the feeling that i'm still in vesa mode
Code:
   Driver      "vesa" #card0driver

Question

_________________
Puppy 2.16 on HP Vectra VL400 - PIII 800 MHz - 320M RAM
Wary on Acer Aspire X3200 - Phenom X4 - 2.2GHz - 4G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1501
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2009, 00:16    Post_subject: Restore detection of modems and module override function
Sub_title: Adds udev rules & pup_event_backend_modprobe & rc.sysinit updates for neglected modems
 

Autodetection of Intel, mwave, and certain Agere modems disappeared from Puppy 4.1 after working (except agrserial) in 4.0. To compensate, I provided some workaround instructions for 4.1.2. Now I have restored the autodetection of all these PCI devices.
EDIT 2/15/09: For the ISA version of mwave modems, I corrected the forced-loading logic to bypass loading of the mwave module (as done, but differently, pre-4.1). The details are here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=270523#270523
/EDIT

The fix uses new udev rules to trigger loading of the driver modules by augmenting the /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe script to accept as an optional argument a module name to be used if another module is not found using the normal method (so it could not override another module). In addition, /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe is corrected to restore the module override function that substitutes module dmfe for tulip for a particular NIC.
EDIT 2/15/09: Also, /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit is corrected to skip modprobing mwave after extracting its firmware, so that the initialization script can perform the modprobe. /EDIT

The fix is attached as a dotpet, so users can apply it to 4.1.2. It contains only the following 3 files:
- /etc/udev/rules.d/60-udev-modem.rules
- /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
- /sbin/pup_event_backend_modprobe

I have tested with my Intel536-supported modem. However, the same implementation technique is used for all of the affected modems.
EDIT 2/15/09: Except for rc.sysinit, this dotpet is ready for 4.2; however, rc.sysinit has changed in 4.2, so that update should be applied manually, as described in the above-referenced posting about it. /EDIT
Richard

UPDATE 2/11: I have updated the above information and attached an updated version of the of this fix, to remove the no-longer-needed O2 Micro cardbus controller fix and restoring the "override" capability dropped from 4.1. The bugfix should resolve the dmfe-module issue described here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=264943&search_id=1610028076#264943

UPDATE 5/2: I have replaced the dotpet. It improves the udev rule and modem test, and makes the Intel536/7 drivers use device names created when they load (e.g., 535ep0). Would someone with an Intel 537 modem please tell me by PM whether it uses 5370 or some other name, since I do not have any such modem for testing? Do not use this dotpet on puppy 4.2, because the rc.sysinit file is wrong for it.

Update 6/21: I have upgraded the dotpet to support a second (and more generic) Intel537 modem. I have acquired a "537" modem for testing. This new version uses devices /dev/5360 and /dev/Intel5370, which appear when their driver is first loaded. If your connect wizard and pupdial still show either /dev/536 or /dev537, please use pupdial to "probe > ERASE" that setting and reboot to pick up the new device names.

UPDATE 8/22/09: Upgraded to "-5" for compatibility with the 3G-wireless (-12) support, to avoid regressing it if this package is installed with it.

Remember, this is only for 4.1.2. For 4.2.1, use the similar dotpet posted here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=318272#318272
Richard
modem_and_override_fix-4.1.3-5.pet
Description  Makes certain PCI modems usable and restores the module-override function.
Also restores support of ISA mwave modems.
pet

 Download 
Filename  modem_and_override_fix-4.1.3-5.pet 
Filesize  16.86 KB 
Downloaded  664 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2009, 01:07    Post_subject:  

I am suffering serious problems with 4.12 on a laptop where prior versions have done quite well.

CUPS
gxine
serial
etc.

Is it possible that 4.12-Retro might resolve them or are these not the kind of things Retro usually fixes?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 00:28    Post_subject:  

edoc, you don't say which laptop, but I use the following and ALL require 4.1.2 retro:

Thinkpad 600e Pentium II 400 mhz
Thinkpad 600e Pentium III (hack) 810 mhz
Thinkpad T30 Pentium IV 1.8 ghz

The last laptop, seemed to work well for a few weeks with 4.1.2 new kernel, but eventually I discovered it was unable to handle DVD writing, and sometimes reading as well. A change to 4.1.2 retro cleared this problem up.

I still have some problems with even 4.1.2 retro when shutting down the T30 laptop. I get kernel panics (after personal save file is checked) but before final blank screen powerdown. I haven't lost anything, but it is still a pain in the butt, and requires holding down the power button for 30 seconds to kill it. It is also an intermittent occurence.

Disabling ACPI seems to help, but hasn't totally eliminated it from happening on occasion. You might try diabling ACPI with the new kernel first before trying the retro version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 01:05    Post_subject:  

On the Z500 I was having the gxine & vlc video display problem - turns out it was a bug in xorg where the setup misreads the drivers and assigns an incorrect value.

Merely changing a 16 to a 24 in two locations of xorg.comf solved that problem.

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection
EndSection

I am hoping that the solution to CUPS is a similarly simple problem in a setup script.

I am also hoping that these bug fixes are useful in preventing these same problems in 4.2

Were you having CUPS-specific problems in 4.12-Normal and they resolved in 4.12-Retro?

I did observe a DVD writing problem with my Z500 under 4.11 but not 4.12

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WB7ODYFred


Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Oregon & Washington

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 03:21    Post_subject: PetGet file updated to include 5 more mirrors
Sub_title: /usr/sbin/petget file updated
 

This updated petget is only related to finding resources on alternative mirrors Before repairing it would only download from ibiblior.org and ftp.nluug.nl The button "gatech.edu" was broken and would not download a pet package file using the "wget" ftp command.

Now, wherever in the world you are running puppylinux you can download from a realatively nearby puppylinux mirror.

The file /usr/sbin/petget is updated for downloading from the "www.gtlib.gatech.edu" puppylinux mirror site and also added
Austria, Australia, South Africa, Portugal, Thailand puppylinux mirrors.

Bosnian, Chec, and German puppylinux mirrors were also available that could be edited into the "petget" file. Someone living in that part of the world could customize to select their favorite puppylinux mirror.

This petget file has Pizzasgood's changes incorporated, to add quote marks around the variable "$ALIENFILE" mentioned above.

Report back any problems via private message to WB7ODYFred

I would like to add an Indian puppy linux mirror to file petget. You may edit in a new mirror website to match button value 18.
Edit lines 1622 - 1705 to add another mirror webisite in the return value 18 position.

Yes, the buttons are crowded, but PuppyLinux is headed for World Domination and needs the added mirror websites to succeed, Yeah!! Wink

save original petget file by executing this command first before installing petget-4.1.2

cp /usr/sbin/petget /usr/sbin/petget_original

to undo changes

mv /usr/sbin/petget /usr/sbin/petget-4.1.2
cp /usr/sbin/petget_original /usr/sbin/petget

See the differences between the two files using "diff" command
diff -b /usr/sbin/petget /usr/sbin/petget_original

26-January-2009 Fred edited to make clear. Bugs fixed, mirrors added.
petget-4.1.2.pet
Description  file /usr/sbin/petget updated for gatech.edu mirror site and added
Austria, Australia, South Africa, Portugal, Thailand puppylinux mirrors.
Would like to add an Indian puppy linux mirror at button value 18.
Edit lines 1622 - 1854 to add another mirror
pet

 Download 
Filename  petget-4.1.2.pet 
Filesize  20.59 KB 
Downloaded  687 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 12:55    Post_subject:  

Fred - I am confused s this thread jumps all over the place and it is often difficult to be certain which posts apply to which sub-discussions within the thread. Rolling Eyes

Does your petget modification apply to the xorg or CUPS problems which may both occur during installation or is it only related to finding resources on alternative mirrors?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 13:17    Post_subject:  

Edoc

This thread is about pet packaging bugs.

Your printer problem would probably be better addressed
in the hardware section of forum.

rjb
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 13:23    Post_subject:  

It was just that the video problem (gxine & vlc) was software problem created by an error in xorg during setup so I wondered if the CUPS problem - which did not exist in prior releases - may be the same.

The same printer and the same laptop suddenly will not communicate - the printer works fine elsewhere - the laptop will not address any printer.

As a result of all of that it seems to be that it is 99% probable that this is a bug in 4.12-Normal that is related to a software script error during setup rather than a hardware issue.

WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jan 2009, 11:42    Post_subject: Xorg on QEMU
Sub_title: Proposed patch
 

Hmmm .....

Recently I have the need to test internally made packages on fresh puppys and QEMU enables me to make those tests on different fresh puppy 4.x versions rapidly ...

I've read about how xorg does work on QEMU from here :
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=35469

After like the umph'teen times doing the same on fresh puppy boots, I figured it's good enough time to attempt a fix on this.

I've made a quick patch to xorgwizard to make a simple detection of QEMU. If puppy is running in QEMU then xorgwizard will copy a preconfigured-for-Qemu xorg.conf.new to /root ... this allows it to proceed on the next text screen for resolution selection. Testing of the selected resolution also will now work as intended.

A much more elegant solution would be to write a util to check for all VMs.

Code:

xorgwizard : lines ~317
.
.
#autoprobe...
# Patriot: skip any probing on QEMU; use preset instead
QEMUFlag=`dmesg | grep 'QEMU '`
if [ "$QEMUFlag" != "" ]; then
 cp /etc/X11/app-defaults/Xqemuconf /root/xorg.conf.new
else
 Xorg -configure > /tmp/xorgprobe.txt 2>&1
fi
#... config in /root/xorg.conf.new
.
.


I've only made preliminary testing using QEMU on windows. Attached is the patch I've made. Could the development team somehow evaluate if this is suitable enough to be included into future releases ?

Rgds
xorgwizard-qemu.tar.gz
Description  Contains patched xorgwizard & Xqemuconf
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard-qemu.tar.gz 
Filesize  18.9 KB 
Downloaded  652 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1160s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]