Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 09:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How-To install Devx or any .SFS FULL HD STEP BY STEP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Bute

Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 27 May 2008, 11:07    Post_subject:  Re How-To install Devx 3.01 onto a Full HD install  

Just found this topic after trouble with bootmanager in Puppy 4.00

and it worked straight away.

Thanks for the great tutorial. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
UltraPUP


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Location: 38deg57.396N / 119deg46.021W / 4,740ft MSL

PostPosted: Mon 02 Feb 2009, 12:56    Post_subject:  

DesertPupppy

fantastic Very Happy

my only Confused etc/rc.d does not show etc/rc.d/rc.modules file. anyway my 412 does not.

[SO] i entered your code in both and etc/rc.d/functions4puppy and etc/rc.d/functions4puppy4. since every thing works [SO] what Very Happy

btw the last bit of code, 1dconfig, did not go. rxvt came back with "command not found"


really appreciate this how-to; thanks Very Happy

UltraPup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DesertPuppy


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Mississippi

PostPosted: Mon 02 Feb 2009, 19:57    Post_subject:  

In 4.12 you don't need the line added to rc.modules because that file is not in there anymore I think it's call modulesconfig or somthing like that.

you have to type ldconfig (it is the letter L not a number 1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pdugas

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 17:32    Post_subject:  

DesertPuppy wrote:
In 4.12 you don't need the line added to rc.modules because that file is not in there anymore I think it's call modulesconfig or somthing like that.


Hi DesertPuppy,

Does that mean in 4.12 that I can skip that step or that I have to modify another file. If I have to modify the file is the syntax the same or different.

Also what would be the implications of omitting that step (which I did)?

Thanks ........... Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pdugas

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2009, 18:36    Post_subject:  

Hi,

Another follow-up question.

If one is using the 4.12 Retro kernel, which version of devx_xxx.sfs should one use? The 4.12 one or an earlier one?


Thanks .......... Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2009, 16:01    Post_subject:  

Reading the HowTo for the first time, I think this command might fail, and
it does, you might be lucky . . .

# mount -o loop devx_301.sfs /data

. . . because the failure would not allow you to run this one.

# cp -a -v --remove-destination /data/* / >devcopy.txt

I expect conscientious computer operators and administrators understand
what they are doing and why they are doing it.

The command is self explanatory, therefore the question of what is being
done is answered within the command itself.

If anyone who can read the command, wants to explain why, I'd be very
interested, because I see no reason why.

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
spongedaddy


Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Posts: 39
Location: Winter Park, FL

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jun 2009, 12:30    Post_subject:  

Thank you, DesertPuppy!!

This worked beautifully for devx_400.sfs.

"Hello, World!!" indeed!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cesargaston

Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 15:12    Post_subject:  

problems...
i'm running 4.21, where etc/rc.d/rc.modules doesn't exists.. i'm trying UltraPUP's solution and DesertPuppy's comment about, but i still have the sica07's error but after reboot:

#mount -o loop devx_421.sfs /data
mount: you must specify the filesystem type

i'll trying another options but thank you in advance if there is any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cesargaston

Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 16:49    Post_subject:  

SOLVED (my post just before)
was a very simple error: my devx_421.sfs file was corrupt, it weights 55M instead of 77M..
that was the cause of error message :
#mount -o loop devx_421.sfs /data
mount: you must specify the filesystem type

i'm compiling my code right now, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
G0XAN

Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 31
Location: Brighton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 17:59    Post_subject: Re: How-To install Devx or any .SFS FULL HD STEP BY STEP
Sub_title: This works all the way up to 4.01
 

Thanks for this DesertPuppy. It almost worked for me on Puppy4.3.1 Here is the solution I came up with...

Quote:

STEP 1.
First make sure you have downloaded the devx_431.sfs

NOTE: I always download it to / - that is the top directory not /root but /

STEP 2.
There is no step 2 as Puppy431 seems to have sfs support built-in. The 'modprobe squashfs' command is in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

STEP 3:
Double-clicking on the sfs file mounts it as /mnt/+devx_431.sfs

In the /mnt directory you should see +devx_431.sfs, and in there you should be able to see all the contents of the sfs

STEP 4:
open up a terminal window from the / directory and type the following:

Code:
cp -a -v --remove-destination /mnt/+devx_431.sfs/* / >devcopy.txt


NOTE: there is a space between --remove-destination and /mnt
Also there is a space between /mnt/+devx_431.sfs/* and /
And a space between / and >devcopy.txt


it will seem like puppy has paused for a few seconds
(depends on speed of computer) just wait , when you see the # sign
again you are good to go.

NOTES:
At this point I got an error
Code:
cp: cannot overwrite non-directory '/usr/share/cups/model' with directory
'/mnt/+devx_431.sfs/usr/share/cups/model'

but since the model directory in the sfs is empty I don't think it matters (BTW the model directory on the HD is a symlink to the ppd directory)

The devcopy.txt file will show you everything
that got copied over and where it went to.


STEP 5:
now type:

Code:

#umount /+devx_431.sfs
#sync


that will unmount the sfs file and if you
check /mnt/+devx_431.sfs will now be empty again.

STEP 6:

This next step may or may not be needed but I do it just to be sure:

type:

Code:

#ldconfig


STEP 7:

to test to make sure it all worked type:

Code:

#gcc


and you should get a response like:

Code:

gcc: no input files



I hope this small contribution to DesertPuppy's excellent work will help those using more recent versions of Puppy.

Edit: Today the mount command worked for me - probably finger trouble yesterday. Still don't need to add the modprobe squashfs for Puppy 4.3.1

_________________
Gary

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Here's what I did:

1) Put Devx file in root folder of hard drive
2) Start live pfix=ram session
3) Reboot saving as a puppy save file.
4) Boot into new session and choose to load devx by putting it in right hand pane when prompted.
5) Remaster live CD

Boot using this CD and perform a full HDD install and devx will be intergrated properly.

For full effect add kernel DEVX and install full DRI XORG drivers + XORG dev before remastering.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
G0XAN

Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 31
Location: Brighton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Nov 2009, 16:15    Post_subject:  

sikpuppy, your version works very well. It's what I did to add Go-openoffice into NearlyOfficePuppy.

However, after the full install I decided I wanted to add devx. I didn't want to remaster again, and this method allows for that.

_________________
Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
10binary

Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 16:30    Post_subject: It works for me.  

I'm using a full install of puppy 431 on sda4 and this thread is the only thing that helped me install the devx module. I have a frugal install on sda1 and I was able to load it through the boot manager as it should. Why doesn't the boot manager allow us to load any sfs file in any location whether the install is frugal or full? I hope that gets fixed in the future, but as for now I have it working.

I tried doing it without "--remove-destination" and it froze my whole system on the next reboot. It's important!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 20:34    Post_subject: Re: It works for me.  

have any of you guys tried this? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=352836#352836

Much easier than all this stuffing around, perhaps.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
foreirongold

Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 20:26    Post_subject: Re: It works for me.  

sikpuppy wrote:
have any of you guys tried this? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=352836#352836

Much easier than all this stuffing around, perhaps.


Tried using that to mount devx_431 under a fresh hard drive install of puppy 4.3.1. It mounted successfully but upon reboot (with devx still 'installed' or symlinked in the mount at boot folder) the kernel would fail to detect my CD-ROM drive and Xorg would no longer start. When devx is 'uninstalled' or removed from the boot folder it doesn't give this error.

I'd say some files are conflicting but I'm not that interested in tracking them down given that the manual method described earlier works like a charm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0881s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]