Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 04:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 Alpha3 Seamonkey Bugs & Fixes
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 12:16    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:


Why would you calculate the hash of a pet? It already consists of a tgz with its hash appended to the end of the file. At the moment puppy contains no user option to check the integrity of a pet without installing it. It would be straightforward to copy the petget code that checks the integrity and make this available to the user as an explicit option.


It was purely for example so people could see how it worked and all the other formats it can sum up Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 19:09    Post_subject:  

.
_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Feb 2009, 19:39    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
Hello all,
starting out my contributions softly, I picked the simplest task on the wiki's ToDo list Rolling Eyes : the "Automated Refresh Menus script", it checks for the current wm (the /etc/windowmanager flag-file in alfa 2 & 3 is not updated when switching from icewm to jwm), runs fixmenus, and restarts the current wm. Simple script, with menu item in Desktop, is attached as a PET-file.

cheers/
MinHundHettePerro


Hi I tried it and I like it, I made one about 2 months or so back also, but it was lacking the screen notification, So yours is better, how do people feel about placing this one in the Shutdown menu script?
The default location where the menu refresh goes in its current state, is located menu/desktop which it should be in menu/shutdown
and the icon used was 16x16 which was too small when were using 24x24 and the icon used was the same as the reboot icon, so I repacked it with a 24x24 icon that is different and green, but the fresh menu does work well, So excellent Job Smile
ttuuxxx
RefreshMenus.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  RefreshMenus.pet 
Filesize  2.1 KB 
Downloaded  1351 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 02:32    Post_subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
starting out my contributions softly, I picked the simplest task on the wiki's ToDo list Rolling Eyes : the "Automated Refresh Menus script", it checks for the current wm (the /etc/windowmanager flag-file in alfa 2 & 3 is not updated when switching from icewm to jwm), runs fixmenus, and restarts the current wm. Simple script, with menu item in Desktop, is attached as a PET-file.

Woohoo! Great stuff, MHHP! Cool I'm glad someone decided to pick up on this one. It's seems such a small thing but it will have a BIG impact on the usability of Puppy-4.2, especially for newbies and refugees. Thank you.

@ttuuxxx - if this could be integrated into your wm switching scripts it would be perfect. It ensures the xdg user menus remain comparable under both JWM and IceWM, regardless of where the changes were effected. Idea

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 03:22    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
MinHundHettePerro wrote:
starting out my contributions softly, I picked the simplest task on the wiki's ToDo list Rolling Eyes : the "Automated Refresh Menus script", it checks for the current wm (the /etc/windowmanager flag-file in alfa 2 & 3 is not updated when switching from icewm to jwm), runs fixmenus, and restarts the current wm. Simple script, with menu item in Desktop, is attached as a PET-file.

Woohoo! Great stuff, MHHP! Cool I'm glad someone decided to pick up on this one. It's seems such a small thing but it will have a BIG impact on the usability of Puppy-4.2, especially for newbies and refugees. Thank you.

@ttuuxxx - if this could be integrated into your wm switching scripts it would be perfect. It ensures the xdg user menus remain comparable under both JWM and IceWM, regardless of where the changes were effected. Idea


will do Tab1 or tab2, Tab 1 has more space, probably better location.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 05:32    Post_subject: Hiawatha not working => PPLOG not working  

Same problem in alpha 3 with Hiawatha and of course PPLOG doesn't work as a result. Its a permissions thing ... I think, but setting permissions so the user nobody can rwx the files under the webroot /root/httpd/hiawatha - or even all of /root doesn't fix it - if I su to nobody then I still can't read these files??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 06:02    Post_subject:  

hey whodo I updated the Icewm package with the new 'refresh script'
I made 2 versions

icewm-402-v3 <-- has reduced tab menu, I removed 'fixmenus' and 'restart-IceWm' the reason is because the new 'refresh menu icons' does both jobs already and it even ups the menu numbers 5 items each tab.

icewm-402-v2 has 5 on #1 tab and tab #2 has 7 on it.

Who please tell me which Icewm package you'll be using. So I won't have to constantly update 2 packages, every time I add or fix the Icewm package, eg next the themes.
ttuuxxx
menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   55.33 KB
 Viewed   1147 Time(s)

menu.png


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 08:28    Post_subject:  

Hmmm .....

I happen to have a bit of free time today and I gave puppy 4.2a3 a few test runs ...

My observations (if anyone cares to read):

1. Pwidgets stuffs are nice but it made everything feels sluggish on older hardware (and even in QEMU) when I have many simple stuffs running (like several xterm plus several rox-filer). I did get annoyed whenever I want to click on xterm but the top tray gets in the way ... I suggest adding a switch in Pwidgets control panel to turn them on or off ...

Update: After I made this post, I noticed that puppy was running on max cpu load on the test machine. Top shows an app taking up all the cpu time making everything sluggish. A reboot cured it. I tried to reproduce but couldn't get the same result. I'll keep my eyes open should it occur again and find whats happening ...

And speaking of QEMU, please see if my QEMU xorgwizard patch is acceptable for inclusion :
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=269523#269523

2. absvolume is broken. It shows volume slider on entry then barks off. absvolume from 4.1.x and 4.2a(1) still works as a reference.

3. Cups web interface is broken due to cups doc folder renaming. ttuuxx may have thought that I excluded important doc portions of the original, which is incorrect. The only portion that have been excluded is the es po locale (which is just taking more space and can be made into a pet instead). Others remain intact and follows the default cups ./configure script. Everything of importance is installed.

(Installation process is tweaked to achieve the desired effect targeted specifically for Puppy 4.1.x ... I see that puppy 4.2a backbone structure is very much similar to 4.1 and both suffers the same predicament with cups)

A quick cups fix for puppy-4.2a3 would be to rename /usr/share/doc/cups-1.1.23 to /usr/share/doc/cups or make a symlink to it .. This will "cure" that 404 error ... which actually does not happen with my cups_std ... Many of these settings are hard-coded defaults into cups during compile time ... To make changes to any folder name or location then it should either be specified during ./configure or add the necessary config entries to /etc/cups/cupsd.conf (once compiled) ...

4. Please make some tests with the usblpp backend addon. It's for usb printer detection and printing ... I may be incorrect but cups usb backend seems to be incomplete for linux in its current form ... The addon should address this and is to be deemed as experimental ...

Seasoned puppy users will notice that printers will now be assigned either /dev/lp# for LPTs or /dev/usb/lp# for USBs ... cups uri for these will be :

parallel:/dev/lp# for LPTs
-and-
parallel:/dev/usb/lp# for USBs

If using the usblpp backend addon then USBs will be:
usblpp:/dev/usb/lp#

The parallel or usblpp refers to the backend modules used by cups for detection and printing ...

Please view cups-for-puppy functionality as work-in-progress ... The last 2 weeks of cups troubleshooting and whacking is not sufficient to solve all cups related woes ... Cups has impose security checks in many of its modules ... If I understand correctly, cups is now reflected with hardened security but puppy is root owned. That makes cups running on puppy with very limited permissions and we now see all sorts of cups printing issues ...

Why did cups 1.1.23 works without problems ? IMHO, it is because the older cups runs as root and thus have access to almost everything ... All newer cups will not (actually we can but that mean running out-of-specs and it'll bork many stuffs) ... That said, running cups 1.1.23 is justifiable if you do not need newer functionality ...

The main reason why I am looking into latest cups is because I require samba server + cups functionality as the older cups does not work reliably ... Puppy 4.1.x is deemed to be a stable release that I have installed in multiple locations and that's where I based my fixes upon ...

Cups versions between 1.1.23 and 1.4 have made numerous changes (will take me like forever to track which is which since I've only recently begun looking at it) and to make it work properly for puppy, needs lotsa patience ... Frankly, I'm like treating symptoms rather than finding the root cause and to find the root cause needs someone who can afford to sit down for a whole month and get properly acquainted with cups, inside-out ... (btw, I'm lame with C ... worse with C++ or C# ...)

I'll do what I can but don't get your hopes too high ... cups alone can cause sleepless nights .... imagine what cups + gutenprint + hplip can do to you ...

5. I suggest that the acpid package (or at least the config + scripts) be updated as the one currently used does not perform a power-button shutdown if one exits to prompt. I will look into possible notebook lid/button support if I can get my hands on one ...

Ok, enough ranting ...

Rgds

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 09:26    Post_subject:  

You can now hide Ptray (the top tray). I have included it in menu to easily activate it later.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=272354#272354


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 11:39    Post_subject:  

@Whodo

added some more updates

- ADDED 06.02.09: LAME 3.98.2
- ADDED 06.02.09: Vorbis-Tools 1.20
- ADDED 06.02.09: Axel-2.3
- ADDED 06.02.09: Wget-1.11.4

to

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=271518#271518

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 16:37    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Who please tell me which Icewm package you'll be using. So I won't have to constantly update 2 packages, every time I add or fix the Icewm package, eg next the themes.

Ok, I'm using v3 ATM. The wording should be "Refresh Menu" instead of "Refresh Menu Icons" - just a nit that I couldn't help picking. Razz

I'm confused. Confused I like the Shutdown Options dialog, but I thought it was going to be called from Ctrl+Alt+Del key combo? You have it integrated on the Shutdown menu option. For that reason the Refresh Menu option would be better as a top level icon on the main menu. It doesn't logically fit under Shutdown options IMHO.

Between you, aragon, Zigbert/trio/01micko, HairyWill, kirk, Patriot, Catdude, Pizzasgood, MU and coolpup I'm gonna need a diary to keep track of all the wonderful new updates and features! Rolling Eyes I love it, of course, but it's going to take me the best part of a day to sort through the list and make sure I've included everything.

@All - I'd really like Alpha4 to be the last of the Alpha series - i.e. impose a feature lock so we can move into the serious bug-chasing phase. I think the best thing I can do is to publish the package list here before I build the Alpha so people can tell me if anything's been overlooked.
Quote:
ACE-Solitaire.pet
acpid-1.0.8-i486.pet
alsa-lib-1.0.19-i386.pet
axel-2.3.pet
claws-mail-3.7.0-html-Cal-v2.pet
clearlooks-0.6.2-i386.pet
Clearlooks-Chocolate.pet
conky-1.6.1.pet
cups_std-1.4b2-i486-v2.pet
dhcpcd-4.0.10-prescott.pet
dosfstools-3.0.1-prescott.pet
dpkg-deb-1.14.20.pet
gdmap-0.8.1.pet
gdmap-NLS-0.8.1.pet
geany-0.15.pet
geany-NLS-0.15.pet
gftp-2.0.19-i386.pet
gpicview_0.1.11_slideshow-0.2-i386.pet
gpicview_0.1.11_slideshow-0.2-Locales.pet
grub-gfxboot_0.97-5_i386.pet
gspca-E2500-k2.6.25.16.pet
gtkhash-0.2.0.pet
gxine-0.5.903-patched-MU-puppy4.1-i486.pet
gxine_NLS-0.5.903-patched-MU-puppy4.1-i486.pet
homebank-4.0.2-i386.pet
hotrox-0.1.pet
htop-0.8.1-i386.pet
icewm-402-v3.pet
jester-1.0-i486.pet
JQ8flat-lite-0.2.pet
jwm_2.0.1_puppy_patch-45-i486.pet
lame-3.98.2.pet
lame-DEV-3.98.2.pet
leafpad-0.8.16.pet
leafpad-NLS-0.8.16.pet
libdvdcss-1.2.10-prescott.pet
libgphoto2-2.4.4-i386.pet
libidn-0.6.10.pet
libpng-1.2.34-dev.pet
libpng-1.2.34.pet
libsamplerate-0.1.2.pet
libsamplerate_dev-0.1.2.pet
libxcb-1.0.pet
mhwaveedit-1.4.15(2).pet
mhwaveedit-NLS-1.4.15.pet
mtpaint-3.29(2).pet
newman-1.0.tar.gz
ntfs-3g-2009.1.1-i486.pet
p7zip-4.58-xarchiver.pet
Parcellite-0.9.pet
partview-4.1.pet
pburn-2.1.1.pet
petget-420.pet
pfilesearch-1.11.pet
pfind-4.6.pet
pmetatagger-2.1.pet
pmusic-0.5.3.pet
ptray-0.3.pet
PuppyBasic-2.6.pet
pwidgets-0.6.pet
pwidgets_weather-0.1.pet
pwireless-0.8.4(2).pet
rc.country-1.14.1.gz
roxrightclicks-0.8.2.pet
seahaven-1.50-i486.pet
seamonkey-1.1.14-no_mailnews.pet
tcl-8.5.6a.pet
tk-8.5.6a.pet
Trash-0.3.3.pet
unrar-3.7.8-xarchiver.pet
vorbis-tools-1.20.pet
wallpaper-0.5.1.pet
wget-1.11.4.pet
xarchiver-0.5.2-i386-v5.pet
xbacklight-1.1.pet
xchat-2.8.4-402.pet
xcheckers-2.2.3-i486.pet
xdg_puppy-0.7.6-5.pet
xfreecell-1.05b.pet
xmahjongg-i486.pet
xokoban-1.0-i486.pet
xpad-2.14-i386.pet

Great work, guys! Puppy-4.2 Deepthought will well and truly live up to its name! Cool

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 18:56    Post_subject:  

Questions:

(1) Where's Gnocl? Now that Tcl and Tk are back, Gnocl would combine most of the ease of Tcl/Tk scripting with all the style of GTK+ 2.0, at very little additional cost in size and resource use. (Gnocl does take a bit of getting used to if you're accustomed to write GUI scripts with Tk, but once you cross the pons asinorum it becomes pretty appealing.) Gnocl developer William J. Giddings ("WJG" on the Tcl'ers Wiki) has expressed great interest in seeing Gnocl used in Puppy (see http://wiki.tcl.tk/5151). I bet he'd be more than willing to help squash the very few bugs that rarsa found in Gnocl 0.9.92, which is supposed to be a notable improvement over 0.9.91. Besides, even 0.9.91 would be far better than no Gnocl at all. How soon would Gnocl 0.9.92 have to be whipped into shape to be considered for inclusion?

(2) No AbiWord? Hey, that's OK with me, but there does need to be a word processor. How about TextMaker 2002 from the Official Puppy 3 repository? Very Happy

(3) Shouldn't it be "newman-1.0.pet" instead of "tar.gz"? I did turn it into a .PET after Pizzasgood posted it as a single .gz file.

(4) If Gnocl gets in, how soon will I have to get done with "Remaster Express" (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38388) to have it considered for inclusion?

David McClamrock

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 20:11    Post_subject:  

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
(1) Where's Gnocl?

The earlier version of Gnocl is in - this is a list of updates and new packages, not the whole shebang, ok? Wink

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
(2) No AbiWord?

As above. There is no Gnumeric in the list for the same reason. Rolling Eyes

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
(3) Shouldn't it be "newman-1.0.pet" instead of "tar.gz"? I did turn it into a .PET after Pizzasgood posted it as a single .gz file.

Ah, now you're getting the idea! Laughing I used the tar.gz file because I used pet2tgz to unpack the pet for testing first. OTOH, it could have been a wrong version and I'd rather know than not. If there is no difference between your dotpet and the tar.gz file included it doesn't matter. If there is a difference, other than format, then it does.

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
(4) If Gnocl gets in, how soon will I have to get done with "Remaster Express" (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38388) to have it considered for inclusion?

I'm building my first pre-alpha4 at the moment. I'm planning on uploading Alpha4 late Sunday evening if I don't die of heatstroke from the 42 degrees C temperature predicted for Sunday. If "Remaster Express" isn't ready by then, it's not all over. I could be persuaded to go to an Alpha5 for the right features, or to send it straight in with the first beta if it's solid enough. Once beta one is up though, features are fixed.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
straypup

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 21:12    Post_subject: WiFi  

Hate tobring it up but the Connection Wizard version of rtl8187 still does not work with rtl8187b dongles. It works ok with ndiswrapper in a19 I'm using that now, but refuses to let me load "b" in wrapper. This has been a problem in401 series, but I could not find it on the forum. Has anyone created a .pet or .dot pup to patch this .
Sad in the Kennels stray
Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alex12

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:14    Post_subject: Re: WiFi  

straypup wrote:
Hate to bring it up but the Connection Wizard version of rtl8187 still does not work with rtl8187b dongles.

My biggest problem with any distro. I hope someone has a fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1314s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]