Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 21:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Ptray 0.5
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 09:23    Post_subject:  Ptray 0.5
Sub_title: JWM utility trays
 

Ptray
Utility trays with editor for JWM.


Ptray has moved into the Stardust desktop environment







--- OLD ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

to activate your tray:
1. edit /etc/xdg/templates/_root/.jwmrc
change:
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray</Include>
to:
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-top</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_widget</Include>
<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray-add_icon</Include>

2. restart JWM

Download
username: puppy
password: linux

Ptray-0.5 (9 kb).



Changelog:
______________________
Version 0.5 - 23.Feb 2009
- fixmenus and globicons is NOT longer a part of the package
- Use 16x16 icon if defined 48x48 icon (in globicons) doesn't exist.
______________________
Version 0.4 - 13.Feb 2009
- include handling of add_icon tray and add_widget tray.
______________________
Version 0.3 - 6.feb 2009
- Use icon from .desktop file if not present in Globicons (thanks to HairyWill)
- Xlock points to /usr/local/apps/Xlock/AppRun (thanks to HairyWill)
______________________
Version 0.2 - 6.feb 2009
- Hide tray button

_________________
Stardust resources

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 10:59    Post_subject:  

Good. This needed its own thread.

There is a problem with the lock button.
If you call xlock before setting a password it will freeze your screen because it expects the password to be set on the console.
It is safer to call /usr/local/apps/Xlock/AppRun which includes code to check for this problem and ask the user to set a password.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 12:04    Post_subject:  

Apprun shall be
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 12:53    Post_subject:  

you might consider this in func
Code:
function MakeIconList(){
   sleep 1
   : > $HOME/.ptray/icon-list
   DESKTOPFILES=(`find /usr/share -name '*.desktop'`)
   for FILE in ${DESKTOPFILES[@]}; do
      ICON=$(grep Icon $FILE| sed 's/Icon=//g')
      APP=$(grep Exec $FILE | sed 's/Exec=//g' | cut -d ' ' -f 1)
      echo $APP,$ICON >> $HOME/.ptray/icon-list
   done
}

GetIcon(){
if [ "$(which $1)" ]; then # only get icons for applications in the path
   LINE="$(cat $HOME/.ptray/icon-list | grep $1 | tail -1)" #get the last match so that we can pick up new additions
   ICONNAME=$(echo $LINE | cut -d ',' -f 2)
   if [ -e "$ICONNAME" ] ; then
      ICON=$ICONNAME
   elif [ -e "/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/$ICONNAME" ]; then
      ICON="/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/$ICONNAME"
   elif [ -e "$HOME/.icons/$ICONNAME" ]; then
      ICON="$HOME/.icons/$ICONNAME"
   elif [ -e "/usr/share/pixmaps/$ICONNAME" ]; then
      ICON="/usr/share/pixmaps/$ICONNAME"
   elif [ -e "/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/$ICONNAME" ]; then
      ICON="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/$ICONNAME"
   fi
   if [ ! "$LINE" ]; then #checking LINE instead of PIC allows it to fail faster on subsequent runs
      ICON=$(find /usr -name "$1*" | grep -E '\.xpm$|\.png$'| head -1)
      echo "$1,$ICON" >> $HOME/.ptray/icon-list
   fi
fi
}


Code:
#hairywill
MakeIconList
   while read I; do
      #find description
      if [ "`find /usr/share/applications/ -iname "*$I*"`" ]; then
         TMP=`find /usr/share/applications/ -iname "*$I*"`
         POPUP="`cat $TMP | grep -m 1 Name | cut -d '=' -f 2`"
      else
         POPUP=""
      fi
      #find icon
      ICON="`cat $HOME/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons | grep -m 1 -A 1 $I | cut -d '>' -f 2 | cut -d '<' -f 1 | grep -v "^$"`"
#hairywill
      [ ! "$ICON" ]  && GetIcon $I
      if [ ! "$ICON" ]; then ICON=star48.png; fi
If the icon isn't specified in globicons it will try and use something specified by the .desktop file before using the generic star. Often this will result in a 16x16 pixmap being enlarged. There is a trade off here between the aesthetics of an ugly icon and the usability of a generic icon which gives no hint as to the application it launches. This is less of a problem if one chooses to reduce the height of the tray.
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 14:07    Post_subject:  

HairyWills improvements are added to version 0.3
See main post.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2009, 16:22    Post_subject:  

Version 0.3-1
See main post

This one is packed with another fixmenus script after WhoDos request.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 16:48    Post_subject:  

Version 0.4
See main post

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2009, 04:40    Post_subject:  

Hi guys,

I installed Ptray-0.4 today on my 412 box today.

Unfortunately it still crashed the main tray when trying to switch themes. I don't know if it is related to Ptray but when I reinstalled Ptray I recovered (and so did JWM Laughing )

Is there a logfile for this? If so I'll post it.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2009, 04:49    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Unfortunately it still crashed the main tray when trying to switch themes. I don't know if it is related to Ptray but when I reinstalled Ptray I recovered (and so did JWM Laughing )

Is there a logfile for this? If so I'll post it.

The problem isn't in ptray, it's in the Gtk theme switcher. Check the Alpha4 bugs thread for Hairywill's patch to fix. It definitely works. Either that or wait a couple of hours for Beta1 with the fix embedded. Wink

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3185
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue 24 Feb 2009, 03:47    Post_subject:  

Very Happy zigbert,
Love the Ptray..
One ?....How do I remove the spacers?
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 24 Feb 2009, 04:06    Post_subject:  

puppyluvr
The easiest would be:
1. build the tray the way you want it
2. config manually - remove empty buttons (spacers)
3. restart jwm


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3185
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue 24 Feb 2009, 09:18    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Thanks, I had already done that, but they were still there..
Then I discovered that some buttons were pointing to non existing icons...Fixed them, and all is well... Very Happy
Thx...Jay...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 10:10    Post_subject:  

Could you please explain the process by which Ptray sets itself up? Specifically, how it gathers info for adding programs/icons to the top tray. I am having some problems with adding programs, specifically, TkSpider and also CUPS. I guess something is broken in the chain of info gathering, so, say, TkSpider displays the star icon instead of the correct one. If I could understand the chain, I could fix it I think.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5647
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2009, 07:16    Post_subject:  

DaveS
Ptray uses the information in /root/Choices/ROX-filer/globicons. If target is not found here it uses the specs in /usr/share/applications/name_of_program.desktop.

I have not looked into your specific case. Please report if you find any bugs.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Schism


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jun 2009, 13:37    Post_subject: Ptray 0.5 in Upup476  

I have ptray working in upup476. It didn't work at first and all of a sudden I installed technosaurus's gpe-0.117-i486.pet and it all of a sudden worked. Though the Poweroff, Show Desktop, and Lock Screen buttons don't work along with the icon not being available for Edit Tray. How can i fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]