Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 14:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Improved Network Wizard (and rc.network)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 40 [596 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2009, 07:50    Post subject:  

hayagix wrote:
PSK is |"tastycritters"
d2f21e85945b764d767df453ccc4fa14628de9bb5875586fd4eef84c29b1f8b7|

I think I found what caused that, but have no idea why it happened:
wpa_passphrase return a few lines, including:
Code:
#psk="tastycritters"
psk=d2f21e85945b764d767df453ccc4fa14628de9bb5875586fd4eef84c29b1f8b7

so to get the psk, the wizard used grep "[^#]psk" -- which worked fine with my test scripts, but apparently in your case it didn't exclude the commented out line...

Try the new version and see if it fixes that problem.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2009, 12:19    Post subject:  

March 3rd wizard works like a charm. Thanks.

# net-setup.sh -d
OK
PSK is |d2f21e85945b764d767cf453ccc4fa14628de9rr5875586fd4eef84c29b1f8b7|
PSK is |d2f21e85945b764d767cf453ccc4fa14628de9rr5875586fd4eef84c29b1f8b7|
Configuring interface wlan0 to network PRT 2 with wpa_supplicant...
Waiting for connection...
completed
EXIT="Ready"

UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
dhcpcd: MAC address = 00:d0:51:t4:07:32
dhcpcd: your IP address = 10.2.2.81
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
98clru

Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 05 Mar 2009, 04:27    Post subject: improved network wizard
Subject description: network wizard mar-3rd; keeps settings for asus 900a after reboot
 

Took a while to get converted to .pet but since I did my asus 900a is keeping the network settings after shutdown. Haven't run into any problems yet, of course most of the functionality I didn't need as I already had functioning network but had to be reinitialized with each reboot.

The connection is not established any more quickly (actually think it's less quickly) than right clicking on connection then directing to autoconnect with wif / ethernet but as it is a single step now to reboot/start that makes it easy enough for my wife to use!

I lost my touchpad on the ssd install, fortunately kept the usb drive version but will try fresh install to ssd soon and report on wifi unless someone else beats me to it.

Thanx Dougal!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sue


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Anaheim, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Mar 2009, 02:08    Post subject: iwlagn mssing from network wizard DB  

iwlagn and maybe iwl5100 is missing from the network wizard DB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 16 Mar 2009, 06:40    Post subject: Re: iwlagn mssing from network wizard DB  

sue wrote:
iwlagn and maybe iwl5100 is missing from the network wizard DB.

Do you mean they're missing from the list of WPA supporting modules, or from the list of modules offered for you to load?

I've added them to the WPA whitelist, but the modules offered list is generated from /etc/networkmodules (or "ethernetmodules", I'm not sure), which is supposed to be updated by whoever compiles the kernel...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sue


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Anaheim, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2009, 00:08    Post subject: iwl5100  

Sorry, I didn't realize there were two different lists.

It was the WPA list. The wizard said the module only supported WEP.
I dug around and found out that could be due thttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=284437#284437o an out-of-date /etc/networkmodules.
I tried to add an entry manually, but it stilll didn't work.

I got the wireless up by copying /etc/network-wizard from another puppy PC, which bypasses the wizard altogether. The wizard let me load and run the copied config, which may or may not be a good thing.

Where's the WPA whitelist? I can check the date/md5sum.

Since 4.2 is due out any day, I can wait.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2009, 07:16    Post subject: Re: iwl5100  

sue wrote:
Where's the WPA whitelist? I can check the date/md5sum.

It's in the wizard itself, in /usr/sbin/wag-profiles.sh, pretty close to the top, you have a case structure with a bunch of modules listed (you can just search for the other iwl modules).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Fri 20 Mar 2009, 08:15    Post subject:  

Another update:
- add iwl5100 and iwlagn to WPA whitelist
- in the "no wpa" dialog, add option for user to add module to whitelist.
- when running a wireless scan, run two scans, redirecting output to files, then use the bigger file... sometimes not all networks appear in a scan.
- clean up a bit and remove some unnecessary "sleep 1" instances.

Note to translators: some messages have been changed and a few added after them. See the head of the .mo file.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sue


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Anaheim, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2009, 23:36    Post subject: net wizard in woof alpha3 success with iwl5100  

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grenville Grimace

Joined: 27 Mar 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2009, 22:13    Post subject:  

Hi,

I've installed Puppy 4.2 onto a 2GB SD card to try on my eeepc 701 4G

I'm very impressed with how well everything works, but am having problems with the wifi.

Had to install madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r3861-k2.6.25.16.pet to get it to see my wifi. Tried to configure, but Puppy will not accept my 63 digit WPA-PSK, cutting it down to 30 digits when 'save' is clicked. I get the impression that I could connect without issue to an unencrypted or weakly encrypted network, even if not to my own. (I don't consider weakening my network encryption to be an acceptable compromise to get Puppy connected.)

Is there a way to work around this problem?
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 14:35    Post subject:  

Grenville Grimace wrote:
Tried to configure, but Puppy will not accept my 63 digit WPA-PSK, cutting it down to 30 digits when 'save' is clicked.

By "WPA-PSK" you mean the (8-64 char) passphrase, not the (64 char) hex key, right?
Does it have any "special" characters ('"$` etc.) in it?
When you say it gets cut down, do you mean what it shows in the dialog?
Try looking in /etc/network-wizard/wireless/, both in the "profiles" and "wpa_profiles" directories, you should find configuration files named after your AP MAC address.
The one in "profiles" should contain the KEY variable -- see if it's truncated.
The one in "wpa_profiles" should contain a "#psk=" line which would include your key (between quotes) -- see if this one's ok, too.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 15:46    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal,
thanks for your wonderful network wizard.

Valpy: thanks for your suggestions: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=35586

I am using the latest puppy 4.2, and I thought Dougal had the following already fixed, but apparently not:

in /usr/sbin/wag_profile.sh
Code:

...
 r8180|r8187rtl8180|rtl8187|) CARD_WPA_DRV="ipw" ;;
...
rt61pci|rt73usb|rt2400pci|rt2500*|rt28[67]0*) CARD_WPA_DRV="wext" ;;

should be
Code:

...
 r8180|r8187) CARD_WPA_DRV="ipw" ;;
...
rt61pci|rt73usb|rt2400pci|rtl8180|rtl8187|rt2500*|rt28[67]0*) CARD_WPA_DRV="wext" ;;


This effectively solves the RTL8187 not connecting if WAP is used as an encryption method.


As a side note, another suggestion from Valpy has been confirmed on my setup:
Code:

iwconfig wlan0 rate 5.5M

indeed gives a more reliable connection. I can go up to 48M following the same idea and still get a reliable connection.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:46    Post subject:  

gulk wrote:
Code:

...
 r8180|r8187rtl8180|rtl8187|) CARD_WPA_DRV="ipw" ;;
...
rt61pci|rt73usb|rt2400pci|rt2500*|rt28[67]0*) CARD_WPA_DRV="wext" ;;

Hmm. Which version of the wizard are you using? I just checked and the rtl modules are under wext (I think we fixed this quite a while ago).

Quote:
As a side note, another suggestion from Valpy has been confirmed on my setup:
Code:

iwconfig wlan0 rate 5.5M

indeed gives a more reliable connection. I can go up to 48M following the same idea and still get a reliable connection.

Yeah. The problem is which value to use... you are limiting the rate, after all...
With ath5k, I have a special line to set it to 10M, since it defaults to 1M (it was suggested on the linux-wireless website), but we have no idea what every driver supports... and don't want to needlessly limit the user.
I might add something to give the user an option to select a rate ti use, but that would require changing the gui etc...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:55    Post subject:  

Another update:
- with pcmcia devices, add sleeping for 5 seconds before running wireless scan
- try to fix WEP, by explicitly turning on encryption (iwconfig key on) before setting key.

I made a little update to the locale file, so translations need to be updated (just one extra message).

I'm including here a .pet, in case people are having problems handling a .tar.gz -- use at your own risk.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

Last edited by Dougal on Sun 12 Apr 2009, 05:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grenville Grimace

Joined: 27 Mar 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 20:39    Post subject:  

Dougal wrote:
Grenville Grimace wrote:
Tried to configure, but Puppy will not accept my 63 digit WPA-PSK, cutting it down to 30 digits when 'save' is clicked.

By "WPA-PSK" you mean the (8-64 char) passphrase, not the (64 char) hex key, right?
Does it have any "special" characters ('"$` etc.) in it?
When you say it gets cut down, do you mean what it shows in the dialog?
Try looking in /etc/network-wizard/wireless/, both in the "profiles" and "wpa_profiles" directories, you should find configuration files named after your AP MAC address.
The one in "profiles" should contain the KEY variable -- see if it's truncated.
The one in "wpa_profiles" should contain a "#psk=" line which would include your key (between quotes) -- see if this one's ok, too.

My 63 digit passphrase is: fyQ~xG\a@9zvoO7a[.]lY,f%0w_`0vj3kX<@~zTYnvNBbbEpob(0s:,/>-4`4=}
After entering into dialogue box and pressing 'save' it becomes: fyQ~xG\a@9zvoO7a[.]lY,f%0w_4=}


/etc/network-wizard/wireless/profiles:

TITLE="MyWiFi"
WPA_DRV="wext"
WPA_TYPE=""
WPA_AP_SCAN="1"
ESSID="MyWiFi"
NWID=""
KEY="fyQ~xG\a@9zvoO7a[.]lY,f%0w_4=}"
MODE="managed"
SECURE="open"
FREQ="2.462G"
CHANNEL="11"
AP_MAC="00:18:4D:FA:7E:4E"


/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=1
update_config=1

network={
ssid="MyWiFi"
scan_ssid=1
#psk="fyQ~xG@9zvoO7a[.]lY,f%0w_4=}"
psk=3599b4b55979bf79390a0102ac0404218dce503c13379bfc88163d598401518f
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 40 [596 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1066s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0176s) ][ GZIP on ]