Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Upgrade intel P3-700?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 22 Dec 2005, 16:31    Post subject:  Upgrade intel P3-700?  

Hi,

I got a Pentium 3 700 with 1 Gigabyte RAM.
I currently backup one of the inbuilt harddisks, then I want to install Puppy 107 alpha.

But I will keep XP for gaming.
As 700 mhz will be too slow for 3D-games like Doom3 or Quake4, I think of replacing the processor with a faster one.
But i have no idea, what could be used, as there are so many different sockets.

I think I would prefer an AMD-chip, as they are cheaper than Intel.
Do you know, what modern processors would fit into a Pentium3-socket?

The graficscard is a Radeon 7000 / Radeon VE (at least that driver is taken from XP, the microsoft-driver, not a vendor one).

Would it make sense, to use a new processor with such a graficscard? Or is it too outdated for newer games?

Thanks for any suggestions, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mayakovski


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Dec 2005, 17:19    Post subject: Re: Upgrade intel P3-700?  

MU wrote:
Hi,

I got a Pentium 3 700 with 1 Gigabyte RAM.
I currently backup one of the inbuilt harddisks, then I want to install Puppy 107 alpha.

But I will keep XP for gaming.
As 700 mhz will be too slow for 3D-games like Doom3 or Quake4, I think of replacing the processor with a faster one.
But i have no idea, what could be used, as there are so many different sockets.

I think I would prefer an AMD-chip, as they are cheaper than Intel.
Do you know, what modern processors would fit into a Pentium3-socket?

The graficscard is a Radeon 7000 / Radeon VE (at least that driver is taken from XP, the microsoft-driver, not a vendor one).

Would it make sense, to use a new processor with such a graficscard? Or is it too outdated for newer games?

Thanks for any suggestions, Mark


The reality is your ready for a new computer. You will not find a current (Modern) processor that will fit in a P3 socket. If you have Pentium type motherboard they you have to have a pentium type processor.

For an AMD processor you need an AMD compatible motherboard, they are not interchangable.

Also a Radeon 7000 LE is proably the bare minimum card for something like Doom 3.

your cheapest option will be a new tower, power supply, motherboard, CPU and maybe ram.

The RAM in your system will be SDRAM and most of the new motherboards use DDR.

Here is a great link to building your own computer.
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1444

Let me know if you want me to list some reliable components for you, if so let me know what your budget is.

_________________
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10668
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Dec 2005, 17:25    Post subject:  

It's a law of nature that no AMD processor will fit a socket meant for a Pentium. Laughing The VIA C3 is the only processor I know that might interchange (Is it a socket 370? It will say on the socket.) I don't think any VIA C3 will perform as well as the fastest Pentium (probably a 1Ghz) that will replace the 700 MHz P3. You should know that a 1GHz P3 can dissipate around 50 watts, so your cooling, and possibly power supply, may also require upgrading. If you do all that you'll barely notice the change in performance. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 22 Dec 2005, 17:26    Post subject:  

Ok, thanks.
No, I won't buy a nearly complete new PC just for gaming.
If it would have been done with just a processor - ok.
But if it needs more, I will not do it.

I still have several older games, that did not run on my notebook, the P700 will be ok for them Smile

Now I just have to find out, why Puppy 107 won't boot on it - get a black screen with no message at all.

Thanks, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0549s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]