Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 12:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
fatdog 112 can't read dvd
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Wed 15 Apr 2009, 23:16    Post_subject:  fatdog 112 can't read dvd  

I can't use pmount to mount dvd reader
Error: Can't mount /dev/sr0
Then I can't read a data dvd. I use well this data dvd in other distro (e.g turbopup, 4.20 deepthough)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 00:19    Post_subject:  

I'm running fatdog 112 when posting this (running in ram) and I can mount no problem. Open terminal and type this command, and post any error messages you see:
Code:
mount /dev/dvd /mnt/data

If this works (no error message), you can unmount using
Code:
umount /mnt/data

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 01:48    Post_subject:  

@jamesbond
I use your suggestion:
Code:

mount /dev/dvd /mnt/data

I'd got this message
Code:

mount: No medium found

(I think that there's no medium in dvd reader
I put the dvd in the reader i repeat this command then now I get this
Code:

mount: block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/dvd: can't read superblock

NB: If i use Pmount I'd got: An read message box with this message "ERROR: unable to mount sr0"
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 02:26    Post_subject:  

This
Code:

mount: block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only

is ok, since we're dealing with a read-only device here.

Code:

mount: /dev/dvd: can't read superblock
is more worrying.

Can you try with this
Code:

mount -t iso9660 /dev/dvd /mnt/data

and see what you've got?

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 03:55    Post_subject: mount dvd success  

@jamesbond
I' got the same message with
Code:

mount -t iso9660 /dev/dvd /mnt/data
mount block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only

But, now Aha Hah I can read my dvd data.
Success! Thank you jamesbond. But I want to know this cause by pmount bug or another one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 04:20    Post_subject:  

Glad that it helps.

I think the issue is the system somehow detects the filesystem on dvd wrongly. CD and DVD usually use iso9660 filesystem, and DVD sometimes uses UDF. The error message you get is "can't read superblock" - this means mount is trying to read your dvd as if it's an ext2/ext3 filesystem and of course it will fail.

I don't think it's pmount or mount issue. pmount uses probedisk/probepart/probedisk2 to detect the filesystem that exist on disk. If you can post the output of
Code:

probedisk /dev/dvd
probedisk2 /dev/dvd
probepart /dev/dvd

then we can probably see where it goes wrong.

Anyway - how was this dvd created? Did you use pburn? is it multisession? other than iso9660, is there any other filesystem on it (udf and iso9660 can co-exists...) etc.

Remember to unmount your dvd otherwise you won't be able to eject it Smile

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 05:04    Post_subject:  

@jamesbond
Thank you a lot
This is the messages I'd got:
Code:

probedisk /dev/dvd
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|ATA   Maxtor 6L040P0
/dev/sr0|cdrom|SONY   DVD RW DRU-830A


Code:

probedisk2/dev/dvd
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|ATA   Maxtor 6L040P0
/dev/sr0|cdrom|SONY   DVD RW DRU-830A


Code:

probepart
/dev/sda1|vfat|10402496
/dev/sda2|none|2
/dev/sda5|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda6|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda7|vfat|12277376
/dev/sda8|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda9|ext2|19459376
/dev/sda10|swap|1012976
/dev/sr0|none|2097150


I use k3b to burn the DVD with option "DAO" (but may be this is wrong option - I choice DAO but k3b notice that it will use SAO - Info from K3B) - an bootable .iso file - This dvd boot good on my compu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 07:16    Post_subject:  

Well, sometime things happens.

Are you doing the probedisk thing with the dvd in your drive? I see that all the /dev/sr0 shows "none". Can you do it with the dvd in your drive?
On the other hand, if this is the result with your dvd in your drive, then that's very very odd...

Well, k3b ought to be ok ... k3b, pburn, they all are GUI front-ends to the same program to burn dvd (growisofs, I think). Both DAO and SAO should be all-right.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 09:44    Post_subject:  

I use command "probedisk - probedisk2" with the DVD Disk in the DVD reader and these are the same messages:
Code:

# probedisk
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|ATA     Maxtor 6L040P0 
/dev/sr0|cdrom|SONY    DVD RW DRU-830A
# probedisk2
/dev/sda|drive|ATA Maxtor 6L040P0
/dev/sr0|optical|SONY DVD RW DRU-830A
#


Now I continue with:
Code:

# mount -t iso9660 /dev/dvd /mnt/data
mount: block device /dev/dvd is write-protected, mounting read-only


and then check if DVD was mounted
Code:

# ls /mnt/data
411ux         420smpxuv     cups_gutenp  new_inst_viet    syslinux3.73
412lhsc       420whdeepsc   exefile      newyearpupsc     turbopupux
412lhux       420whdeepux   fonts_vn     newyearpupux     usb_win_utily
412mipupux    boot          grldr        ppupbarryux      zip_rar_arc
413nopux      boot.catalog  grub4dos2    remasterscripts
420puppiessc  c406uv        HBCD         sfsfile
420puppiesxv  c412sc        kieuvan406   spup
420smpsc      c412ux        mk_multi_cd  surfpupux


And I re-check with:
Code:

# probedisk
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|ATA     Maxtor 6L040P0 
/dev/sr0|cdrom|SONY    DVD RW DRU-830A


Any instructions. TK jamesbond
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 09:51    Post_subject:  

My mistake Sad

I should have asked you to do the probepart, with the disc inside, but when it is NOT mounted. Let's see what is says.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 20:09    Post_subject:  

@jamesbond
This is the info of probepart
Code:

# probepart
/dev/sda1|vfat|10402496
/dev/sda2|none|2
/dev/sda5|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda6|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda7|vfat|12277376
/dev/sda8|vfat|12292496
/dev/sda9|ext2|19459376
/dev/sda10|swap|1012976
/dev/sr0|iso9660|7736768
#

Ah, fatdog understands the dvd is an iso9660.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 23:34    Post_subject:  

Shocked which is very odd, because then pmount should recognise it as such and mount it with the "-t iso9660" parameter .... may be it is a pmount bug. Odd Sad

I'll see what I can do, but no promises - there are a lot of things going on under the hood (pmount is Barry's baby along with the entire pup_event front-end/back-end event notification system). Somewhere along the line the communication must have been broken.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2012, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the information, I was having trouble mounting a data dvd, (I'm using Precise Puppy 5.4.1

This was the error message: "Error: unable to mount sr0"

And (in my case) this was the the solution:

Code:
 mount -t udf /dev/dvd /mnt/data
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0905s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0140s) ][ GZIP on ]