Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 17:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
CUPS 1.4b2 for Puppy 4.2 has stopped working.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
reedman

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:05    Post subject:  CUPS 1.4b2 for Puppy 4.2 has stopped working.  

I recently upgraded to Puppy 4.2 through a fresh frugal install. I configured my printer (Canon Pixma ip3500) successfully with the MP520 driver file. I printed a test page from Opera (v.9.64) in color and with good results. I went to bed, booted Puppy, printed a page from the browser, with poor results. Mystified, I attempted to re-enter the CUPS interface, and nothing appears, either through the System Menu for managing printing, or through the Setup Menu for the CUPS printer wizard.

I attempted to call CUPS from a console window through the command "gtklp", and received the popup advisory "Unable to connect to Server Localhost!" But my internet connection is quite fast and fully functional. Browsing and email are accomplished quickly and as per normal. Is the warning an alert that the CUPS server is (at least temporarily) down?

The following is what's inside the /usr/etc/cups/cupsd.conf file: (Is there something that I should change withn it?)

==========

#
# "$Id: cupsd.conf.in 7199 2008-01-08 00:16:30Z mike $"
#
# Sample configuration file for the Common UNIX Printing System (CUPS)
# scheduler. See "man cupsd.conf" for a complete description of this
# file.
#

# Log general information in error_log - change "info" to "debug" for
# troubleshooting...
LogLevel info

# Administrator user group...
SystemGroup root


# Only listen for connections from the local machine.
Listen localhost:631
Listen /var/run/cups/cups.sock

# Show shared printers on the local network.
Browsing On
BrowseOrder allow,deny
BrowseAllow all

# Default authentication type, when authentication is required...
DefaultAuthType Basic

# Restrict access to the server...
<Location />
Order deny,allow
</Location>

# Restrict access to the admin pages...
<Location /admin>
Order deny,allow
</Location>

# Restrict access to configuration files...
<Location /admin/conf>
AuthType None
Require user @SYSTEM
Order deny,allow
</Location>

# Set the default printer/job policies...
<Policy default>
<Limit All>
Order deny,allow
</Limit>
</Policy>

#
# End of "$Id: cupsd.conf.in 7199 2008-01-08 00:16:30Z mike $".
#

==========

I believe that I may have overlooked something simple, but am unable to determine what that might be. I would certainly appreciate any help. Is it possible to re-install the CUPS pet package, provided that there is one, or perhaps there is a much simpler solution.

Thanks very much. Puppy is the reason I finally made the swtich to Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:43    Post subject:  

There are two menu items for running CUPS. In Puppy 4.2, the one under System is broken. It will stop the CUPS daemon but not restart it. Once the daemon is stopped, running CUPS from Setup will fail too. You can restart CUPS with a reboot or by going to a console and typing.

Code:
/etc/init.d/cups start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:51    Post subject:  

@ rcrsn51

if you know a solution/patch please submit to the 4.2 bugfix-thread.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reedman

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 11:58    Post subject: Attempted direct start of CUPS  

Tried both the console entry and a reboot which you suggested rcrsn51, and still no entryway to the CUPS server/portal. Both entries in the Puppy menu are non-functional, at least from my machine. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 12:01    Post subject:  

@aragon: The bug was reported on April 10. Prior to that, it was discussed here with edoc.

@reedman: When you say "nothing appears" do you mean "nothing" or do you get a message about being unable to connect?

When you run the console command, does it reply that CUPS has restarted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reedman

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 12:15    Post subject: Definition for "nothing" and console entry  

@rcrsn51: Nothing, as in no response of any kind. No message. No picture. Nothing. I re-entered your /etc/init.d/cups start command and received the response "cups: started scheduler." Now, what's next to reconfigure my printer, or is this not possible? (Previously, when I entered the command "gtklp" I get the "no localhost " message.)

I attempted to enter "http://127.0.0.1:631/printers" in my browser, which resulted in the "Could not connect to remote server" error message.

May I ask why the CD is fully functional, but the frugal install is not? Perhaps this is too complicated to answer. Thanks, rcrsn51.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 13:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
I printed a test page from Opera (v.9.64)


The CUPS menu items are designed to run through browser tools that are part of the Seamonkey suite. I'm guessing that your Opera install has disabled them somehow.

But I would have thought that you could still get to 127.0.0.1:631 directly through Opera.

[Edit] My only other suggestion would be to delete your current pup_save file and reinstall WITHOUT Opera. Run some tests. Then install Opera and see if you can replicate the bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reedman

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 13:33    Post subject: Seamonkey browser access to CUPS  

@rcrsn51: Ditto results with Seamonkey web Browser: "Failed to connect. Page load error" (http://127.0.0.1:631/printers). Thanks. I suppose I can just forget about booting from the hard drive, and boot instead from the CD. I'll give that a whirl. I find this all quite ironic, as I was nearly entirely happy with Puppy 4.1.2 as a frugal install, the only exception being lack of printing support for my Canon printer. So I have spent the last two days porting everything over to Puppy 4.2 because my printer was finally recognized from the CD. Thought that I had it all figured out. (Life is what happens whilst you are making other plans.)

Hoping that no one at Puppy Central misinterprets this, but if this was a known glitch prior to the release of 4.2 Final, perhaps the "final" version should have been baked a little longer. As a further aside, my attempt to upgrade my existing frugal install of Puppy 4.1.2 by copying over the older files with the newer ones was a complete disaster. In the end, I simply did a frugal install of Puppy 4.2 to another partition, and began my manual "upgrade" from there.

I love Puppy, and I'm in it for the long haul. It's made linux practical for everyday use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2009, 14:05    Post subject:  

You might want to try installing CUPS 1.3.9 instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reedman

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 09:15    Post subject: Now working!  

Just an update to my original thread. I have just completed an upgrade of Puppy from 4.2 to 4.2.1, and the printer (a Canon Pixma ip3500) is working just fine with the bundled version of CUPS, 1.3.10. I am using the PPD file for MP520. Thanks very much for this latest release, as it is a relief to have a fully functional printer again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
goldpacific

Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 15:59    Post subject: CUPS Manage Printers broken in 4.2  

I got "unable to connect to Server Localhost!" for CUPS puppy 4.2
but cups works for puppy 4.1.2 and 4.2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 25 May 2009, 17:05    Post subject:  

In Puppy 4.2, the System > Manage Printing routine was broken. It actually disabled CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 05:09    Post subject: work around script  

In 4.20 after I got CUPS running again.
Code:

/etc/init.d/cups start
I created this script to open the CUPS page without using any menu items and running the risk of stopping CUPS again.
Code:
#! /bin/bash
defaultbrowser http://localhost:631/printers

I then saved it in my-applications. Made sure it was executable and dragged it on to the desktop.
Now when I need to modify CUPS , start , stop or cancel print jobs etc I just click on the icon on the desktop and "Bingo" the CUPS page opens up in my web browser.

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0701s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]