Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 00:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
1.03: rc.local not working right
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 332
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 13:00    Post subject:  1.03: rc.local not working right  

A possible little bug in pup 1.03 rc.local0. If a modified rc.local exists (calling wireless and firewall scripts for example), the find procedure in rc.local0 fails and it overwrites rc.local with the standard file. I've fiddled a bit but haven't yet gotten it right yet. a ls shows the files existing prior to the test, making the path more explicit (/root/.etc/rc.d/rc.local) works every time in a simple test script but the test still fails in rc.local0. for now, I'm just calling my own rc.local_xxx. 1.01 didn't test, just ran rc.local.

Happily back to kernel 2.4.27 for now. Love the multisession pup the best.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 15:48    Post subject:  

i haven't had any problems with rc.local
i often modify mine ... it's a convenient place to put your modifications, even if they don't really belong there

it doesn't look like rc.local should ever be touched, except by rc.local0, which will create a new file but only if the file does not exist

if [ ! -f /etc/rc.d/rc.local ];then

is the line that checks if rc.local exists or not ... it seems ok to me

if there is no symlink linking /etc to /root/.etc it won't find the file ... but it won't overwrite the old rc.local file either

i read somewhere (in the files for a major program ... mplayer? xmms? bash?) some advice about making scripts, and one of the things it suggested was to always use -r to test for files ... which makes sense, because if the file is not readable, it probably isn't going to be useful anyway

one thing about rc.local ... the PATH and LD_LIBRARY_PATH are not setup in rc.local to use the my-applications dir ... if you try to run programs from rc.local that are in my-applications, it probably won't work unless you setup the paths and export them first

i don't know why it's doing that ... do you have an older version of rc.update in rc.d?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 332
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 16:38    Post subject:  

It remains a puzzler. This is a multisession built on the 1.03 barebones so rc.update is current. Symlink is there and working correctly. If I build a test script using

if [ ! -f /etc/rc.d/rc.local ];then
..
..

it works exactly as expected, finds rc.local, and runs it correctly, starting up my ndiswrapper based RT2500 wireless card and setting up my NAT/firewall.

What seems to be exactly the same 4 or five lines at the end of rc.local0 fails to find rc.local and regenerates it.

My patch works fine, just a puzzle.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 22:04    Post subject:  

I just looked at rc.local0 ...the code seems okay, i don't see why it isn't working right in your case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0139s) ][ GZIP on ]