Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x » Bugs (4.x dev)
[OPEN] 4.2.1 Network config not loading
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 10 May 2009, 14:47    Post_subject:  [OPEN] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

4.2.1 frugal USB. Wifi Network configuration previously set up does not autoload at next boot and has to be set up via the wizard again.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Sun 10 May 2009, 15:23    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

DaveS wrote:
4.2.1 frugal USB. Wifi Network configuration previously set up does not autoload at next boot and has to be set up via the wizard again.


Same story with me on a frugal HD install. Was ok with 4.2.0.
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sun 10 May 2009, 17:31    Post_subject: wifi  

Usb wifi config saving and loading ok on full hard drive install.

UPDATE

Config loads ok on Reboot but Does not after shutdown.
Blinky still loads to desktop but no connection.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 04:13    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

DaveS wrote:
4.2.1 frugal USB. Wifi Network configuration previously set up does not autoload at next boot and has to be set up via the wizard again.

Could this be because your pup_save file isn't created until you reboot? I don't know where these settings are stored in the RAM disk, but maybe that section isn't getting saved on first creation of the pup_save. Does it save ok for subsequent boots following creation of the pup_save file?

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 04:29    Post_subject: log  

This is my bootsysinit log from a cold boot, hope it helps with debugging.

VERSION UPDATE
LOAD KERNEL MODULES
LOAD SWAP
MISC. SYSTEM SETUP
WAIT MODULES LOADED
ls: cannot access /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/*/modalias: No such file or directory
USER SELECTED MODULES
SETUP SERVICES
RECOGNISE MEDIA DEVICES
Waiting for interfaces to initialize...
Loading "uk" keyboard map... Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/uk.map
configuring network interface eth0
interface eth0 has not been configured... skipping
configuring network interface wlan0
/etc/rc.d/rc.network: line 208: checkIsPCMCIA: command not found
MISC. DESKTOP STUFF
PERSONAL BOOT SCRIPT
-> Projectfiles.com Linux Firewall version 2.0rc9 running.
-> Performing sanity checks...... [ PASSED ]
-> Building firewall.... [ DONE ]
/etc/rc.d/rc.network: line 493: Get_Cell_Parameters: command not found
/etc/rc.d/rc.network: line 576: Get_Cell_Parameters: command not found
Configuring interface wlan0 to network with iwconfig...
cheching if interface wlan0 is alive...yes
cups: started scheduler.
ACPI Power Button support enabled.
acpi daemon started.
Starting PCMCIA services:
Success!
lease
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
Debug, wlan0: waiting on select for 20 seconds
3
6
9
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
12
15
18
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
21
24
27
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
30
33
36
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
39
42
45
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
48
51
Debug, wlan0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x6dae6357
54
57
Error, wlan0: timed out
Info, wlan0: trying to use old lease in `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info'
Error, wlan0: lease information file `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info' does not exist
Info, wlan0: probing for an IPV4LL address
Debug, wlan0: sending ARP probe #1
60
Debug, wlan0: sending ARP probe #2
Debug, wlan0: sending ARP probe #3
Debug, wlan0: sending ARP claim #1
Debug, wlan0: sending ARP claim #2
Warning, wlan0: using IPV4LL address 169.254.52.160
Info, wlan0: adding IP address 169.254.52.160/16
Debug, wlan0: no dns information to write
Debug, wlan0: writing /var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info
Debug, wlan0: exec "/etc/dhcpcd.sh" "/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.info" "new"
Debug, wlan0: forking to background
100
63
66
69
72
75
78
81
84
87
90
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 04:44    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

WhoDo wrote:
DaveS wrote:
4.2.1 frugal USB. Wifi Network configuration previously set up does not autoload at next boot and has to be set up via the wizard again.

Could this be because your pup_save file isn't created until you reboot? I don't know where these settings are stored in the RAM disk, but maybe that section isn't getting saved on first creation of the pup_save. Does it save ok for subsequent boots following creation of the pup_save file?


Sorry no. Actually I always create a pup_save through a controlled shut down before beginning any kind of testing.
Update: Pwireless finds my network and will log on to it if I go through the normal procedure. Also, Pwidgets shows my network as activated after re-boot, but my browser and email cannot access it until I configure it either through network wizard or pwireless.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1806
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 05:04    Post_subject:  

@DaveS

Is it as broadcom device?

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 05:25    Post_subject:  

trio wrote:
@DaveS

Is it as broadcom device?


Yes. 4.2.1 sees it correctly as wlan0, it just does not activate automatically on boot.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1806
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 05:30    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
trio wrote:
@DaveS

Is it as broadcom device?


Yes. 4.2.1 sees it correctly as wlan0, it just does not activate automatically on boot.


I already reported it, see my post in this section too...it's the b43 firmware folder in 4.2.1, it's doesn't consist of complete things

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mawebb88

Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 245
Location: France nr Lyon

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 06:00    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

WhoDo wrote:
DaveS wrote:
4.2.1 frugal USB. Wifi Network configuration previously set up does not autoload at next boot and has to be set up via the wizard again.

Could this be because your pup_save file isn't created until you reboot? I don't know where these settings are stored in the RAM disk, but maybe that section isn't getting saved on first creation of the pup_save. Does it save ok for subsequent boots following creation of the pup_save file?


I don't think this is the case as least not for me as I had the same problem as reported above (frugal-HD) and I had created a save file. As mentioned earlier 420 was ok in this respect for me.

Rgds Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 15:24    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

I found the same problem. I don't think it is hardware related. In addition to 421rc2 I have the following (frugal) puppies installed on the same computer:

upup461, NOP413, 420rc2, 42final

The first three reconnects to my WAN but the fourth does not. So there seems to have been a change in the Network Wizard script between 420rc2 and 42final.

Ecube
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 23:21    Post_subject: Re: [Bug] 4.2.1 Network config not loading  

The Network Wizard scripts in 420rc2 and 42final are identical. So the cause of the problem rests elsewhere. The 420 upgrade by ttuuxxx (v2) (where Pwidgets is removed) is OK.

Ecube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x » Bugs (4.x dev)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0949s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0242s) ][ GZIP on ]