Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 10:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Personal Database
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 8 [109 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 01:37    Post subject:  Puppy Personal Database  

With prompting from Lobster i'm working on a small personal database app for inclusion in Puppy, which is nearing completion, but I thought you'd like to have a look at a Personal Database where size is not a consideration...

It uses xBase tables and with very little extra can be converted from flatfile to full Relational status using dBase, Foxpro or Paradox database tables.

Just thought you'd like a look

updated June 18 2009 v 0.6b...Custom Database creation/viewing and editing.
ppdb-0.6b.pet
Description  Version 0.6b
pet

 Download 
Filename  ppdb-0.6b.pet 
Filesize  1.41 MB 
Downloaded  765 Time(s) 
ppdb-0.5b.jpg
Description  Screenshot
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ppdb-0.5b.jpg 
Filesize  106.6 KB 
Downloaded  885 Time(s) 

_________________
Dpup Home

Last edited by gposil on Thu 18 Jun 2009, 01:15; edited 10 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 01:43    Post subject: Re: Puppy Personal Database  

gposil wrote:
With prompting from Lobster i'm working on a small personal database app for inclusion in Puppy, which is nearing completion, but I thought you'd like to have a look at a Personal Database where size is not a consideration...

It uses xBase tables and with very little extra can be converted from flatfile to full Relational status using dBase, Foxpro or Paradox database tables.

Just thought you'd like a look

WOW! Now this is something we've needed for a long, long time, Guy! We've had a lash at Tksqlite, portabase and I've even flirted with compiling Glom (a nightmare, believe me)! Most of those who need a database have had to load OOO or K-office to get sbase or kexi! And then you come along with this little gem! What can I say but ... thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! Razz

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5726
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 01:52    Post subject:  

Just installed to my Woof alpha 7 installation.Installed without a hitch.

Looks like a pretty handy app......

Great job!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 17:49    Post subject:    

.
_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*

Last edited by Eyes-Only on Thu 12 Nov 2009, 14:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 18:05    Post subject: Database-Can't Type  

MacpupFoxy 4.2.1: I installed the pet, the blank form comes up, but I can't type anything on it. Am I missing a dependency or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2009, 19:47    Post subject:  

Two answers:

Eyes-Only said
Quote:
Are those perhaps viable ideas that could likely be somehow incorporated into your programme? Just curious of course. -scratches chin-


Already done in update to come out today...keep watching...

davec51 said
Quote:
MacpupFoxy 4.2.1: I installed the pet, the blank form comes up, but I can't type anything on it. Am I missing a dependency or something?


Try using menu choice to create New... database or Open... to view existing. Let me know...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 02:33    Post subject: Update  

See top of thread for latest version...

Changes...
1.) Now has database search facility.
2.) Pack table function...removes deleted records and re-indexes database.
3.) Buttons to email contact or visit their website if applicable.
4.) Print Preview will allow you to save report as PDF or HTML

A comprehensive help file will be included in next version..
NB. When you do a search remember to turn off database filtering when you are finished...In search menu.

The search facility will allow you to not only find single records but all records that match search criteria. eg Find all records in a particular Town or Postcode. The print facility will also obey what filter is set.

Any suggestions...please let me know
.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 04:36    Post subject: Re: Update  

gposil wrote:
2.) Pack table function...removes deleted records and re-indexes database.

Looking good, Guy. Tried on the latest Puppy-4.2.1 and it seems to run fine with one minor exception. I created a new record (ok), edited the record (ok), added an image (ok) then deleted the record (ok). Only problem is that the sample file now shows 3 records, including the deleted one, and pack table is greyed out so I can't compress the file to remove the deleted record.

Hope the feedback helps. This is a most worthwhile project and should find its way into the standard Puppy release IMHO.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 04:48    Post subject:  

Close database and Pack selection will be available in Tools menu... Smile
The help system is nearly finished, it uses dillo as the reader so no extra bloat.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 04:59    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:
Close database and Pack selection will be available in Tools menu... Smile
The help system is nearly finished, it uses dillo as the reader so no extra bloat.

Could it be made to use Gtkmoz? Reason is that 4.2 doesn't include Dillo but does include Gtkmoz as the base html reader. That's what menu>utility>man uses, for example, to display man pages from the web.

Makes sense to have the file closed in order to pack it. I should have recognised that from my years playing with FileMaker Pro (my favourite database of all time bar none)!

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 05:07    Post subject:  

Whodo said

Quote:
Could it be made to use Gtkmoz? Reason is that 4.2 doesn't include Dillo but does include Gtkmoz as the base html reader. That's what menu>utility>man uses, for example, to display man pages from the web.


Certainly...no problem

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1681
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 07:36    Post subject: Re: Puppy Personal Database  

gposil wrote:
With prompting from Lobster i'm working on a small personal database app for inclusion in Puppy

Interesting.....I installed it on ChoicePup and noticed that while I can navigate through the fields with the mouse, I can not enter any data from the keyboard. I am using a usb mouse....it works fine with other applications.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 08:02    Post subject: Re: Puppy Personal Database  

tlchost wrote:
gposil wrote:
With prompting from Lobster i'm working on a small personal database app for inclusion in Puppy

Interesting.....I installed it on ChoicePup and noticed that while I can navigate through the fields with the mouse, I can not enter any data from the keyboard. I am using a usb mouse....it works fine with other applications.

Did you use the sample database? Or did you create your own database file first? I'm using a USB mouse too, with no problem in entering data.

I've been entering data, deleting data etc without problems. That said, I notice the tab order isn't set for the input fields so hitting Tab takes you about 5 fields away and hitting Tab again will bring you back 3 fields (for example).

@gposil - can we have a Save button? I'm not sure "Post" is intuitive for the average user.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 08:09    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:
Whodo said

Quote:
Could it be made to use Gtkmoz? Reason is that 4.2 doesn't include Dillo but does include Gtkmoz as the base html reader. That's what menu>utility>man uses, for example, to display man pages from the web.


Certainly...no problem


maybe use /usr/local/bin/defaulthtmlviewer to make it more universal between puppy versions?

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 08:18    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
maybe use /usr/local/bin/defaulthtmlviewer to make it more universal between puppy versions?

Absolutely. Should have suggested that myself. Thanks, Trapster. Idea

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 8 [109 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]