Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 20:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Weird interaction with XP partition
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 17:12    Post_subject:  Weird interaction with XP partition  

I mainly just use XP for playing with video. Well using free prog called DVDshrink (wish there was a linux version), I made backups of two commercial dvds into iso files. Both good files and a free non-M$ media player for windows that I found can play them directly from these hardrive files. Mounted XP partition with Puppy and burned first file to dvdr. Easy as pie and it played fine. Started burning second iso and suddenly error that Puppy couldnt see the iso file. Well Puppy could no longer even see the XP partition. Neither could Mepis.

This was a new install of XP due to old partition getting corrupted. XP still boots fine. Puppy just cant see it. I hate doing anything in windows if I can help it, but downloaded several different burning software for windows and get coasters each and every time.

Any ideas why suddenly Puppy couldnt see the windows partition? Puppy and Mepis are on a separate hardrive. I much prefer burning cdr and dvdr thru linux. Rarely have a coaster under linux where I have lot coasters burning with windows whatever burning software I use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 18:53    Post_subject:  

Barry noted this in the news section. Version 1.0.2 and the 2.6 series kernel was causing problems. The new version should work fine. He reverted back to the 2.4 series kernel in version 1.0.3.

You may want to look at the news page under the 1.0.3 release to see what the issue was in detail.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2005, 21:51    Post_subject:  

Also, I think the Pmount program will only mount a NTFS partition read-only, but the exception is if it has the pup001 file on it, then it is mounted on /mnt/home read-write, which is a dangerous situation -- in that case, better to stay away from /mnt/home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 02:08    Post_subject:  

I should have been clearer. This is version 1.0.1 with 2.4 kernel so shouldnt have problem corrupting NTFS.
It also is a type 2 hardrive install of puppy so no pup file involved. It no longer sees the NTFS partition. It does see a very old Puppy install also on that hardrive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 08:34    Post_subject:  

Ok, little playing and swapped dvd burner and windows hardrive around on cable. Mepis now can see and mount windowsXP partition. Was even able to burn a dvd of the second movie using K3B. At least no more coasters. Think the various windows burner software were trying to burn at too fast a speed even though if option available I set them to burn at slowest speed possible. They tended to just ignore such a setting and this blank dvd+r media I am using (bargain price) needs to burn at max of 2x. Or maybe they just are not compatible with my dvd+rw burner???? Thankfully I no longer have to even think of burning a dvd under windows.

However Puppy "drive mounter" still cant see anything but itself, floppy drive and "cdrom" drive. Cant even see Mepis which is on same hardrive as Puppy. Puppy "hardware probe" with "partitions" option sees all partitions and hardrives correctly. Something wrong with Puppy's "drive mounter". Guess I should boot from Puppy live cd and see if it can mount all drives. Remember I mounted XP partition with Puppy and burned the first disk just fine, then all of sudden while burning second disk, Puppy couldnt see the windows partition any longer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 09:06    Post_subject:  

You don't happen to have your CD drive connected to the same IDE cable as the hard drive do you? Many people will tell you that hard drives can happily co-exist with CD drives on the same IDE cable, but in the real world it's problematic, especially when burning CDR's.
Connect your hard drives to primary IDE, optical drive(s) to secondary IDE, with burner as the Master device.
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 10:00    Post_subject:  

I now have Puppy/Mepis hardrive as primary master. Windows as secondary master and dvdrw as secondary slave. It works as I posted above.


As to Puppy's problem seeing and mounting windows partition. I booted from live PUPPY cd and it can see and mount windows partition. So something corrupted in the hardrive install of puppy.
Back to top
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 11:20    Post_subject:  

Replaced /usr/sbin/pmount in hardrive version with same file from live cd. No change. Hardrive version still cant see any partitions except itself, floppy, and cdrom.

Does puppy drive mounter use some file other than pmount? On live cd version when I clicked on /usr/sbin/pmount, up popped the 'puppy drive mounter' window with all partitions showing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 13:01    Post_subject:  

XP can decide your optical drive is not working with dma and switch to pio (uses the cpu to transfer data to the dvd drive ... much slower)

i think you look in control panel, system, device manager ... look to see what mode the ide's are using

the way to get it to use dma again is to uninstall the ide driver and let it reinstall the driver again

this happened to me once ... sp2 may (or may not) have fixed it ... i don't run sp2 (or sp1), it screws up my sound

pmount uses probepart, probedisk, and modprobe, and other programs

what do you get when you type probepart and probedisk in rxvt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 15:32    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:


what do you get when you type probepart and probedisk in rxvt?


Probepart lists all partitions on both hardrives. Probedisk lists the two hardrives and the "cdrom".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 15:33    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:


what do you get when you type probepart and probedisk in rxvt?


Probepart lists all partitions on both hardrives. Probedisk lists the two hardrives and the "cdrom".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0622s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]