Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 14:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Personal Database
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 09:02    Post_subject: Re: Puppy Personal Database  

WhoDo wrote:

Did you use the sample database? Or did you create your own database file first? I'm using a USB mouse too, with no problem in entering data.


Dummy me....I had not selected either database....so it might be good for braindead folks like me to have selections greyed out until a database has been selected.

I used to be a beta tester for Ashton-Tate(now you can guess my age)....and learned a lot about databases.

This app is great, since it uses the dbf format...the data is portable. Now, the next step in my mind would be being able to modify the fields(number and names) and modify the screen layout.

The fact that you can specify the location of the database file is a real plus....I use a bootable USB drive....so I try to save as much as I can outside the puppysave file.

Once the application is finalized...it would be nice to have it as an sfs file.

It's really nice to see an application that works and is practical!

For consideration:
I remember some applications that Ashton-Tate developers created to allow you to paint a screen and the application would not only create the database fields...but also create the code. I still have one of them and use it for quick database creation.

Thom

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 09:08    Post_subject:  

1.)The defaulthtmlviewer will be set..yes
2.)Tab order fixed..yes
3.) Form painter on the cards...I used to use dBaseIII ...I remember(shows my age)
4.)Selections grayed till database opens...done

I should have these changes(excluding form painter) done by tomorrow as well as help file...

Keep those suggestions rolling in.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 09:41    Post_subject: Can't Type in Form -- SOLVED!
Sub_title: Make new file
 

My problem was solved by making a new file. Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 16:07    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:

3.) Form painter on the cards...I used to use dBaseIII ...I remember(shows my age)


We can start the Puppy for Ancient Ones thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 19:15    Post_subject: Version 0.3a  

Latest version 0.3a at top of thread...

Changes:
1.) Help file opens in default system viewer
2.) Input fields active only when new or existing database are opened
3.) Substituted Save for Post
4.) Tab order now correct.

Keep those suggestions coming...if anyone wants to help with help file or translations, let me know

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 20:33    Post_subject:  

Smile
coming along well . . .

Maybe right clicking on field name and table heading allows the option to delete and change field name (undo might be useful too)

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 23:37    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:

3.) Form painter on the cards...I used to use dBaseIII


I tried opening the dbf file in dbaseIII - says it's not a validdbase file...Foxpro sorta likes it, but not quite....

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2009, 23:50    Post_subject:  

The default dbf format is Visual dBaseVII but next version will have the ability to choose your format as either dBaseIII+, dBaseIV, Visual dBaseVII or Foxpro.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 00:00    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
The default dbf format is Visual dBaseVII but next version will have the ability to choose your format as either dBaseIII+, dBaseIV, Visual dBaseVII or Foxpro.


Thanks so much.

Does it "auto remember" the path to the most recently used file, or do we need to tell it to use that? Would it be possible to specify the default path?

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 00:07    Post_subject:  

The default path is set as the install directory, but we can add a change default path in options menu which is in next version.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 00:28    Post_subject: Just a question  

Do we want this to grow into a full blown free form database creator/editor or should the RDBMS be a separate project.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 01:25    Post_subject:  

RDBMS = Relational database management system
(had to look it up)

More interested in the smaller version of the Database
Will it be as good as this one? Hope so Smile

My instinct is to stick with simplicity (Puppy Powered after all . . .)
but I have only used one relational database extensively (Access)
I found it extraordinary how easy it was to mess
and mash data when confronted by that bug that no developer can
seem to get rid of (the end user)

Be interesting how others advise you.
I know those needing a database are very pleased with your contribution, as I am. Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 10:31    Post_subject: Version 0.4a  

Latest version 0.4a posted at top of thread.

Changes

1.) Export open database to a number of formats including Excel/OO/Gnumeric csv file, Latex, M$ rtf (yes Abiword will read it), XML and SQL.
2.) Working online update in Help menu.

Remember if you want PDF or HTML output you can do that at the Print Preview Screen...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 15:34    Post_subject: Re: Just a question  

gposil wrote:
Do we want this to grow into a full blown free form database creator/editor or should the RDBMS be a separate project.


I think you need both versions....for many, the simple one you have will fit the bill. There are others, like myself, that would really appreciate and use an RDBMS,

You might consider making the RDBMS an sfs file, so as not to bloat.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 22:30    Post_subject:  

tlchost said

Quote:
You might consider making the RDBMS an sfs file, so as not to bloat.


Why didn't I think of that...the RDBMS will be a separate app and I will sfs it. That should make everyone happy, and for those that have hdd install they can convert sfs to pet and install...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0773s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]