Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 03:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.2 "Deep Thought" - Bugs & Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 19 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 13:19    Post_subject:  

This has me puzzled too. I have tried all 4x versions of Puppy with 1.5 and 1.6 versions of Java, and all currently available CUPS versions with OO2.4 and OO3 sfs, all no problem. What else do you have installed?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vito

Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 13:57    Post_subject: sound
Sub_title: not working
 

Hello all:

Downloaded latest version of deeper thought x2 with bug fixes. The sound does not work on my IBM laptop T22 - sound = cs46xx . The sound does not play however. I think that it may be a kernel loading problem. I as there is sone error that flashes on the screen during alsa config saying that something cs46xx is in use by something else/

I load TMX shard from the CD and the sound works from the boot with no configuration. This is why I'm thinking that it may be a kernel issue.

Thx All,
Vito
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vito

Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 14:17    Post_subject: sound
Sub_title: sound fixed
 

Hello All Again:

I fixed the sound by copying the modules folder, modprobe.conf and the modules.conf files to overwrite the deeper thought equivalents, and rebooted; now there is sound again in puppy.

So I guess this is not a kernel problem as I had first thought, but some failure to config on boot and in subsequesnt tries by alsaconf

Thx,
Vito
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mafae

Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 06:21    Post_subject: java kills CUPS printing in 4.2  

Quote:
Try to manually restart CUPS with the command
Code:
Code:
/etc/init.d/cups start


Are you accessing CUPS through Menu > System > Manage Printing?


Tnx for the hint! Restarting CUPS manually works. Also I meanwhile experimented a bit, and the effect became more clear:

- Started with new blank 4.2 installation (frugal): CUPS works fine
- Installed "jre1.6.0_11.pet":
- CUPS was killed immediately after JRE-pet installation finished.
- Manual re-start works.
- After installation of JRE, CUPS-script does not start automatically anymore.

Cheers,
Mafae
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Mafae, try this installer, yours sounds faulty. Either the.pup I posted or the later one from Ttuuxxx. If you use the one from Ttuuxxx, just download the tar.gz, extract it and run the installer. This has been 100% for me............http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41098
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jebaJQ8


Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Okinawa, Japan

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 13:07    Post_subject:  

@WhoDo:
Thank you for including the JQ8flat icon theme in 4.2.1.

I don't know this should say a bug.
I notice that "mount" icon is not included in the JQ8flat theme.

I made the "mount" icon for the Desktop and also made the "refresh" icon for the menu panel.
If you could, I would like you to include these icons.

Regards,

JebaJQ8
drives48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   591 Bytes
 Viewed   2101 Time(s)

drives48.png

refresh24.png
 Description   
 Filesize   233 Bytes
 Viewed   2138 Time(s)

refresh24.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 17:31    Post_subject:  

jebaJQ8 wrote:
I made the "mount" icon for the Desktop and also made the "refresh" icon for the menu panel.
If you could, I would like you to include these icons.

I'm happy to do that, JebaJQ8. Thank you for the excellent theme! Cool

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3469
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 18:56    Post_subject:  

WhoDo:

m4a Media files work out of the box in RC3.
I PMed coolpup and you as well.

Thanks mate, gonna find something else to whinge about now.
Remind myself....must avoid looking into my mirror.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mafae

Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 00:45    Post_subject: Java kills CUPS  

Hi,
after some further testing, the CUPS-problem became more clear:
It has nothing to do with Java or Openoffice, it is a matter of how CUPS is accessed:

Menu>Setup>CUPS Printer Wizard
Works fine and reliable.

Menu>System>Manage Printing
Kills CUPS nearly always!
After manual restart of CUPS
Code:
../etc/init.d/cups start
it works fine again.

So it seems rcrsn51 was on the right way, when he asked
Quote:
Are you accessing CUPS through Menu > System > Manage Printing?
[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:53    Post_subject:  

Because I have never bothered to download Puppy 4.2, I only learned about this problem with Broadcom wifi devices recently:
trio wrote:
In 4.2 Final..bcm43xx is still being a problem...for those of you who wants a workaround..just edit /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG

Dear oh dear. It seems that the developers of 4.2 included many, if not all, of the extra 4.1.x drivers I posted here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=34159

This is a major error. If I had been told about this before the decision was made, I would have advised against it.
Quite a number of the extra drivers I provided are alternative drivers, to deal with specialised hardware variations or special situations. They will compete with the standard kernel drivers, so my driver packages include a modules-preference configuration (/etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG) which will force Puppy to use the new driver in preference to the standard one.
This will cause problems where the old driver is known to work better than the new one ... as in the case of Broadcom wifi devices in anything other than Dell or HP computers.

trio wrote:
In 4.2 Final..bcm43xx is still being a problem...for those of you who wants a workaround..just edit /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG (line 33) delete the red word

PREFLIST=' rt2500usb:rt73usb ath5k:ath_pci orinoco_nortel:hostap_plx orinoco_plx:hostap_plx orinoco_tmd:hostap_plx orinoco_pci:hostap_pci bcm43xx:wl b43:wl b43legacy:wl ssb:wl prism54:p54pci r8169:r8101 rtl8187:r8187 '

Unfortunately, that's only half-correct. As well:
"b43:wl" and "b43legacy:wl" should be deleted.
"bcm43xx:wl" should be changed to "bcm43xx:ssb"

That's because the new Broadcom b43/b43legacy modules, which work in conjunction with the ssb module, should be used in preference to the deprecated bcm43xx module. The firmware in Puppy is compatible with b43/b43legacy, and is NOT compatible with bcm43xx.

The full and correct PREFLIST entry (from Puppy 4.1.2) is
Code:
PREFLIST=' rt2500usb:rt73usb ath5k:ath_pci orinoco_nortel:hostap_plx orinoco_plx:hostap_plx orinoco_tmd:hostap_plx orinoco_pci:hostap_pci martian_dev:ltserial bcm43xx:ssb prism54:p54pci r8169:r8101 '

Unfortunately (groan) there are also reports that Puppy 4.2 fails to automatically uncompress the b43 firmware, but hopefully this may be fixed once the preferences are corrected.

I now attach the correct MODULESCONFIG with PREFLIST entries. This is to replace trio's "No_bcm43xx_patch.pet", which is wrong.
Please use this in the next 4.2 update.
broadcom-preflist-fix.pet
Description  for Puppy 4.2 only
pet

 Download 
Filename  broadcom-preflist-fix.pet 
Filesize  1.45 KB 
Downloaded  637 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 13:05    Post_subject:  

Thanks for this T. Works flawlessly...............
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 15:32    Post_subject:  

mafae wrote:
Menu>System>Manage Printing
Kills CUPS nearly always!


This has been fixed in 4.2.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mafae

Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 21 May 2009, 03:31    Post_subject:  

Many thanks rcrsn51. Looking forward to 4.2.1!

Martin
(Default system Puppy 4.1.2 on Thinkpad R50)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 May 2009, 17:34    Post_subject: Re: A Bug  

floborg wrote:
In the lower left-hand corner of the desktop, the drive icons are clustered on top of one another. In the lower right-hand corner, the Lock and Trash icons are clustered on top of one another.

The above happened using an 800x600 resolution, but did not occur in Puppy 4.1.2.


In updated 4.21 again the same problem.

Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 01:07    Post_subject: Re: A Bug  

mave wrote:
floborg wrote:
In the lower left-hand corner of the desktop, the drive icons are clustered on top of one another. In the lower right-hand corner, the Lock and Trash icons are clustered on top of one another.

The above happened using an 800x600 resolution, but did not occur in Puppy 4.1.2.


In updated 4.21 again the same problem.

Any help?


I can verify this bug. Again, it does not occur in Barry's latest puppy release (upup).

Also, with an 800x600 resolution and switching to IceWM, the GB or G (can't tell) in the freememapplet is cut off.

Should we report this stuff in separate threads? I get the feeling that single bug reports in long threads like this get overlooked. Of course, the same is probably true of individual threads - depends on who reviews them.

_________________
Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick
Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz | 2 GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0966s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]