Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 07 Dec 2019, 00:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to do a FULL install of Puppy, to an empty HDD (2010)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 17 [242 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 12:46    Post subject:  

Hello scoundrel

scoundrel wrote:

not a problem catdude.. . as far as what and how.. I followed your instructions to the letter.. except for the ext2 ..I used ext3 .....

I use ext3 for all of my partitions, both full and frugal installs
and i have never had any problems of any kind.

scoundrel wrote:

this morning I didn't quit reinstalling till it showed a boot screen on reboot .. tried all kinds of changes to your tut .. then finally it showed the boot screen.. happy camper as of now.. Surprised


So you can't recall what you did that finally got it to work ?

At least you have got it working.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scoundrel

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 14:22    Post subject:  

well..... one thing that struck me as strange .. was that this morning the hard drive partitions were sda instead of hda .??

with only one hard drive and it set as master.. this shouldn't be so.. + my friend is not that happy with it, puppy 4.1.2 is not playing his radio station and he wants a bit more out of it.. so I guess I'll be getting it back tomorrow ... think I'll try MM08 on it and see if it will run it right.. the specs on his lappy being quite dismal ..

_________________
Scoundrel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 15:15    Post subject:  

Hello scoundrel

scoundrel wrote:

well..... one thing that struck me as strange .. was that this morning the hard drive partitions were sda instead of hda .??

with only one hard drive and it set as master.. this shouldn't be so..

Not so,
i take it you are using a Puppy with the latest kernel (k2.6.25.16) which would make your partitions sda1, sda2 etc
If you were using a retro version (k2.6.21.7) then your partitions would be hda1, hda2 etc

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scoundrel

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 18:08    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Hello scoundrel

scoundrel wrote:

well..... one thing that struck me as strange .. was that this morning the hard drive partitions were sda instead of hda .??

with only one hard drive and it set as master.. this shouldn't be so..

Not so,
i take it you are using a Puppy with the latest kernel (k2.6.25.16) which would make your partitions sda1, sda2 etc
If you were using a retro version (k2.6.21.7) then your partitions would be hda1, hda2 etc

CatDude
.


that would explain it Wink

_________________
Scoundrel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 23:03    Post subject:  full install successful!!!!
Subject description: full puppy install!
 

Wow! I cannot believe it! I had my new laptop on one side with your flash program and my old laptop on my right side. I progressed window by window until I was done! Thanks so much, I have been trying for days!
Not trying to advance more quickly than the flash showed me was the trick! My old one is slower and I kept thinking something was wrong, because it produced the new screens much slower! Thanks for taking the time to do this. It should be required reading and viewing for all the new people. By the way, did I say thanks!!!!! Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 10:42    Post subject:  

Hello zippytex

Glad to hear of your success following this howto,
it seems like some folks succeed at the first attempt, while others do not.

Anyway, congratulations and welcome to the kennels.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paule

Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 13:56    Post subject:  Problem formatting a swap partition  

I am doing a full install, and am using gparted, but after I create the main partition as hda1 and the swap as hda2, after I apply the processes, the main partition is fine, but the swap formatting does not seem to stick. After the process is complete, the warning triangle comes on for that partition, and it indicates "file system unknown"

I have tried deleting the swap partition and reassigning it and reformatting it, but still no joy. What am I doing wrong???

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

cheers, Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1573
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 14:55    Post subject:  

Hello paul

Have you tried booting from the Puppy-LiveCD using "puppy pfix=ram" (without the quotes) at the 5 second pause
then use GParted to create and format your partitions ?

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paule

Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 16:02    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Hello paul

Have you tried booting from the Puppy-LiveCD using "puppy pfix=ram" (without the quotes) at the 5 second pause
then use GParted to create and format your partitions ?

CatDude
.


Hi CatDude,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I have tried that, and it didn't work. In the mean time, I think I found out what the problem is. I had put a new 160gig drive in my CF-28, but looking at the bios, it looks like it only recognizes 137gig.
Looks like I will have to start over and put the swap partition at the beginning of the drive and let the main partition occupy the remainder of the disk... Unless I can find a bios fix that will allow the recognition of larger drives.

Thanks again for the reply, and the howto is great...

cheers, Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paule

Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 18:16    Post subject:  

Just a follow up. It turns out that the problem is the 137gig limit on the CF-28 bios. I ended up shrinking the primary partition down to 130gig and put a 5gig swap partition at the end of that which left about 12 gig at the end. I now have a working swap partition so my immediate problem is solved. Now just to figure out if there is a good way to use the last 12 gig.

Thanks again for the help.

cheers, Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrreality13

Joined: 03 Oct 2008
Posts: 95
Location: arlington texas

PostPosted: Sat 14 Mar 2009, 04:18    Post subject:  

just wanted to say thanks for this post catdude Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2065
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 07:05    Post subject:  

GParted tutorial
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kenny-M


Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 147
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 07:40    Post subject:  

Has anyone written a procedure to put Puppy on a non-system hard drive?

I have a PC with internel SATA drive and External USB 320GB drive.

The SATA drive is full of Windows stuff and would like to install Puppy to the External USB Hard Drive so at boot time by selecting the USB device at boot time Puppy should start.

I have tried various method but have bee unable to get it to work.

Any detailed steps would be apprecoated.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2811
Location: South Australia :-(

PostPosted: Mon 18 May 2009, 17:36    Post subject:  

Enter your BIOS setup and change your boot up sequence. Make the USB drive boot before your internal drive. If you unplug your USB drive then it will boot off your internal drive.

I have my sequence set to:

USB
CD
HDD

If I pug in a USB HDD or Flash drive it will boot from it before my CD/DVD or HDD.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Kenny-M


Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 147
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 08:46    Post subject:  

smokey01,

Thank you for that. I was looking more for what gets loaded on the USB harddrive and in what sequence. Like partition drive (1 or more partitions) (boot, puppy, swap, tmp, user, etc), setup boot partition, transfer puppy, run Grub, Edit Grub's config file to point to /dev/hdb1, and so on. ?? If I were to plug in a second USB drive first would the one with puppy on it /dev/hdb become /dev/hdc? These are the areas where I am having problems.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 17 [242 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0510s) ][ GZIP on ]