Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 19:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Old Toshiba laptop; would Xorg help me?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:05    Post subject:  Old Toshiba laptop; would Xorg help me?  

Hello
i have an old toshiba laptop, and i've never been able to run puppy into it due to problem with Xvesa, ubuntu runs fine on it, with 800x600 video and vesa driver..
so i tought the new xorg driver would help me..
but it didn't..
xvesa gets locked always at "starting X with video mode 0x0111 and mouse psaux"
xorg instead gives me a black screen with a blinking cursor..
i gave a look at xorg.conf and saw he sees a trident chipset, i tried many times to edit by hand it, putting vesa, but it simply doesn't start..
in ubuntu the fastest way to run it was "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg" which asked me a few question and let me change what i wanted..
now i don't know how to do..
does anyone have an idea about how to fix this problem and finally run puppy?
i have just 4Gb hdd and i can't spend 3 of them for ubuntu!

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:08    Post subject:  

You could try to use the full xorg.conf from Ubuntu.
Also try to look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:12    Post subject:  

and how can i do that?
i've no clue how to take it out from ubuntu into pup...
pop001 is a bit file i can't just open it like an archive and copy xserver.xorg into it..
oh how can i look into xorg.log? i've to delete pup001 and make a new one with xorg in order to reach busybox...since xvesa is completely locked..

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:19    Post subject:  

I think you can mount the ubuntu-drives.
Type
probepart
to see the partitions.

Then:
mkdir /mnt/hda1
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1

if ubuntu is on hda1.

Then
mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf-my-backup
cp /mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf
xwin


To see the log:
mp /var/log/Xorg.0.log

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:30    Post subject:  

on Xorg.log i get a few parse error (line101)
and a fatal error:
no screens found.

now i try xorg.conf from ubuntu..
thanks

update:
i am able to mount only Boot partition
i will copy xorg.conf on it from ubuntu then pick from puppy...
seems the only way..

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:37    Post subject:  

then i I had to see your xorg.conf and the full(!) logfile to find the error.
But try the ubuntu if possible.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:44    Post subject:  

Puppy also has "xorgconfig", which is another setup script.
If you can boot to the commandline, type:
# xorgconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:53    Post subject:  

i tried ubuntu one and got a few errors also...
xf86Openserial :cannot open /dev/input/mice no such device
configured mouse: cannot open input device
preinit failed for imput device "configured mouse"
no input driver matching "synaptics"
no core pointer registered
couldn't load XKB keymap, falling back to preXKB keymap
no core pointer

fatal server error:
failed to initialize core devices

and again to busybox...

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:56    Post subject:  

ok, so try xorgconfig as Barry suggested, or take the input-device-lines from the backuped xorg.conf.

That works quite well with the "mp"-editor.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 06:58    Post subject:  

Thanks MU and barry!!!!
i am on puppy now
xorgconfig did the trick..as well as copying the file from ubuntu!
i reboot and see if retains the settings now..
what about WIFI does it work on puppy?

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 07:05    Post subject:  

great Smile

I have no wifi, so no idea, but there are many threads about that in the forum.
It works,but you must search for details.

Mark (going2bednow)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 10:30    Post subject:  

every time i reboot now goes to busybox, with an error msg..
then i type xwin and x starts normally..
how can i override this?

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kethd

Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 451
Location: Boston MA USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 18:06    Post subject:  

I feel like this thread is quite important, but confusing!

Nevermore, please write up what you have learned so far, in a form that would be as helpful as possible to someone else with problems like you had. Please post here, and maybe as a HOWTO Forum post. And maybe in the wiki, too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jan 2006, 18:22    Post subject:  

Ok
this is the way i made everything work, i completely deleted pup001 and started from scratch.

first of all xorg must be selected, as xvesa doesn't support my hardware.
then i let it autoprobe and get hang.
i ctrl-alt-del reboot and get to busybox
at busybox i do: xorgconfig
and is important to choose VESA as chipset, 2048kb of video mem
and monitor is 800x600@56hz with vertical rate 50-70
; edit all the video mode to 800x600 with no bigger than visible screen.

doing this xorg works fine, and i don't get the error window anymore!
using xorg.conf from ubuntu works also, but every time i have to start x manually by xwin, since i get busybox instead of x.

i copy user.cramsf to hda1 and now is a swift to boot puppy.

ONE THING i couldn't find is this:
where is the battery monitor????
i can't do w/o it on a laptop Very Happy

and also, installing dillo from pupget isn't a good idea, leaves a N icon in the menu and doesn't work, uninstall it, and install from doptup gives a working patched dillo, but damn the N icon is still there...
also, linneightborhood doesn't work properly, doesn't retain the ip of the machines i give, doesn't even save the userid-password for samba windows access....
cheope net browser doesn't discover win machines..
a stuff like wifiradar would be really nice, a wifi autoconfigurating device, for surfing in airports and so on..
that's all.
it works GREAT and fast!only every time i reboot i get that pup001 was not cleanly umounted so check forced...strange no?
my pup is 768Mb now since i installed quite a bunch of stuffs..
AMULE is needed!!!! as well as thunderbird!

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0714s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]