Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 06:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Amarok 1.4.10 - Powerfull music player SFS
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [95 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2009, 04:05    Post subject:  

Really? I have only mp3's, I'll have to get some of those and test it.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gerryggg


Joined: 11 Jan 2009
Posts: 36
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2009, 08:35    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
This is very nice; I am glad to see it available for Puppy. It seems not to play my flac and ogg files though.


I can't vouch for the flac files but I just drag and drop ogg files and they play fine on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2009, 15:03    Post subject: nice  

this is real, real nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2009, 16:16    Post subject:  

Very Happy Rediscover your music with Amarok! Now on Puppy Linux too!

Thanks for testing ppl, still haven't tried that flac files, I'm glad you enjoy!

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2009, 16:31    Post subject:  

playdayz, just tried playing flac file, it works, can you check if you have libflac installed?
It should be in /usr/lib/libFLAC.so.xxx
Which puppy version do you use?

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2009, 13:59    Post subject:  

gerryggg & dejan55, thanks for testing. The problem is with me. I am using NewYearsPup which works great for me in most circumstances but it does not seem to have libxine and possibly others; so I will have to do some configuration to take advantage of Amarok--I'll let you know if I get it working right. thanks again for preparing it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2009, 16:48    Post subject:  

Ah it must be missing libraries then, try installing libogg and flac:
libogg-1.1.3.pet
flac-1.2.1.pet

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
thoase

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 109
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 03:24    Post subject:  

I just downloaded the Amarok_410.sfs-file. Placed it where my other sfs-file are, OpenOffice and K3b!

But when I go to the Bootmanager and choose which sfs-files that will be loaded at startup, I can't see the Amarok-file! Why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 04:11    Post subject:  

thoase, try renaming it to match your puppy version, e.g. Amarok_420.sfs if you use puppy 4.2. I don't really use sfs's much so maybe someone else will know different solution.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
thoase

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 109
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2009, 10:05    Post subject:  

dejan555, it worked! I just renamed the amarok-file! Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 536

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 05:04    Post subject: Amarok won't start
Subject description: "amarokapp binary is not in your PATH"
 

I have Amarok not working for another reason. When I click on the SFS

and then open

/mnt/+mnt+sdc1+Rene+Software+PuppyLinux+SFS+amarok_410.sfs/usr/bin/amarok

I get this msg:

Amarok could not be started!
This may be because the amarokapp binary is not in your PATH
Try locating and running amarokapp from a terminal

...but when I do run the app from the terminal the same msg comes up.

What can I do to make it run now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2009, 05:29    Post subject:  

Dromeno, you can't just mount SFS, if you have frugal install copy SFS to /mnt/home then reboot and it should be loaded, also rename it to match your puppy version (if you use puppy4.2 rename to amarok_420.sfs), if you have full hd install, you'll have to copy files from sfs to your system. Post your puppy version and installation type, then we'll see...
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 536

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 04:24    Post subject: Still not in y path after renaming  

I am using the acer-puppy-410-27.iso, I created a bootable thumbbdrive (Corsair Nano 4GB) with the Windows version of Unetbootin.

I put the Amarok.sfs in the root of the thumbdrive, renamed it to Amarok_410.sfs

then booted from the thumbdrive. MSI machine, AsusEEE machine, Belinea machine.

All produce the same error msg - Amarok not in my PATH.


so what should the next step be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 04:42    Post subject:  

OK, but you don't click on SFS to mount it, put it in /mnt/home and then after reboot just type amarok in terminal, do not go to /mnt/whatever to run it
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 536

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 10:41    Post subject: One step further
Subject description: but no playing Amarok yet
 

OK, I am one step further. Amarok does try to start now but I get a whole lot of error msgs (see attached screenshot).
AMAROK_msg.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  AMAROK_msg.jpg 
Filesize  150.54 KB 
Downloaded  611 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [95 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]