Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Opera 10 Turbo browser (b4394 / static Qt 4.2.2)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 19:06    Post_subject:  Opera 10 Turbo browser (b4394 / static Qt 4.2.2)
Sub_title: Now even faster than before :)
 

=== Opera 10 - latest TURBO build ===
[May 28, 2009]

Extra stuff included in this package: Opera Classic skin, the latest Adblock filters and a working desktop shortcut* Smile

What's new in this build:
------------------------------
- Static Qt 4.2.2 build
- Even faster page rendering
- Better web page compatibility
- No more page tearing
- All Qt bugs squashed
- Improved Turbo mode
- Brand new skin
- Updated Adblock filter** [30 Apr 2009]
- Much smaller package

* To create a desktop shortcut, just open the ROX filer, browse to /root/opera/ and drag the 'startopera' script to the desktop. Then set an icon (use the 48px icon [opera.png] from /root/opera/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/).

** To enable the Adblock filter, just copy the urlfilter.ini file from /root/opera/usr/share/opera/defaults/ to /root/opera/profile/ and (re)start Opera.

DOWNLOAD:
http://stashbox.org/527487/opera_10_turbo_b4394_static.pet
(Stripped package - only 9.24 MiB)

and enjoy Very Happy

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 21:42    Post_subject:  

NOTE:
This is a static build of Opera (the Qt libs are integrated into the binary)

You can use this package without the Qt libs, but you won't get the pretty menus and the automatic opening of submenus on mouseover.

To enable the additional (cosmetic) features, you must install the full Qt4 package and run qtconfig to select a theme.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 00:50    Post_subject:  

Unbelievable! The tearing is gone (finally) !
This is the first Qt 4.x build of Opera that's actually usable for browsing !

Now I can zoom a page and scroll it really fast without graphics corruption,just like in SeaMonkey Smile

With this build,I can finally dump SeaMonkey 2.0 Pre-beta and use Opera Turbo.
Congratulations,Opera Team. You've done an amazing job with this build.

Opera > * Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 01:56    Post_subject:  

downloading now. will give this a try and maybe I can archive my frequently crashing firefox 3.03 with adobe flash10.pet
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 02:59    Post_subject:  

hmmm..
=== Opera 10 - latest TURBO build === .pet has as default flashplayer9.

flashplayer10.pet is at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41778

will use 9 for a while to see if it crashes before upgrading.

edit: frozen approximately 30 second after posting this when logging into a website that uses flashplayer as the login interface. cashed the GPRS modems connection similtaneously. needed a hard restart.
after restart got past the login with GPRS connection intact. seems like same random crashing as in firefox.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 06:29    Post_subject: Conundrum  

Here's a conundrum ....

I ran the webstandards browser test over my installed browsers...the results were a little strange..

Rendering...Speed
1.) IE6 under Wine
2.) Firefox 3.0.9
3.) SeaMonkey 2 Alpha
3.) Opera 10 Turbo
4.) SeaMonkey 1.15
5.) Chrome Alpha
6.) Firefox 2.0

This is rather amusing as the time difference between 1 and 6 was 108ms. Not something you would worry about IMHO

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 11:13    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Opera 10 - latest TURBO build .pet has as default flashplayer9. It freezes on this Flash site


Use the Flash 10 package by synth:
http://stashbox.org/442718/flashplayer-10.0.22.87.pet

(don't use the old Flash 9 with Opera 10)

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 11:16    Post_subject: Re: Conundrum  

gposil wrote:
Here's a conundrum ....

I ran the webstandards browser test over my installed browsers...the results were a little strange..

Rendering...Speed
1.) IE6 under Wine
2.) Firefox 3.0.9
3.) SeaMonkey 2 Alpha
3.) Opera 10 Turbo
4.) SeaMonkey 1.15
5.) Chrome Alpha
6.) Firefox 2.0

This is rather amusing as the time difference between 1 and 6 was 108ms. Not something you would worry about IMHO


Javascript tests are useless. Compare the CPU load, memory usage, HTML rendering speed and performance with zoomed text/images for example - Opera eats them for lunch Smile
The only area where Firefox / SeaMonkey is better is Flash performance.

Note: This build of Opera 10 Turbo is still an Alpha. More optimisations and improvements are yet to come Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 12:02    Post_subject:  

Yes I thought as much ....tried html rendering speed test and the results were only slightly different:

1.) IE6 Wine
2.) Chrome Alpha
3.) Firefox 3.0.9
4.) Opera 10 Turbo
5.) SeaMonkey 1.15
6.) Firefox 2.0

Again, though the difference was between 174ms and 289ms so not great

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 14:54    Post_subject: Plugins not detected.  

I am using your Opera build in PizzaPup 3.00. Runs great except it will not detect your Flash 10. I installed it in /root/opera/usr/lib/opera/plugins/libflashplayer.so. When I use menu item tools/advanced/plugins it says "none found". I've installed Flash before in other Puppy flavors but this one has me stumped. What's the correct procedure to enable Flash detection?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 22:15    Post_subject:  

panzerpuppy wrote:
Quote:
Opera 10 - latest TURBO build .pet has as default flashplayer9. It freezes on this Flash site


Use the Flash 10 package by synth:
http://stashbox.org/442718/flashplayer-10.0.22.87.pet

(don't use the old Flash 9 with Opera 10)


the http://puppylinux.asia/members/choicepup/flashplayer10_070208.pet from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41778 worked and installed "You have version 10,0,0,525 installed"

http://stashbox.org/442718/flashplayer-10.0.22.87.pet failed when I tried to install it before I tried version 10,0,0,525 just above.

however on search the only place I can find libflashplayer.so is in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins folder.

downloaded the newest tar.gz from adobe and unzipped .put the libflashplayer.so (10.0.22.87) into the mozilla/plugins folder and then restarted and opened opera and it failed same as before. copied the old 10,0,0,525 back into the mozila/plugis folder and opera then worked. seems a problem with newer 10's. and also that opera is using mozilla plugins.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 00:39    Post_subject:  

Has anyone reported on the Turbo feature? Especially on a slow machine for which it says it is intended. It is in the lower left corner of the Opera window and can be activated or deactivated. I tried it on my fast machine and it said it compressed data by a factor of 2x. Some of the graphics were definitely lower res (as it said they would be). Also, Turbo acts like Flashblock and does not load flash objects and maybe some other things unless you click on a giant arrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Unhban

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Southport, W.Lancs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 05:52    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Especially on a slow machine for which it says it is intended.

I thought Turbo was intended for a slow net link e.g. 56k, not necessarily a slow machine?

Unh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 12:28    Post_subject:  

Especially on a slow machine for which it says it is intended.

Yes, I was lazy with my sentence. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Unhban

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Southport, W.Lancs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 18:34    Post_subject:  

No problem. Yes, it'd be interesting to see how the Turbo decompression works out on a slow machine even if you have a broadband line.....

Unh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0814s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]