Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 00:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Psync Time Synchroniser Version 2.9 & 2.7-64bit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 09:21    Post subject:  

Beware, it's very easy to be hooked on 'time' Very Happy

It's a fascinating subject for something so intangible.

Will be posting sometime today (if I finish it) a version with choice of NIST and NTP servers to set the time.

Rob

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11050
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 09:58    Post subject:  

Rob,

If you are going to do an update would you mind changing
the text in one field?

From Time Zone to TZ Variable

The reason why is Puppy Time Zone as displayed is likely
never true, but displaying the TZ variable is always true
even though it doesn't reflect a time zone the user lives
in.

For example - I live in PDT

The system is true at PDT and the UTC internet offset is true at UTC -0700

There is however no time zone PDT+7 anywhere in the
world. Although there is a TZ variable with that data.

Even if Puppy users use the Etc/GMT files, it still won't
display the true time zone for the user.

See attached photo

Bruce
tz_variable.png
 Description   
 Filesize   19.93 KB
 Viewed   1393 Time(s)

tz_variable.png


_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 10:04    Post subject:  

I got it I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 10:47    Post subject:  

OK, update posted.

Bruce, I've changed TZ as requested.


Please note all.

The NTP button uses a seperate program called ntpdate. This checks a number of servers (as set by me) and averages the time error before setting your 'time'.
This makes for more accurate time setting but it will take slightly longer to execute.

At the moment it checks 2. Both at NPL in the UK.



This app is now growing which is something I didn't want to do, hence I've left the original 0.1 version on thread.

It will grow more if I use a list choice for the servers. we'll see. Cool

Rob

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 10:50    Post subject:  

Bruce,

Something struck a chord just now.

I remember that Puppy treats timezone offset differently. It uses reverse notation Confused

This won't affect users but it will cause bemusement.

Hence your 'TZ variable'

Wonder if anyone else will notice?

Rob

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 11:07    Post subject:  

Dear Rob,

It's small, useful, and works.. Laughing

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 11:21    Post subject:  

Hi trio,

Glad you like it.

Hope all is well.

Rob

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 11:42    Post subject:  

Uninstalled timesynchro_0.1 and installed Psync_0.2 and rebooted.

Won't run from the entry on the BoxPup menu, but will run using the psync command in the terminal.

Appears to work OK, except...
See the below screenshot of reported error.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.88 KB
 Viewed   1363 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 12:49    Post subject:  

Hmm, line 61 is the Statement function for reading the Gui.

I've tested it here and it's OK. Ran it from cli and it reported as ok.

Do you have two menu entries? I have noticed that the pet install/uninstall sometimes leaves two entries.

Check /usr/share/applications there should only be one entry as Psync_0.2.desktop, no entries for timesynchro. If there is, just delete them.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 15:29    Post subject:  

"Do you have two menu entries?"
Yes indeed I do.
Didn't notice that before you mentioned it.

Removed the old entry and all is now well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 03:18    Post subject:  

By the way...
Those two buttons present someone who doesn't know their significance [that includes me really], with a bit of a problem.

e.g.
Which one to click?

Will clicking the wrong one have nasty consequences?

Oh well, take no risks, do nothing.

You could do with having some text added to that displayed already...
Short explanation.
Or a couple of words on each button to explain what they are rather than only a [meaningless?] acronym.
Or else a "Help" button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 05:15    Post subject:  

Point taken.

I did consider this before, but then added all the relevant information to post beginning where it's downloaded from.

I think you're right, I'll look again at adding a 'help' button with the text from the thread post.

Nothing is hurt if you click either button, just different results.

The NIST servers are used with inbuilt 'system' functions.

The NTP servers use a separate dedicated program that works a bit harder to achieve the same goal.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 05:57    Post subject:  

"Nothing is hurt if you click either button, just different results"
This would do as a minimum explanation.
All the newbie user needs is an indication that clicking either will do no harm.
This would certainly reassure me as a new user, that it would be OK to click either button.

"The NIST servers are used with inbuilt 'system' functions.
The NTP servers use a separate dedicated program that works a bit harder to achieve the same goal.
"
A little extra [like this] would be nice IF there was a way to do it easily.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11050
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 01:04    Post subject:  

Rob,

I can't say enough about how excellent your work is.

I appreciate your willingness to change the wording to say
"TZ variable" because it is accurately displays the variable
data without putting people who live in Los Angeles
somewhere in a Hong Kong time zone.

Bruce

Second picture for second release, note the time zone
accurately displays my true time zone in spite of Puppy's
inversion.
tz_variable-02.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.48 KB
 Viewed   1299 Time(s)

tz_variable-02.png


_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 05:40    Post subject:  

New version posted with a help file and slightly different gui layout.

Please note: There may be a residual menu entry after updating.

Seems my pet maker has become corrupted. Sad


Entry is now in Menu - Desktop - Country settings.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0779s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]