Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 09:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
pcmcia network adapter doesn't work
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 03:32    Post subject:  pcmcia network adapter doesn't work  

Hello, I've installed Puppy Linux 4.2.1 on an old notebook (compaq armada e500). It works well but I'm not able to connect to the internet. The pcmcia card's model is: superlan by roper pcmcia 100-32 bit. I've installed the module by ndiswrapper and wlan0 is correctly found and configurated (dhcp), but browser doesn't work. If I type ifconfig the last message for wlan0 is Interrupt:11. If I try to ping I've got the following message: Network is unreachable. Have you got any ideas? Thank you. Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 16:19    Post subject:  

Do you have an IP address?

Having flicked around on Google, i came across a couple of posts from Suse and another distro. They seemed to think it is the driver. I dont know what chipset is in the card. any clues as to what the chipset is, i am assuming that Puppy doenst pick it up without NDISWRAPPER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 17:36    Post subject:  

Seems likely that Puppy would have a native Linux driver for
that card....if this site is up to date.

http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_part.php?brandname=Roper

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jun 2009, 03:14    Post subject:  

First, thank you for your reply. I think is the driver because I've tried to install puppy linux on another old laptop (geo) and internet works well. I haven't written that the pcmcia card is not wireless but ethernet. Do you think that it works if I try to install the driver listed in the web site?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jun 2009, 04:29    Post subject:  

mo_70 wrote:
The pcmcia card's model is: superlan by roper pcmcia 100-32 bit. I've installed the module by ndiswrapper

ndiswrapper doesn't work very well with ethernet devices, and it's more likely that one of Puppy's native Linux drivers will work better anyway.
It would help if you could positively identify the exact model of your PCMCIA card, since this will determine the correct Linux driver. Please run this command -
Code:
pccardctl status

If this looks OK, run this command -
Code:
pccardctl ident

and report the Product/Device ID and Vendor ID values.

Last edited by tempestuous on Tue 09 Jun 2009, 03:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 01:22    Post subject:  

I have 2 slots in my pc, one is empty.
The message of the command 'pccardctl status' is:
Socket 0:
3.3V 32-bit PC Card
Socket 1:
no card

The message of the command 'pccardctl ident' is:
Socket 0:
no product info available
Socket 1:
no product info available

I've extracted the card, the model is:
SUPERLAN BY ROPER PCMCIA 100-32-BIT

No product code available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 03:45    Post subject:  

Clearly there's a problem with your PCMCIA interface, and yours is currently one of three problems on the forum concerning PCMCIA interfaces.
I have a suspicion that the fault may be with 4.2.1, but I'm really not sure, and I don't have a copy of 4.2.1 to check.

I suggest you boot with "pci=biosirq".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 04:24    Post subject:  

I've tried with "pci=biosirq" but....nothing to do! When I reboot the pc it doesn't keep the interface wlan0 loaded by ndiswrapper (i've saved it) and interface eth0 is loaded again. Have you got other ideas? Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 04:47    Post subject:  

mo_70 wrote:
When I reboot the pc it doesn't keep the interface wlan0 loaded by ndiswrapper

Good. As I said before, you shouldn't be using ndiswrapper.

mo_70 wrote:
and interface eth0 is loaded again.

Wow, that's good. Puppy can only create a network interface once it detects your network device.

I suggest you clear ndiswrapper from the Network Wizard, reboot, and configure the Network Wizard to use the module which it automatically selects. I suspect that will be r8169.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 05:04    Post subject:  

Ok, done. The module loaded by default is:
interface: eth0
type: ethernet
module: 8139too
device description: pci realtek semiconductor rtl-8139/8139c/8139c+

If I test eth0 it gives me the following message:
unable to connect to the network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 08:19    Post subject:  

Well a large part of the battle is to recognise the device, load a compatible module, and create a network interface.
Since eth0 exists, you have succeeded to this point.

Now you need to do some diagnosis.
When you run the "dmesg" command, what do you see about how the 8139too module loaded? Does it look OK?

Is your router set up for DHCP? Maybe you need to configure the Network Wizard with a static IP address?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mo_70

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 12:22    Post subject:  

8138too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.28
......
eth0:link down

How can I copy lines from console? it's very long to write it by hands....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sidders

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Bolton, uk

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jun 2009, 03:08    Post subject:  

Highlight the text and click with both mouse buttons, that will copy the text, then you can paste it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 19:20    Post subject:  

Hello,

I use a pcmcia controller TI-1225 in an old Gericom laptop. This broadband connection works with Puppy 4.2. But it does not work with the TeenPup2009.

Thanks in advance for any proposal.

Regards
Svgt

PS: status 3.3 32-bit PC card vendor LevelOne FPC-0106TX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2009, 02:07    Post subject:  

svgt --

you need to start another thread of your own on this subject. Mixing up two different problems in the same thread will only cause confusion.

_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0858s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0189s) ][ GZIP on ]