Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 07:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to configure wifi from the commandline
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
mdisaster2

Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2009, 08:37    Post subject:  

Command line instructions worked great for me as well. The Sitecom WL-113 USB adapter doesn't like the Network Wizards, but my connect script based on the instructions is working like a charm. Cool

(suggestion: these instructions are invaluable to people that get stuck while trying to configure a wireless-only machine. Maybe they should be included in the documentation or in the Network Wizard help together with a couple of sample scripts ? )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
habscout

Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 17 Feb 2009, 18:54    Post subject:  

I am a Puppy Linux newbie, and have a basic question. When I enter the key in hex, do I have to include the colon separators ?

eg. aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff or aabbccddeeff ?

Are quotation marks optional or mandatory ?

eg. "aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff" or "aabbccddeeff" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Feb 2009, 20:45    Post subject:  

With the "iwconfig" configuration utility, colons should not be used.
There is an exception: the prism2_usb driver uses the "wlanctl-ng" configuration utility, and colons should be used in this case.

Quotation marks can be used, but they're not necessary with hex values. Quotation marks are useful with alphanumeric passwords, so that spaces and special characters can be handled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lemop

Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 24 Apr 2009, 10:18    Post subject:  

Complete Novice Here please bear with me

Wireless NW Prob

Downoaded isp Puppy Linux 4.2k2.6.25 16 seamonkey
Checked md5 = OK
Burnt Cd=OK


Router= Buffalo Airstation Wireless G High Power Model = WHR HP g54
Security = WPA-PSK, AES


PCMCIA = Cardbus USB 2.0 adapter 4 usb ports (Nec)
Toshiba ToOIC97 Card Bus controller * 2
Driver Provider Msoft
c:\windows\system32\DRIVERS\pcmcia.sys v5.1.2600.21800

USB = Sitecom Wireless Network USB Adapter Turbo G WL-172
Manufacturer= Sitecom Europe BV
Driver Provider= Ralink Technology Corp
c:\windows\system32\Drivers\rt73.sys



Test installed to Intel 3GHz 4GBMem with wired connection from cd
perfect install and straight to net no probs whatsoever.
Even used provided menu and installed to usb stick with no probs and after setting bios boots fine.


Eventually want to install to USB stick
CD Installed To Toshiba Tecra 8000 Model PAT 800E-F96A-EN, Pentium II 333MHz, 256 Mb RAM

Installed to desktop appearance

Try Setup Wireless Network
Many combinations
Scan always finds my SSID (power/strength XP=100% Puppy = 57/100 @ 2feet from router)
Config always fails no matter the combination of settings are tried


Question:

Found thread: how to set wireless network command line
tempestuous Posted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 22:23

Menu install and system interface nfo report wlan0 and rt73usb

Encryption not loaded from your list crc32c (manual load)
Encryption not loaded from your list aes_generic (manual load)
checked system interface both now loaded
encryption list matches

modprobe rt73usb (no error)
ifconfig wlan0 up (no error)
ifconfig mode managed (no error)
iwpriv wlan0 set AuthMode=WPASK (error below)
wlan0 no private ioctls.

Googled error report and seems to point to driver limitation

Any pointers would be appreciated

Added later: I forgot to say I can connect ok without encryption.


Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 Apr 2009, 19:26    Post subject:  

Lemop wrote:
iwpriv wlan0 set AuthMode=WPASK

No. That only applies to the old rt2500/rt2570/rt61/rt73 drivers.
Yours is the modern rt73usb, so configuration is -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d wlan0


"modprobe rt73usb" should not be necessary because Puppy will probably load that module automatically.

Lemop wrote:
ifconfig mode managed

That command is wrong, it should be -
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed

but it's not necessary for WPA connections anyway, only for WEP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lemop

Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 17:38    Post subject:  

RE: tempestuous

My apologies the "ifconfig wlan0 mode managed" was entered correctly but i did not type it correctly

Better to cut and paste (now I've found out how to do that from the console)

I entered the code and the results are pasted below.
I stopped it (another learned item eventually) as it was going to run forever.

# ifconfig wlan0 up
# rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
# wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd


Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
Line: 5 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=7):
64 65 66 61 75 6c 74 default
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=10): [REMOVED]
proto: 0x1
key_mgmt: 0x2
pairwise: 0x8
group: 0x8
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='default'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=21 enc_capa=0xf
capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:0c:f6:38:f7:61
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
***** and so on

Any pointers in there to help or have i messed up again, although I have learned a couple of operations just to stop and copy the ouput so all is not wasted.

Thank you for any help you can give me

Lemop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Apr 2009, 19:30    Post subject:  

Lemop wrote:
My apologies the "ifconfig wlan0 mode managed" was entered correctly

Well it's still wrong - the correct command is "iwconfig" not "ifconfig". And you shouldn't run that command, anyway. It might mess things up for WPA.

Lemop wrote:
wpa_supplicant ... /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf

I see that your configuration file is wpa_supplicant.conf. So let's check that your wifi router is using WPA encryption, right?
If it's set for WPA2 encryption, then your configuration file should be wpa_supplicant2.conf

And you have modified the configuration file to include your SSID and Personal Security Key, too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lemop

Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 06:03    Post subject:  

REF:tempestuous

hi, and thanks for you help


this is what I do, and answers a couple of your queries.



01. Router = AES 1 (one) from screen and Buffalo Tech Spt


02. Boot Puppy to ram, del puppy files from ntfs hd part, shutdown no saves


03. Boot Puppy (ps2, kb and xorg) to desktop


04. load via system tools aes_generic and crc32c to match encrypt list


05. Mount usb stick (txt files from windows vista forum post)

06. Open file from usb stick in leaf (for cut and paste) last cmd set given on forum


ifconfig wlan0 up
rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d wlan0

07. Open in genie
/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf


08. Edit
and save (in genie)
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

ap_scan=1

update_config=1


network={

ssid="my ascii ssid in the quotes"

scan_ssid=1
psk="my ascii key in the quotes"

proto=WPA

key_mgmt=WPA-PSK

pairwise=TKIP

group=TKIP

}

09. Do not understand TKIP in pairwise and group, AES maybe?

10. Point to note:cannot locate /var/run/wpa_supplicant


11. Open rxvt

12. Copy one line command from leaf file.

13. Paste and run one line command to rxvt cursor.

output below

# ifconfig wlan0 up

# rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*

rm: cannot remove `/var/run/wpa_supplicant/*': No such file or directory

# wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd

Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf' ->
Reading configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ap_scan=1

update_config=1

Line: 5 - start of a new network block

ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=12):
62 75 66 66 61 6c 6f 77 69 6e 67 73 my ssid in open ascii
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=8): [REMOVED]
proto: 0x1

key_mgmt: 0x2

pairwise: 0x8

group: 0x8

PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='my ssid in open ascii'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'

EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED

EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE

EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE

EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED

EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0

EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=21 enc_capa=0xf

capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf

WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:0c:f6:38:f7:61

wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa

wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0key_len=0

wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0

wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0

wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0

wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures

ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported

WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted

Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec

Added interface wlan0

RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])

Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
AES.JPG
 Description   AES Setting in router
 Filesize   39.91 KB
 Viewed   1082 Time(s)

AES.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2009, 20:54    Post subject:  

Lemop wrote:
Router = AES 1 (one) from screen and Buffalo Tech Spt

AES is WPA2 encryption, not WPA. Buffalo have done you a disservice if they don't explain that in their documentation.
So you should be using wpa_supplicant2.conf, not wpa_supplicant.conf.

Open /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant2.conf in Geany and enter your SSID and Personal Security Key.
Then run the setup commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lemop

Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2009, 07:28    Post subject:  

Edited supplicant2 (with ssid and key/passphrase)
Issued commands 1 at a time and again
after the wpa_supplicant line it started unexpected output as it has from the beginning.

One thing of note, I do not like the distro, but CrashBang installs from start to finish without a hitch, finds wireless nets, lets me choose my own then all it asks for is the PSK which I give it and voila it is all connected.

I tried to follow the files as on puppy but I'm too much of a beginner at this and cannot see the simialarities to puppy.

Something simple I'm sure but to me ..................

Thanks again for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Boomerian

Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 27 May 2009, 11:37    Post subject:  Puppy 4.2.1 and Broadcom 4320 wireless adapter
Subject description: Can't get it to work
 

Installed the latest to Celeron 400 processor/256M RAM/6.4G HDD-old eMachine 400ix eTower but should be plenty, right?
Linksys WMP54g adapter with 14e4:4320 (rev 03) -can't get it to work with B43 or B43Legacy; tried Ndiswrapper with Bcmwl5.inf Windows driver. No luck. I know this Broadcom chipset is a bugger for any Linux-I've been trying for years-it worked with Dreamlinux, and had the Linuxant driverloader with MepisLite up and running.
I'm trying and willing to learn, but this is getting old. I thought the latest Puppy had taken care of this...? Eager to "house-train" the Puppy, but need some guidance.
Any help greatly appreciated. Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 06:27    Post subject: Pup 2-kernel 2.6.18.1 & WPA2  

Is a WPA2 encrypted connection possible for Pups 2.13 to 2.16 which use kernel 2.6.18.1.
Modules 'ecb' & 'blkcipher' seem to be missing. Can these modules be compiled or is the kernel too old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jun 2009, 20:39    Post subject:  

You're right, the encryption modules blkcipher (block cipher) and ecb (electronic codebook) are not available in the 2.6.18 kernel.

But the 2.6.18 kernel still has core support for WPA2 encryption in the form of the ieee80211_crypt_ccmp module. And I seem to recall several testers reporting success with WPA2 with this kernel.

I suspect that in later kernels some functionality of the ieee80211_crypt_ccmp module was split out into separate modules such as ecb and blkcipher.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OlddogNewtricks

Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 124
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jun 2009, 00:49    Post subject: Pup 2-kernel 2.6.18.1 & WPA2  

Thanks for clearing that up tempestuous. Tried ieee80211_crypt_ccmp but no joy there.
I presume this will also be the case with BK's new pup 2.18 if/when he upgrades to kernel 2.6.18.8.
Still, pup 2.17 works fine with an upgraded net-wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boseji

Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2009, 09:01    Post subject: Trouble with Buffalo WLI-U2-KG54 USB Wireless Lan Dongle
Subject description: Unable to connect the Home network
 

Hello,

I have stated using the PuppyLinux 4.2.1
I am unable to connect to the Wifi network.
My PC is P3 1GHz Coppermine 256MB SDRAM 100MHz with Wireless USB Dongle: Buffalo WLI-U2-KG54
I am using CD Rom to boot the Puppy Linux.

At present the Puppy Network Wizard recognizes this device as
"usb:Buffalo WLI-U2-KG54" with "rt2500usb" as Module.

I have tried to use the Pwireless-0.8.4 from the Top menu.
It is able to show my wireless Lan and also the Encryption.
I use a WPA2 AES128bit encryption which requires me to enter a text password. When I click on Connect selecting the Wifi network, I get a prompt asking for WEP password. I give that correctly but still the IP address returned in a wrong or the default ones. My Wifi Router at present is behaving as a Bridge for my ADSL router connected to its WAN port.
Please help me out with this connection issue.
I am bad need to move on to linux and dump off my old Windows box to have some good use of it.

Warm Regards,
Boseji
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1072s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]