Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 06:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Puppy can't see LS-120 hard drive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 03:18    Post_subject:  Puppy can't see LS-120 hard drive  

This item:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2615&highlight=ls120
never did get a response, back in October.
These drives are popping up occasionally as old Compaqs begin to be scrapped. In many ways they seem to be ideal for Puppy but MUT refuses to detect properly. It correctly assigns hdc, but splits this into an infinite number of listings and never completes the operation. I did succeed in running a script some years ago to handle these, but forget what it was because the major distro now do it successfully, automatically.
No booting issues - modern BIOSes all include it.
It would be nice if one of the gurus could favour us with his wisdom.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 04:03    Post_subject:  

You are not forgotten!
The LS-120 is formatted with the "superfloppy" format, see my Developer News page for 9th Jan.
In other words, Puppy2 is designed to work with this format, so will be able to boot off an LS-120.

The internal LS-120 connects to an IDE cable, right? So will appear similar to a internal Zip drive.
The current pre-pre-alpha release of Puppy2 can't handle it, but I intend to add a "idezip" boot option, which should also handle a LS-120 drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 04:46    Post_subject:  

What can I say? Barry, you're the MAN!
Thanks a bundle.

PS. Yes, it's an IDE device.
Back to top
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 05:12    Post_subject:  

What's going on, John? I was logged on for the above post! And my 'EDIT' doesn't seem to have appeared. Please knock out that alien 'd' to make that read '...an IDE...'

You are doing us all a wonderful and much appreciated service by hosting this community, but (isn't there always one?!) this crazy log-in system is driving us all, err..... , crazy! Or is the world really full of Guests?

Thanks.
Sage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2006, 01:48    Post_subject:  

Well, Mr Moderator, you've done it again! The title is now incorrect!
Puppy does 'see' my LS-120, as stated, but can't handle it properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2006, 08:13    Post_subject:  

Personally, I don't have any problems with the forum.
The thing to remember is, when you login, don't go away for too long -- I think the timeout is set to 1 hour, then you get logged out.
I login, do all the reading and posting, then logout, don't wander off in between, and it works fine.
The only difficulty sometimes is the forum seems to get too busy, and when I try to reply or post, it doesn't work. But, I just wait awhile and it comes good.

Sometimes also, I forget to login, which is a nuisance when I realise that I have posted as "guest".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2006, 10:05    Post_subject:  

Lucky, Barry.
I guess it takes me about five minutes to think, compose and roughly check over my offerings - longer if I have to look something up in the dictionary, rather than a spellchecker. This period of inactivity is sometimes sufficient for my ISP to cut me off. Upon reconnecting, I have to re-log-in delete all tabs and restart them all from the index menu. A real pain! [But it's worth it for the quality!].
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0482s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]