Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 05:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
dpup-47x for testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 52 [778 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jul 2009, 23:23    Post subject:  

The md5sum was wrong Sit Heel Speak...shows you why it should be there...should be right now
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 06:55    Post subject:  

G'day,
Not being able to create a save file for the frugal dpup because of what seems like a universal installer problem (see earlier postings), I've copied into the dpup476 sub-directory a save file from the upup476 subdirectory, re-named it to dpup476save, and on re-booting to dpup, it sort of works. Need to go through the Xorg wizard but the keyboard and Guam setting are not recurring.
Copying the other save file brought some of the settings from the upup476 frugal. The boot-loadable sfs4 modules don't seem to have loaded in dpup**, but the network settings (wire and wireless) are up - I'm posting this from the dpup476 frugal.
Dual cores running OK.
Early days.
David S.

**because dpup uses sfs type 3.1!!! Now I'll have to re-install this frugal into my other frugal partition where they share 3.1 sfs files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2609
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 08:21    Post subject:  

I did a manual frugal install which asked me to save session, also for loading sfs's you need to rename them to *_476.sfs that worked too, after first session save on reboot it fired up xorg wizard again though but not again after that.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 09:19    Post subject:  

Ok...dpup-476b will also move to sfs type 4 as well as other fixes...yes it's early days...but it'll be worth it. Smile
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 09:29    Post subject:  

By all means please ditch Pmusic and pcd, The latest Pburn has a Much improved GUI, and maybe use Bmp, Some might want aqualung with the trimmings, But I just like a simple good sounding player that most users won't have to read a manual to run Smile Bmp would be my main choice, If you could find the first dpup release by tronkel, I had packaged/compiled gnome-Mplayer, and a few others. The Gnome-Mplayer played nice fullscreen etc in JWM.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 22:57    Post subject:  

G'day gposil,

A little bit more from Lenny Woof land,

I've readily switched my frugal dpup476 with its upup476-derived save-file, into my frugal-filled sfs3.1-friendly partition.

My various 3.1 version sfs files loaded happily in during booting dpup (eg OO3, wine with Office97 and some other XP programs in the sfs, games, media players).

Still have to set up Xorg each time I start dpup and it still requires button-holding to shut off the computer on closing down.

Struggling with some media players (xine is missing a lib file that had not worried any previous frugal pup - libssh2.so.1?) but I got immediately good sound with my sfs mplayer in dpup.

Anyway, when you get around to uploading your next dpup, could you identify which version of sfs files will be required for frugal users?

<idle thought> Is there a need for a script or change in the boot manager to differentiate 3 and 4 type sfs files and appropriately mount both types or exclude the wrong type?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 01:09    Post subject:  

@davids45
Look in /tmp before shutting down and if you have a videomode file delete it and you should be able to shutdown through menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 01:28    Post subject:  

G'day tubby,
Looking now in dpup's /tmp, I can't see a videomode.anything file.
A few xorg... files, pup_event..... files, and a few others.
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 02:01    Post subject:  

If there is no video file, delete the whole of the tmp folder and then try shutting down via the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 22:19    Post subject:  

davids45 wrote:
...it still requires button-holding to shut off the computer on closing down.
Yesterday I encountered this same problem on an eMachine, with MS-7061 (N1996) mainboard.

Here's what cured it:

1. Go in at bootup with Del into BIOS Setup and choose "Load Fail-Safe Defaults". F10, save and exit.

2. Then, turn machine off, disconnect power supply from wall outlet, move the jumper at JBAT from its normal running position of 2-3 to its "reset CMOS" position of 1-2 for a few seconds, move it back to 2-3, reconnect power supply and switch the PSU on, then switch machine on.

3. Go into BIOS Setup again. Power Management Setup --> IRQ/Event Activity Detect, set everything to Off, None, or Disabled. At the bottom, IRQs Activity Monitoring, press Enter. Temporarily change "Primary INTR" to ON, then scroll down and change all interrupts 3-15 to "Disabled." Now change Primary INTR back to OFF.

4. F10, Save and Exit.

Now the machine turns off as expected.

I had to go back into BIOS Setup and restore a few of my client's personal preferences, like NumLock Off and S.M.A.R.T. drive monitoring enabled. But this procedure did make the computer turn-offable again. I should perhaps note here that IPCA function can be left "Enabled" and indeed even Suspend Mode can be switched to "Enable", so, if you can get the kernel tuned for it, Suspend is still available.

HTH, SHS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 23:51    Post subject: dpup-476b  

dpup-476b is up here...http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/dpup476b/dpup-476b-2.6.29.4.iso

Changes:

1.) Uses sfs 4 now
2.) kernel now 2.6.29.4
3.) Remaster script now works
4.) Shutdown and save now to seems to work(at least in my machines)
5.) Pmusic replaced by Bmp...works well
6.) New default wallpaper...still got to change default icons
7.) Pet Package Manager seems to work fine even with lenny repos, but still doesn't pick up all depends...but getting there...
8.) A few other small things I can't remember...

devx for 476b will be up in an hour or so...just check directory...http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/dpup476b/

md5's are there too...

Happy testing...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 15:06    Post subject:  

Tried a frugal installation of your latest dpup476b, however it hangs up loading kernel modules. I'll try a new download and report back.
EDIT: New download had same problem.

Looking forward to your gnome version.
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 21:51    Post subject: Sorry All  

The checksum on dpup-476b-2.6.29.4 was wrong...so re-uploading now.... Embarassed

Also uploading dpup-476b-2.6.27.4, as the earlier kernel works better on the full variety of pc's i've tested..

http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/

Cheers

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 06:16    Post subject:  

After a days work on dpup-476b-2.6.27.4, i've decided to concentrate on it as the base for future work...it seems to be far more stable and I have included the following:

1.) Uses sfs3
2.) Working gxine
3.) Pmusic replaced by Bmp (with extra skins)
4.) ffmpeg included
5.) Remaster now works
6.) Saves and closes down correctly now.
7.) Abiword and Gnumeric work now.
8.) Timezone setting fixed.

Much more to come and that gnome desktop and synaptic....

dpup-476b-2.6.27.4 will be up in a few hours, all versions at http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/

Cheers

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 07:00    Post subject:  

I'm glad you switch to sfs3, I've hated that sfs4 from day one, its a pain to use older sfs, you have to convert them, or make pets out of them, really it was stupid of the sfs developers not to make it compatible with previous versions, I hope they don't do that with sfs5 Wink
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 52 [778 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0840s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0161s) ][ GZIP on ]