Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 06:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
dpup-47x for testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 52 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
jduffy22335

Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Great Mills, MD USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 22:50    Post_subject: zd1211 with dpup 476b
Sub_title: Loading firmware did not resovle issue
 

gposil wrote:
Ok 476c will be up in an hour or so...with Xorg and hopefully esata fixed, as for the zd1211 problem...try the firmware update below..

http://www.gposil.com/test/woof-alpha9/dpup/dpup476c-2.6.27.4/zd1211-firmware_2.21.0.0-0.1_all.deb


Sorry to report it did no resolve. Please continue the good work here, I can work with the NDIS driver. I would like to see this dpup move along and show how well it can really fly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2009, 23:01    Post_subject:  

Hi jduffy22335,

have you checked whether the zd1211rw kernel module is loading...check in wizard wizard, puppy startup

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
jduffy22335

Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Great Mills, MD USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 07:09    Post_subject: zd1211rw module loading
Sub_title: No joy with wireless module
 

gposil wrote:
Hi jduffy22335,

have you checked whether the zd1211rw kernel module is loading...check in wizard wizard, puppy startup


The module appears to be loading and is not in the list of available modules, It does appear in the list of modules to blacklist, so I believe it is trying to load without success. Thanks.

Note: moved up to the dup476c version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:00    Post_subject: 476 Solved My Problem
Sub_title: Works Perfectly
 

476c did the job: my Intel video card is performing at a high resolution and so far everything else is humming along. I haven't got to the Debian repository part yet.
Thanks, Gposil. Which of the two figures in your icon is you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:04    Post_subject: e-sata HDD in bay not seen  

Thank you for the 476-C
I did boot with acpi actif and acpi=off.
In both cases I got the desktop, but with only the first sata HDD partitions.

The second HDD in the e-sata bay wasn't seen.

As my critical data is on this second HDD, at this stage, I can't use dpup 476.

upup 466 has no problems to see this second HDD.

Nevertheless, I have the impression that this dpup 476 has more performance. Feels quick.

I still have this JQ8flat doesn't contain mime type message/warning.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:14    Post_subject: Abiword Doesn't Work
Sub_title: No Response
 

I can't open Abiword, not from the desktop icon, the link in /usr/local/bin, nor the direct icon in /usr/bin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:19    Post_subject: Setting up Remote Printer  

I was able to set up my remote (wired network) printer by putting a link to the smbspool in /usr/lib/cups/backend. Wouldn't it be easy to put such a link in the delivered version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Dave,

can you do me a favour and tell me what the message is when you run abiword from terminal...it works here..so i've got to find out what's up...and yes the cups samba spooler problem will be fixed...I was aware of it, but just hadn't got there yet...

Béèm,
I'll keep trying to find out why the esata is not working///

Cheers

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 08:47    Post_subject:  

Just tried dpup-476c. BTW boot splash-screen still shows 476b

However, this is one beautiful puplet. No nonsense fast, and recognises my ATI Radeon 3450 video card out-of-the-box - just like real Debian. This is good enough even now to be my main distro.

Really looking forward to the Gnome version with Synaptic. I have already done a few experiments with Synaptic, but more research is needed on how to configure this to work properly with Puppy. I started off by trying to play with apt-get, but due to wrong configuration, would not install every program that I tried. APT gets configured during a normal Debian install by a script running within the installer itself. I wonder what would be involved in ripping this script from the Debian ISO.

I'll play some more with Dpup- 476c and see what gives.

Kudos!

edit:
Just noticed the cheeky Puppy logo that replaces the official Debian swirl sitting on the official Lenny wallpaper - Lol! Very Happy

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 09:07    Post_subject:  

That's weird...working on this esata problem...there's no kernel module for ahci in Barry's 2.6.27.4 kernel...I may have to recompile the kernel...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 504
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 10:42    Post_subject: Abiword works
Sub_title: I don't know why
 

False alarm. I called for Abiword in the console and it came up. Then I clicked on the desktop icon and it came up again. I've been tweaking things (running ALSA setup and so forth), and rebooting several times, so I don't know what I did to kick it in.
I can't get gparted to work. This is true in upup as well. I can get it to work in a rescue disk I have, so I don't think it's a problem in my disk itself.
The Puppy Package Manager is balky. When I switched from one repo to another, it froze a couple of times.
This is a great Puppy overall. Congrtatulations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 12:58    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
That's weird...working on this esata problem...there's no kernel module for ahci in Barry's 2.6.27.4 kernel...I may have to recompile the kernel...
The latest working upup out of the box was upup 466 with kernel 2.6.29.1 I don't know how Barry compiled this one.

For the record, my controller card is in IDE mode, not AHCI or RAID.
I have to keep it that way, as I boot XP from that PC as well and only IDE mode is working with it.

My PC is the Medion 8818.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 15:40    Post_subject:  

@Béèm:

If you have the time, I would like you to download maggotspawn's 4.20-RT-SMP (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=43740). I'm curious to know if it will recognize your esata external drive. It carries a 2.6.29.1 kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5969
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 18:19    Post_subject:  

Xorg now works fine with my onboard Intel graphics.Thanks for the quick fix.

Time to do some testing..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 19:45    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
@Béèm:

If you have the time, I would like you to download maggotspawn's 4.20-RT-SMP (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=43740). I'm curious to know if it will recognize your esata external drive. It carries a 2.6.29.1 kernel.
Thanks for the tip.
As it is 01:40 am now, I just did a very quick test.
The second HDD is seen.
But I have the dreadded 'session not saved' issue. Have to create an empty pup_save file for RT-SMP first to retain the configuration I will make.

I have to look for my notes with previous tests I made, like Aragon's smp version as well.
By heart I don't remember which ones went ok and which ones not.

I'll come back to that later, as I'm going to sleep now.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 52 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0959s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]