Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 03:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
VIA Velocity gigabit net driver module for Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2006, 11:47    Post_subject:  VIA Velocity gigabit net driver module for Puppy  

Can someone help this guy out?

------------------------------------
I've tried Puppy in the past, and it's fun, but it won't be useful for me until it includes a VIA Velocity gigabit net driver. I know it's not included officially in the 2.4 kernel, but it's available elsewhere.

I'm attaching a source for the module, which I found at this page:
http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx?PageID=420&OSID=1&CatID=1190&SubCatID=130

Even if you can't get hardware autodetection to work for it, just including the module will be enough for me. I can't complile it myself since my main OS is 64 bit.

Also, you might want to consider "CDRBQ" ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/cdrtoaster/ )as a CD burning frontend. It's ridiculously tiny and easy to use. I think it's tailor made for live distros. Pardon me if it's already in dotpup or whatever--I wouldn't know, since my net doesn't work in Puppy.

Thanks for considering my requests.

Brody
------------------------------------
velocityget.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  velocityget.tar.gz 
Filesize  50.28 KB 
Downloaded  256 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2006, 12:01    Post_subject:  

http://dotpups.de/diverse-tgz/velocityget.o.tgz (20 kb)

**************************************************
Build options:
VERSION 2.4.29
SMP Disabled
**************************************************

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jan 2006, 12:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Also, you might want to consider "CDRBQ" ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/cdrtoaster/ )as a CD burning frontend


looks nice.
Simply unrpm the noarch-rpm, and click on cdrbq (it a Tcl/Tk-program).

My burner is broken, so I can't test it,but the interface looks very functional.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jan 2006, 15:22    Post_subject:  

Thanks so much Mark!
I hope Brody will find it useful Very Happy

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shrdlu

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Location: NE Illinois

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2006, 10:56    Post_subject: via-rhine+soyo+1.07+2.6 kernel  

I am a happy Puppy user on 2 out of 3 of my computers. Smile

Ironically, I can't get it to work reliably on a newer box I built when Tiger-direct basically was giving away SOYO mobos. The symptoms are wierd - with the 2.4 kernel, sometimes Puppy comes up and works great, but most of the time it hangs during usb initialization. With the 2.6 kernel it comes all the way up, but I can't get to the network. Same problem Brody had. Crying or Very sad The wizard tells me it sees the on-board eth0 and the via-rhine driver is loaded. Can't even ping the router. This is pretty consistent with other 2.6 distros I've worked with on this box. It looks like both usb and ethernet are trying to grab IRQ 11. Naturally, Windows works perfectly. Since I can still use Puppy, I sorta don't care if it gets fixed or not, but I was curious if anyone else had seen this wierd behavior.

Update: Punted and got things working with ndiswrapper and the win driver.

_________________
If only I could be half as good as my dog thinks I am
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0618s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0159s) ][ GZIP on ]