Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 01:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Pstreamvid v 1.3 - Streaming Video Controller
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 01:10    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Looks like I've fixed the problem in /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml
Was line 442, now line 445.
Faulty line was:
<action name="Execute"><execute>/usr/local/pstreamvid/pstreamvid &</execute></action>
Good line is:
<action name="Execute"><execute>/usr/local/pstreamvid/pstreamvid</execute></action>

Just copied the form of other similar lines.

Can't figure out how to add new channels to the list of available channels.
Tried reading page1 of this thread, but so far have had no success in finding/adding URL's. [Don't know how]
Have installed Streamsniff.pet, but so far it never finds anything.


1. Good, then that means it's different way in openbox and jwm/icewm. In the usual jwm/icewm you can use & at the end of execution, that means execute and leave/do something else
2. To add channels: simple:
- Type in a new name
- Copy URL & paste

Maybe you want to PM ttuuxxx for asking about the streamsniffer, or you could just google for new channels

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 01:23    Post subject:  

@JamesC

You're welcome

@rjbrewer

Same as 2 simple steps to add channels above (as I told sylvander)
If I understand correctly, the problem is FINDING new channels, right? Not actually, ADDING them into pstreamvid (If there's a problem, please do tell). Be aware:

- many URLs now down, not active anymore
- exact URL has to be copy & paste..
- streams usually starts with mms:// or mmsh:// or rtsp:// , try google that like "rtsp mms free streaming sport"

example is NBC:
mmsh://msnbc.wmod.llnwd.net/a275/e1/video/100/vh.asf

is already included in pstreamvid

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 02:33    Post subject:  

1. "Copy URL & paste"
Problem is...
I'm a Linux & Puppy newbie...
So I don't know how to find & play live video streams...
And so I don't have any URL available to copy.
e.g.
(a) If I go to:
http://delicast.com/tv/
That doesn't provide a URL...
So I then go to:
http://delicast.com/tv/UK
And that still doesn't play a stream...
So I click on [go to]...
http://delicast.com/tv/UK/entertainment
And still there is no streamed video.
This goes on without end; never getting to play a stream. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7781
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 02:47    Post subject:  

hey bro

I think that gxine must still be supported. I'm testing both versions (gxine | mplayer) on my p3 coppermine 600 and with mplayer it is crap. It will only play in a small window while the rest of the screen is black, any channel.

With Gxine I can get to full screen (the way I hacked) no problems.

I just think that on lower spec hardware that gxine performs better than mplayer. Personally I prefer mplayer, but if Puppy is to support older kit then gxine is the way to go.

Gxine has for quite some time had the bug of not playing full screen correctly. I am of the opinion that it is a timing issue. However, I have no idea how to resolve it!

I'll help as much as I can because I am a true believer that puppy needs a TV app! Laughing

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 03:01    Post subject:  

Sylvander,
copy and paste this:
Code:
mms://stream1.france24.yacast.net/f24_liveen


Type in name
Code:
France24


Click Add Channel

And you're done! ..a brand new channel..I got it from gooling "mms rstp streaming"

Micko,

Bro, I'm with you 1000%

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 03:06    Post subject:  

some japanese channels I found:

mms://stream.gundam.eu/wowow
mms://stream.gundam.eu/tbs
mms://stream.gundam.eu/tvtokyo
mms://stream.gundam.eu/animax
mms://stream.gundam.eu/nhke
mms://stream.gundam.eu/nhkg
mms://stream.gundam.eu/fujitv
mms://stream.gundam.eu/ntv
mms://stream.gundam.eu/tvasahi

Though I haven't tried them, dunno if they work

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 03:20    Post subject:  

@01micko
My video image plays full-screen [using mplayer] no problem.

The quality of image isn't great at full-screen.
If I go to small-screen and increase the size of window, there comes a point [about 10in x 8in] where the quality begins to deteriorate detectably.

@trio
(a) Your instructions worked really easily. Very Happy
And that French channel looked pretty good for image quality at full screen.

(b) None [n(ot-)one] of those Japanese channels would work for me.
Is that because only people using PC's located in certain geographic regions are permitted to view these?
I have a video somewhere that explains how to by-pass such as this, by using a proxy server in the country of broadcast.

p.s. Discovered it's RTSP = Real Time Streaming Protocol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 03:35    Post subject:  

Great Trio!

France 24 worked for me; I must not be getting the url correct
on other sites...I'll keep working at it.

01Micko;

I use pup412. To get full screen Gxine,
Click the maximze button (upper right)
Right click desktop
View->full screen
On pstreamvid, just nbc and setanta give a true full screen.

Mplayer works very well for me on pc and laptop.
I use Mu's rc2 mplayer for pup412 from dotpups de
I also have mms enabled in about:config seamonkey
Mplayer screen size can easily be changed by dragging
and seems to conserve cpu resources better

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7781
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 03:53    Post subject:  

rjb

I'm not having any trouble getting a fullscreen from Gxine, only mplayer, it's getting it from scratch with gxine, darn thing. Laughing

This is the issue needing attention. In 4.2.2 (latest alpha-pre beta) gxine is not starting up correctly with full screen from a call. trio has a work around, I do too. However we need a fix. I think it is timing. But maybe internal (of gxine) timing. A similar issue has been a round for awhile with gxine. What to do? THAT is the question! Laughing

Any ideas?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 04:16    Post subject:  

To get mplayer fullscreen I just right click control face
and click full screen.

As far as full screen from the get-go; geexbox videos open
full; wonder what their method is.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 05:44    Post subject:  

Just a suggestion. After adding a new channel, that the fields are cleared.

If you add a channel and then run another channel it still shows the original added channel in fields when you return.

If you then select another channel to delete it will do nothing at this point.

Fields have to be correct in every way or empty to select a channel to delete.

Don't know about you but I can't remember URLs that easily. Very Happy

I take it that channel names are limited length ?

Another one is to remove 'powered by gxine' from title.
Change it to "PSTREAMVID by Trio"

You can tell I haven't cheated and looked at code Laughing

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7781
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 05:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
You can tell I haven't cheated and looked at code. Laughing


Er... can we? Laughing

I agree with the "powered by gxine" bit.... what about... "powered by puppy" and keep the icon Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 06:07    Post subject:  

Definitely, I've stopped looking because I invariably made mods and got myself involved.
Now I stick to my own stuff. Wink

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 06:21    Post subject:  

Tasmod and micko

Yes, the name field is limited.

Yes, you clear the fields after adding channels for next addition

No, no need to clear fileds to remove channel, just click on the list, and click remove

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 Aug 2009, 06:44    Post subject:  

Ok, Tasmod got a point

1. I changed the buttons placement, now sgould be clearer which button will do which

2. Refresh of Name and URL fields after adding a channel

I will make a pet later, after there are more news about gxine

Thanks Rob and Micko

what you think Rob, Mick? Sylvander, rjbrewer? JamesC?
pstreamvid_next.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.9 KB
 Viewed   1249 Time(s)

pstreamvid_next.jpg


Last edited by trio on Sun 02 Aug 2009, 06:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0869s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]