Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 21:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Anyone tried Puppy on a Dell Latitude CPt?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
SnowDog

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 312
Location: Manitoba Canada

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2006, 03:36    Post_subject:  Anyone tried Puppy on a Dell Latitude CPt?  

As per the title, I'm wondering if anyone has experience running puppy on one of these laptops & if there are any issues you know of?

I picked one up for pretty cheap with a 500Mhz Celeron & 128 Mb ram. with 98SE on it, but I think it'd be a nice little puppy box if it's compatible.

I have oodles of the latest distro's so I'm sure I can get some kind of penquin to work in there but dammit I really hate to fire up anything else anymore.

I have to use wifes machine with SUSE 10 for formatting my dvdrw's cuz pup spits em out. I really thought that suse was not bad when I first put it in there, but after getting spoiled by Puppy's speed.....I just don't wanna play with anything else now.

P.S. (hope barry don't get mad at me for this but)....
If anybody needs some Ubunu cd's & can't download em cuz of sucky connection, pay the shipping & I'll send ya one.

Thanks

_________________
If you find my posts helpful and you want to say thanks, please consider clicking the www button under my posts to visit my website.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
kethd

Joined: 20 Oct 2005
Posts: 451
Location: Boston MA USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2006, 12:52    Post_subject:  

Dell Latitude CP/CPi require FrameBuffer, so need Xorg, which is included in 1.0.7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Auda

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: New Zealand ( Christchurchish )

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2006, 16:26    Post_subject:  

Puppy 0.98 runs fine and 102 does as well except that I have a x for a cursor rather than an arrow.

Auda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SnowDog

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 312
Location: Manitoba Canada

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jan 2006, 20:49    Post_subject: Update & more?  

Thanks for the replies guys.
I managed to find this page http://linux.oldcrank.com/tips/latitude/ today, I couldn't get there resterday for some reason, which has some info on this machine & linux.

I was wondering about the built in modem (if you guys use it at all, it's supposed to be a Actiontec 56k v90 winmodem) & what pcmcia lan cards or modems you use.
I have a 3CXM756 but I need to grab a lan for it.

Also, I can't seem to find whether this machine has any boot usb options?

_________________
If you find my posts helpful and you want to say thanks, please consider clicking the www button under my posts to visit my website.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 16:58    Post_subject:  

Sorry I've never use a modem in it.
Lan cards, I have used xircom edimax with out problems could find the models if you like.
There is no boot from usb that I know of

Auda
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0438s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]