Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Fatdog2 64bit alpha1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 15:05    Post_subject:  Fatdog2 64bit alpha1  

This is a 64bit (amd64 - x86_64) build of Fatdog2. This is build using the T2 trunk packages and Xorg from T2 revision 30200 so we can have Xorg 7.3. That's xorg-server 1.4.2, I did update many of the Xorg drivers and libdrm (I needed radeonhd with Xv working). Of course everything was compiled for x86_64 architecture (except the initrd, it's 32bit). I built this mainly for a HTPC so some of the packages are different from the 32bit version. Highlights:

Firefox 3.5.1
Flash 10 64bit alpha
Xine cvs
HandbrakeCLI with simple gtkdialog GUI
Kino
Sylpheed
Gparted

Lots of other little stuff. Some of the little stuff that's usually in Puppy is gone (wouldn't compile).

For a speed test I booted the 64bit version and the 32bit version on the same machine and used Handbrake to RIP a DVD. The 64bit version was about 20% faster. So maybe it was worth the work.

If you want to use Wine, this isn't for you. Wine is 32bit only (there's a 64bit version in the works).


Do not try to do a frugal install to ext4, it's not supported in the initrd.gz, Full installs should be fine.

You'll fine it here:

http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/kirk/Fatdog2-64bit/

c0f561f00b8e062b67f4ef312f9aa8b3 Fatdog64-2a1.iso
8dad357a982168a13e8985f295481dc3 fd64-devx_200.sfs

There's a ATI fglrx 9.7 package there too, you'll need a pretty new card to use it. If you just want good 2d acceleration use the built-in radeonhd driver instead, It's better.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 15:56    Post_subject:  

Hi kirk,

I put the files here http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/kirk/Fatdog2-64bit/

I made md5sum.txt files and they are correct.

When you do updates would you please let me know via pm or email with a link to the new files.

Best,
Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 21:25    Post_subject:  

Thanks Eric, really appreciate your help. In the future I'll send you a PM. Big thanks for all the Hosting!

Also, I forgot to replace the mkswap and swapon/off Busybox utils. I did that for the 32bit version. Anyway, I'll edit this post later and attach the files.
swap-utils.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  swap-utils.tar.gz 
Filesize  14.34 KB 
Downloaded  906 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 01:50    Post_subject:  

kirk,

Just downloaded your new 64bit alpha and did a frugal installation on sdb7 of this system:
Quote:
BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart 5280 All-in-One, Printer-Scanner-Copier


You continue to improve your fine Fatdog pup. The speed is really impressive. Looking forward to seeing it develop especially since this appears to be the first 64bit pup.

Problems noted:
1. Set Global Font in Desktop Menu doesn't work. Barry's 422 had the same problem. See http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00963
2. Gparted fails to recognize my second HD. It shows checkboxes for sda and sdb, however, it only scans sda.
3. The Alsa sound wizard could not configure my sound.
4. Wallpaper setter doesn't work.

Thanks for sharing the results of your hard work.
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 09:26    Post_subject:  

Hi Jim,

Quote:
1. Set Global Font in Desktop Menu doesn't work. Barry's 422 had the same problem. See http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00963


I'll see if I can get Barry's new script from Puppy beta.

Quote:
2. Gparted fails to recognize my second HD. It shows checkboxes for sda and sdb, however, it only scans sda.


Open a terminal and type gparted, after gparted launches try the pull-down menu on the top right to select a different hard drive. Let me know if that works.

Quote:
3. The Alsa sound wizard could not configure my sound.


Go to Menu - Setup - Multiple Sound Card Wizard, and use that to select your sound card/device. Then reboot and go to Menu - Multimedia - AlsaMixer and make sure you card is not muted. If you see MM in one of the controls, it's muted. Press the 'm' key to unmute/mute.

Thanks for the feed back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 10:07    Post_subject:  

HI kirk,

Quote:
Open a terminal and type gparted, after gparted launches try the pull-down menu on the top right to select a different hard drive. Let me know if that works.
Still doesn't work, just skips the initial screen with checkmarks to select which drives to scan. Tazok's Lighthouse has Gparted 4.5 that works well, although not 64bit. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38898
Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Hi tazoc, Just dropping in to say thanks, this is the first newer Pup(py) I've seen since the 4.1-alpha's in which GPartEd works. In fact, I'm so impressed, I'm considering stealing her, ripping out all your WM's and the bling, and putting compiled-from-scratch Openbox on it. If I do, are ya gonna kill me? Laughing

Quote:
Go to Menu - Setup - Multiple Sound Card Wizard, and use that to select your sound card/device. Then reboot and go to Menu - Multimedia - AlsaMixer and make sure you card is not muted. If you see MM in one of the controls, it's muted. Press the 'm' key to unmute/mute.
Still doesn't work.

I've also tried the latest pwidgits and an OOO sfs with no success. Package manager opens but will not update properly. Of course none of these are 64bit applications.

Providing some feedback is my little contribution to helping puppy. You fellows are the ones that do the real work.
Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 13:33    Post_subject:  

Jim,

Could you post the output of probepart and probedisk?


When you ran the Multiple Sound Card Wizard, did it actually show some cards/devices to choose from?


None of the pet packages or sfs files, except ones made for it, will work with this because it's 64bit only, I didn't include 32bit libs.


Thanks,

Kirk
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2009, 14:30    Post_subject:  

HI kirk,

Outputs you requested:

# probepart
/dev/sda1|ntfs|726241272
/dev/sda2|ext3|524008170
/dev/sdb1|none|136777346
/dev/sdb2|none|2
/dev/sdb3|ext4|41945714
/dev/sdb4|vfat|89144684
/dev/sdb5|swap|9108792
/dev/sdb6|ext4|122881058
/dev/sdb7|ext3|225279432
/dev/sr0|none|2097150

probedisk
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|ATA Hitachi HDT72106
/dev/sdb|Direct-Access|ATA WDC WD3200AAJB-0
/dev/sr0|cdrom|PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-217D

Multiple Sound Card Wizard shows:
card0: Intel[HDA Intel], Device 0: ALC1200 Analog [ALC1200 Analog]
card0: Intel[HDA Intel], Device 1: ALC1200 Digital [ALC1200 Digital]
card1: pcsp [pcsp], device 0: pcspeaker [pcsp]
My sound card is a Realtek ALC1200 Audio built into my Asus P6T Motherboard.

Allthough the wallpaper setter doesn't work, the wallpaper has changed from the default to the lite grey.

I wasn't really expecting 32bit applications to work. From what I've seen with Fatdog in the past, this one will eventually be the best for up-to-date hardware and will include enough 64bit applications to satisfy most users.

Thanks,
Jim Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 07:00    Post_subject:  

Just spotted this thread. Magic! Thanks, k. Why didn't BK divert his energy and enthusiasm into 64bit earlier? Poor lad seems to have lost his way at present, mired in endless kernels, versions, compatibilities, patches, etc.! Doubtless he finds all that absorbing but the point is lost on mere users. Wood for the trees syndrome - I guess we're all guilty at times...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 09:32    Post_subject:  

Here's a pet package with some fixes:

* Fixed the Wallpaper setter.

* Replaced the Set global font size app with Barry's new one.

* Update Pburn

* Updated some rc.d scripts.

* Added pureftpd, some how I left it out.


http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/kirk/Fatdog2-64bit/pets/FD64bit-a1-fixes.pet (257K)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 04:59    Post_subject:  

On my 939 with onboard video and old Dell 17" TFT there were problems! On first running (pfix=ram), I got :
<fixing recursive fault but needs reboot>
Subsequently, it crashed on GB k/b & locale settings. Using the US ones, I got to the video selection screen, all options were, in principle, acceptable but all of them ended with a black screen, including the 'test' option. The green monitor lights were suggesting that there was OP being received. None of the usual key combos were effective in returning to selection screen - or any other screen, or even a reset.
Over to you....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 23:08    Post_subject:  

Quote:
<fixing recursive fault but needs reboot>


Looks like the kernel is having some problems with your hardware. It's compiled for AMD64, newer Intels shouldn't have a problem though. Could be a module that your hardware needs that has a bug. Don't really know how to help with this. You've probably done this, but check the md5sum and verify the burn. Xorg is the only option as well, couldn't get the older smaller X servers to compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 01:20    Post_subject:  

Danke schon. My HW is OK, kirk. I try to avoid using Intel stuff - long record of failures, over-pricing, illegal business practices, M$ liaison, etc! md5 is OK, too, but I'm always suspicious of onboard, esp. shared memory, video so will disable this and fit a PCIExpress and/or run it on a crt when time permits (at present, it doesn't). It would be nice to have a vanilla VESA driver, though, even if only for initial testing and setup on a wider range of 64bit stuff. Keep up the good work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rexterd

Joined: 01 Oct 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 04:12    Post_subject:  

Fatdog has aufs2, will it be possible to have a flavor for aufs as root filesystem so we can just mount sfs file and layer it to root and easily detached those sfs on the fly?

I really appreciate Fatdog's fast effort to adopt new kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1411
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 11:13    Post_subject:  

Sage,

I wasn't trying to say your hardware was bad, just that this kernel is having a problem with it. A VESA/framebuffer X server would be nice, but I couldn't find one that would compile. If someone spots a Xvesa type X server on 64bit let me know.


Rexterd,

I haven't tried mounting and unmounting sfs files to the union for quite a while. The last time I tried that, you could add a new branch to the union without problems, but if you removed the branch the system would become unstable. If your interested you can give it a try. I think all of the AUFS tools are in there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0917s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]