Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
How to access SD memory card via TI cardbus controller?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
elcano
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2006, 13:42    Post_subject:  How to access SD memory card via TI cardbus controller?  

I'm running Puppy 1.0.7 on my Dell m700 almost perfectly. First via CD and then loading fron the USB. After several searches in the forum I found how to enable the Intel 2200 WiFi card.

Since Puppy cannot write to the NTFS harddisk I tried to access my Secure Digital Card to store some files. The card is a PNY 512Mb flash card already formatted for use in my camera (this is FAT, or VFAT?).

Anyway, I just dont find the card listed in any Puppy program. Tryed MUT, PMount, MTools and any related program.

This are the Drives found on the Hardware probe:
/dev/hdc|cdrom|PHILIPS CD-RW/DVD-ROM CDD5263
/dev/hda|disk|WDC WD400VE-75HDT0
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|LEXAR DIGITAL FILM

The last one is the USB pendrive from where I'm running Puppy.

And this is the output from the Query-PCI:
===== parse_pci_devices =====
No info found about the device 8086.4220 (NETWORK - OTHER)!
Please send a snapshot of this window to
puppy@goosee.com. Also read Modules HOWTO.
14e4:170c (2,0) 11 [ Broadcom - BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX ] ETHERNET b44
104c:ac8f (1,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] STORAGE - OTHER (null)
104c:802e (12,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] SERIAL (null)
104c:ac8e (6,7) 11 [ Texas Instruments - PCI7420 CardBus Controller ] CARDBUS yenta_socket
104c:ac8e (6,7) 11 [ Texas Instruments - PCI7420 CardBus Controller ] CARDBUS yenta_socket
8086:4220 (2,128) 1 [ (null) - (null) ] NETWORK - OTHER (null)
8086:24c6 (7,3) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] COMM PORT (null)
8086:24c5 (4,1) 11 [ Intel - ] AUDIO i810_audio
8086:24c3 (12,5) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] SERIAL (null)
8086:24ca (1,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] EIDE (null)
8086:24cc (6,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)
8086:2448 (6,4) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)
8086:24cd (12,3) 11 [ Intel - 82801DB USB2 controller ] USB ehci-hcd
8086:24c7 (12,3) 11 [ Intel - USB controller ] USB usb-uhci
8086:24c4 (12,3) 11 [ Intel - 82801DB USB controller2 ] USB usb-uhci
8086:24c2 (12,3) 11 [ Intel - 82801DB USB controller1 ] USB usb-uhci
8086:3582 (3,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] DISPLAY (null)
8086:3582 (3,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] DISPLAY (null)
8086:3585 (8,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] SYSTEM (null)
8086:3584 (8,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] SYSTEM (null)
8086:3580 (6,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)

These are the modules:
No info found about the device 8086.4220 (NETWORK - OTHER)!
Please send a snapshot of this window to
puppy@goosee.com. Also read Modules HOWTO.
ETHERNET b44 : Broadcom BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (14e4:170c) running.
CARDBUS yenta_socket: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller (104c:ac8e) running.
CARDBUS yenta_socket: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller (104c:ac8e) running.
AUDIO i810_audio: Intel (8086:24c5) running.
USB ehci-hcd: Intel 82801DB USB2 controller (8086:24cd) running.
USB usb-uhci: Intel USB controller (8086:24c7) running.
USB usb-uhci: Intel 82801DB USB controller2 (8086:24c4) running.
USB usb-uhci: Intel 82801DB USB controller1 (8086:24c2) running.

Can anybody give me some direction to have this solved?

Thanks,
elcano
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2006, 21:57    Post_subject:  

How are you connecting the SD card to your computer? Do you leave it in the camera and connect the camera to the computer with a USB cable, or what? I have an SD memory card I use in my Canon Powershot A510 camera. Here's how I transfer files without using any special software: Instead of using the USB cable that came with the camera I take the SD card out of the camera and put it in a MediaGear MGKS-100 USB adapter, which turns it into a USB pen drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
elcano
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 21:30    Post_subject: How are you connecting the SD card to your computer?  

It is an interal Secure Digital slot in the left side of the laptop. You can see it to the right of the two USB ports and left of the tiny white SD logo (looks like a white dot).



I dont know where is the USB cable of my camera. Its much easier to remove the card and insert it the laptops slot. This Dell 700m laptop has two USB slots (1 occupied by my Puppy pendrive and the other blocked by the same pendrive) and 1 SD slot. No other flash card format exists, but I know that it can be added via the USB port. I could by a USB hub + USB SD card reader or another pendrive, but I would prefer to use the one that I already have.
Back to top
elcano
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 21:34    Post_subject: A better picture  

Back to top
elcano
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 21:37    Post_subject: How to access internal Secure Digital card?  

I just noticed from the picture that the SD slot is just below the PCMCIA slot. I never use it. Embarassed

Most probably internally it is just a PCMCIA interface.
Back to top
psy-fi

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jan 2006, 02:44    Post_subject:  

word. the sd slot is controlled by the TI Cardbus controller. you need a driver for this controller to work. however, it looks like this driver is running.

you could try taking a look at /etc/pcmcia/config and /etc/pcmcia/config.opts and see if anything in there pertains to your hardware.

alternatively, you could try hooking up your camera via usb, it's works with my hp photosmart e317.

or, you could poke around this thread.

it seems that this is an issue for all laptops using the TI cardbus, but apparently some people have gotten it to mount on /hde.

there is also a kernel boot option disscussed here.

hopefully this helps. if not, at least you know it's something else. ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0566s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]