Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 07:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
XFCE 4.6.1 window manager Pet - alternative to JWM
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Nekroze


Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu 27 Aug 2009, 23:01    Post subject: Working  

Thanks magerlab it works. well it did after rebooting xfce4 twice then it came up. works very nice thanks.

oh and killing the xfdesktop only refreshes everything it advises that as a way to refresh the menus on one of there web pages about custom menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 01:04    Post subject:  

i think in this (latest) xfce4 it's impossible to turn xfdesktop off
in previous versions there was even a checkbox for that

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 07:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
i think in this (latest) xfce4 it's impossible to turn xfdesktop off
in previous versions there was even a checkbox for that


ok thanks for the info..I shall update my brain cells Very Happy ...my version is somewhat older but sounds like that pet is just the job Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nekroze


Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 12:41    Post subject: Also when in "LowFat" puppy  

Also i'd like to add to the topic that even though it dose not say it in the main page, i have had some problem in a "lowfat" or cut down version of puppy with using startxfce4 as it will only seem to open for a moment then crash and return back to the "promt".

i have noted that it seems to be caused by a lack of DRI so as to fix i am to apply the most obvious course of action and down Xorg DRI from the Pet package management petget thing. Full should then also work maybe better but larger.

so in summary anyone using a cut-down puppy AND having problems with this XFCE 4.6 then go to petget and grab Xorg DRI.

EDIr: remove full
Glad to be of any assistance, any time.
Nekroze
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 13:18    Post subject:  

did you installed d-bus pets ?

try to run xfce4-panel in terminal( under JWM) ( or xfwm4, even it will say that Xorg is already started, it might show nedeed dependancies

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nekroze


Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 13:48    Post subject:  SORRY  

Sorry about previous post although the errors where hinting at a DRI problem or lack of it turns out the two dbus dependencies for some reason did not actually register the first and second time i installed them.

after a third attempt it worked perfectly but is still wonder what that DRI problem was all about...

Sorry though
Nekroze
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8349

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2009, 14:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
after a third attempt it worked perfectly but is still wonder what that DRI problem was all about.

is there a compis or similar option perhaps

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CRF

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 02:37    Post subject:  

I've downloaded and used this package of Xfce 4.6 with Fatdog 112.

I really prefer the simplicity of Thunar over Rox. How can I change my puppy to use Thunar as the default file manager?

Also, when I install Cairo-Dock, the application works but when I attempt to modify one of the launchers it opens up the file manager (Thunar) then locks up. When I used NOP4.13r1 with Xfce and Cairo-Dock, I didn't have this issue. I've also configued Xfce with composite and I see that it does work, but it's not working in Cairo-Dock.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cichlasoma

Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 15:17    Post subject:  

I love Puppy 4.21 with this xfce 4.61!
One minor issue I encounter is that when I start X in xfce and later restart it in JWM, some menu entries lose their icons (in JWM). Has anybody dealt with it (and fixed it, perhaps)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jur

Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2009, 01:51    Post subject:  

Will XFCE 4.6 work with Puppy 4.30?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2009, 06:48    Post subject: puppy 4.3  

Xfce 4.6.1 pet mostly works in puppy 4.3. Some small changes are needed though.

The /sbin/shutdown script needs to be edited as wmreboot & wmpoweroff are not in the same place as previous puppies.

edit the lines to read exec wmpoweroff &

Also the new puppy package manager in 4.3 changes any categories that it does not recognise in .desktop files to 'BuildingBlock' which screws up the menus in the xfce pet.

for example the category in the /usr/share/applications/help.desktop should be X-Xfce-Toplevel;

Don't forget to install dbus and dbus-glib before the xfce pet.
Oh, and the xfce_pupevent pet probably wont work as it will need some tweaking for puppy 4.3

edit 13.10.09 : Here is a modified pupevent for 4.3 :
xfce_pupevent_430.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xfce_pupevent_430.pet 
Filesize  15.56 KB 
Downloaded  889 Time(s) 

Last edited by gray on Tue 13 Oct 2009, 06:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 17:34    Post subject:  

thanks for all the info, working excellent w/the new kernel. all except the pupevents as u mentioned. any plans on updating it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 23:45    Post subject:  

I tried oroborus today as an ultralite wm - and thats all it is http://www.oroborus.org/

strangely if you click on an icon in rox (no xfce installed) you have to click on the desktop to open the window?

anyhow I'll post it in case anyone wants to try it with xfce - it has the lowest footprint I have seen so far

They do have a desktop icon, menu program and key launcher.

(the themes are not required - just extra)
keylaunch-1.3.3-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  keylaunch-1.3.3-i486.pet 
Filesize  3.97 KB 
Downloaded  693 Time(s) 
desklaunch-1.1.5-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  desklaunch-1.1.5-i486.pet 
Filesize  4.95 KB 
Downloaded  726 Time(s) 
deskmenu-1.4.2-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  deskmenu-1.4.2-i486.pet 
Filesize  8.18 KB 
Downloaded  728 Time(s) 
oroborus-themes-2.0.18-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  oroborus-themes-2.0.18-i486.pet 
Filesize  132.92 KB 
Downloaded  684 Time(s) 
oroborus-2.0.18-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  oroborus-2.0.18-i486.pet 
Filesize  29.29 KB 
Downloaded  707 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 07:16    Post subject:  

as far as i recall xfwm4 was made on oborobus base

would like to try it with fbpanel and in xfce4

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 10:47    Post subject: where is removeable disk icon on desktop  

where is removeable disk that can mount and open partition ? its was used for me. its gone!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0779s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]