Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 04:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Sound doesn't work on Gigabyte GA -845PE800 or -K8NF-9
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
kenny

Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 00:22    Post_subject:  Sound doesn't work on Gigabyte GA -845PE800 or -K8NF-9  

Sound iis variable,
Works fine on my Compaque Armada 500 and Gigabyte board with AMD800 with soundblaster.

But
cannot get it to work on Gigabyte GA-845PE800
or
GA-K8NF-9

These both are recognised in Knoppix.
Unknown vendor
Generic
snd-intel8x0 seems to work fine
can I get it and load it in the same way?

I have fiddled read the Helpfiles,
and the other posts and downloaded modules-ALL-xxx.tar.gz
But cannot make it work.

PS Video works fine and DVD runs well but no sound

Many thanks Kenny

I now have Puppy 1.07 which I had hoped would find the hardware which 1.05 coulfd not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2006, 01:08    Post_subject:  

I'm not sure if there are drivers built into puppy for your card but
you could try ALSA http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=26709#26709
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kenny

Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 00:55    Post_subject: Post subject: Sound doesn't work on Gigabyte GA -845PE800 or  

Thanks Guys, I will keep learning.
Kenny
javascript:emoticon('Smile')
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2367
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 03:04    Post_subject: try different port  

OK, this is a bit of oddness that occured in my machine. The front plugin for sound only worked after a boot in Windows, This became a issues after Windows was installed in an linux only box. Prior to that, the front plug always worked. Now after moving the box I connected to the back plug (which I thought I bypassed to the front) just to get the cable out of the way while moving the unit.
To my suprise the back plug always works in Linux.
and the volume is set low in gine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
psy-fi

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jan 2006, 04:55    Post_subject:  

i have the same lack of sound problem on my intel desktop board when i try to use the on-board sound card (AC'97 based). I also have a Phillips Sonic Edge installed though, so it's not that big of a deal for me.

Could be an AC'97 driver problem, as I don't think it worked in Fedora, either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drini


Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2006, 03:13    Post_subject: give this a try  

those having problems with sound on latest puppy (1.0.Cool
try pugging some headphones. For some reason, here laptop speakers are muted but if I put headphones I can hear music (and no, it's not a mixer issue, all channels are enabled and fully up)

But I don't have (yet) more info to provide
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0472s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]