How to execute wifi startup script at boot?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
Lfys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 20:06

How to execute wifi startup script at boot?

#1 Post by Lfys »

After the answer I got to my previous post, I got my wifi up and running ... manually.

To have it always available, I had to add these lines to /root/.etc/rc.d/rc.local:

Code: Select all

cd /
tar -zxvf /root/acx100-0.2.0pre8-57.tar.gz
depmod
Finally, according to the instructions, my PC should always execute the script below, but ... I don't have a clue how to do that.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
echo "Configuring Wireless LAN Card"
echo
modprobe acx_pci 
iwconfig wlan0 essid *MYESSID* key *MYKEY* mode Managed
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d wlan0

User avatar
Pizzasgood
Posts: 6183
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 20:28
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

#2 Post by Pizzasgood »

Just put it in /etc/rc.d/rc.local too

Code: Select all

cd /
tar -zxvf /root/acx100-0.2.0pre8-57.tar.gz
depmod
echo "Configuring Wireless LAN Card"
echo
modprobe acx_pci
iwconfig wlan0 essid *MYESSID* key *MYKEY* mode Managed
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d wlan0
Anything in /etc/rc.d/rc.local will be run with every bootup.
[size=75]Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib[/size]
[img]http://www.browserloadofcoolness.com/sig.png[/img]

Lfys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 16 Jan 2006, 20:06

#3 Post by Lfys »

Right! The script is running. Thank you. :D

Still no wifi without using WAG, though.
There seems to be something wrong with dhcpcd

User avatar
trapster
Posts: 2117
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 23:14
Location: Maine, USA
Contact:

#4 Post by trapster »

Go back to your previous post and see what I showed you that I have in my rc.local

The info I found to get mine to work was to have the "sleep" line in there (to give iwconfig time) and also the line to remove (rm) anything dhcpcd-ath0.* from any previous boots.

(of course, ath0 is my driver, yours will be different.)
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog

Guest

#5 Post by Guest »

Ah, yes. I've seen that sleep. Is the number I have to add the time in ms?

And yes, the removal seems consistent with a message I got in the console.

How wonderful is the support you get from a forum like this one.
Thanks, boys & girls!

Guest

#6 Post by Guest »

# sleep --help
BusyBox v0.60.5 (2005.09.04-04:44+0000) multi-call binary

Usage: sleep N

Pause for N seconds.

#

Post Reply