Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 18:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Driver needed for 10/100 Ethernet on Intel board G31T-M7
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
rubberdragon

Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Location: On permanent leave

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2009, 09:40    Post_subject:  Driver needed for 10/100 Ethernet on Intel board G31T-M7
Sub_title: 4.21 loads Atheros atl2 - 3.01 still not connecting
 

My favourite Puppy 3.01 installation does not see the ethernet on my new motherboard. I have tried Tempestuous's driver atl2-2.0.3-k2.6.21.7.pet, but after installing it I see no sign of the module in either Bootmanager or Internet wizard. Am I missing something? Help very much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2009, 23:58    Post_subject:  

Please run this command -
Code:
lspci -n

and post the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rubberdragon

Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Location: On permanent leave

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2009, 03:47    Post_subject:  

Many thanks, Tempestuous. Since my last post I have found the installed driver module in /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/extra. After running Internet Wizard and loading atl2, (not atl2...etc - the full driver name - as previously) eth0 was recognised, but the final step (dhcp) failed.

In 3.01 I have a full installation. The output you requested is:

00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:29c0 (rev 10)
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:29c2 (rev 10)
00:1b.0 Class 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 01)
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 01)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 01)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 01)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:244e (rev e1)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:27b8 (rev 01)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:27df (rev 01)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:27c0 (rev 01)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 01)
01:00.0 Class 0200: 1969:2048 (rev a0)
02:01.0 Class 0c00: 1033:00f2 (rev 01)
02:02.0 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
02:02.1 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
02:02.2 Class 0c03: 1033:00e0 (rev 04)


For comparison, here is the same output from a 2.02 full installation, also with the new board.

00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:29c0 (rev 10)
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:29c2 (rev 10)
00:1b.0 Class 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 01)
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 01)
00:1d.3 Class 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 01)
00:1d.7 Class 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 01)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:244e (rev e1)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:27b8 (rev 01)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:27df (rev 01)
00:1f.2 Class 0101: 8086:27c0 (rev 01)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 01)
01:00.0 Class 0200: 1969:2048 (rev a0)
02:01.0 Class 0c00: 1033:00f2 (rev 01)
02:02.0 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
02:02.1 Class 0c03: 1033:0035 (rev 43)
02:02.2 Class 0c03: 1033:00e0 (rev 04)

I am not concerned about getting 2.02 connected.

Kind regards.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2009, 12:40    Post_subject:  

That class of Intel-based motherboard typically needs extra boot options to affect how the kernel interacts with the bios.
Open /boot/grub/menu.lst in Geany, and to the end of line starting with "kernel" add these two boot options -
Code:
irqpoll routeirq

Save. Reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rubberdragon

Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Location: On permanent leave

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2009, 16:03    Post_subject:  

Many thanks, Tempestuous. Dhcp successful first time, and this post made from Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexey_laa


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 08:46    Post_subject: I need a driver for Intel 82559 Ethernet adapter  

tempestuous wrote:
That class of Intel-based motherboard typically needs extra boot options to affect how the kernel interacts with the bios.
Open /boot/grub/menu.lst in Geany, and to the end of line starting with "kernel" add these two boot options -
Code:
irqpoll routeirq

Save. Reboot.



Hello! I have the same problem. My Intel 82559 network adapter doesn't work. I see it when typing a command "lspci" in a console, but can't see using an "ifconfig -a".

I've inserted an "irqpoll routeirq" as an options to a kernel loading command in a "menu.lst" as it was described above. But it has no result - no more network interfaces were detected.

I've tried to use a Win XP drivers with a master "Load module/Ndiswrapper", but with no result, too.

A system that I use is Lucid Puppy 5.1.1.

Help me to set up a driver, please.

I found a linux driver for 82559 adapter on an Intel website, but not yet tried it because have to install an extra Linux component (devx) to compile the driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICQ 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 09:11    Post_subject:  

alexey_laa, we need to know the device ID of your ethernet device. Please run this command -
Code:
lspci -n

and report the result.

Also, what's your hardware? Is it a motherboard with onboard LAN? If so, what brand/model of motherboard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexey_laa


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 10:04    Post_subject: I need a driver for Intel 82559 Ethernet adapter  

My current PC configuration:

Intel Celeron 950, 128 Cache, FSB100
2 x 128MB PC133
Chaintech 6OIA3T i815EP Socket-370
20 GB ATA WDC WD200EB-00CS
S3/SAVAGE W/8MB
2 x 82559 Intel Pro/100 PCI
250W ATX P4

I have two similar network adapters on a separate PCI cards

A hardware data reported by "lspci -n" command:

# lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 8086:1130 (rev 04)
00:01.0 0604: 8086:1131 (rev 04)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:244e (rev 11)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:2440 (rev 11)
00:1f.1 0101: 8086:244b (rev 11)
00:1f.2 0c03: 8086:2442 (rev 11)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:2443 (rev 11)
00:1f.4 0c03: 8086:2444 (rev 11)
01:00.0 0300: 5333:8a22 (rev 03)
02:02.0 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 09)
02:03.0 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 09)
02:09.0 0401: 13f6:0111 (rev 10)
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICQ 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 10:31    Post_subject:  

alexey_laa wrote:
02:02.0 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 09)
02:03.0 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 09)

Well both of your ethernet devices are detected. 8086:1229 is Intel 82557/8/9/0/1 Ethernet Pro 100, supported in Puppy by the e100 driver. That's pretty basic stuff, nothing exotic. There has been no significant update to this driver in years.

I suggest you run the "dmesg" command, and look for any errors relating to ethernet detection, or e100 driver-loading errors, and report.

I suspect a resource allocation problem, which might be solved with various other boot options ... but a simple check might be to temporarily remove one of the ethernet cards, and see if Puppy sees a valid network interface with just one card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexey_laa


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 11:16    Post_subject: I need a driver for Intel 82559 Ethernet adapter  

I've run a command with two adapters installed, and saw an error 11 and "PCI INT A disabled" message. I've saw the same messages with one network adapter.

Look at the dumps of "dmesg" command in direct message, please.

Can the driver from Intel website ( http://bit.ly/cNCV1g ) be useful?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICQ 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 19:33    Post_subject:  

Your dmesg results are not healthy, and I see you are still using the boot options "irqpoll routeirq" which are clearly not working.
So first remove these boot options from your menu.lst

Now I suspect that your bios settings may be at fault; particularly relating to apic/ACPI settings. It might be worthwhile resetting your bios to default settings.
Now boot Puppy again, and you might be lucky.

If still no success, send me your new dmesg output.
There's another boot parameter that I think may work in your case.

alexey_laa wrote:
Can the driver from Intel website ( http://bit.ly/cNCV1g ) be useful?

Drivers do not automatically fix problems. In any case, that's an outdated driver, which fails to compile under the 2.6.33.2 kernel in Puppy 5.1.x

No driver can work while underlying resource settings (bios, IRQ, etc) are failing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexey_laa


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue 23 Nov 2010, 04:30    Post_subject: I need a driver for Intel 82559 Ethernet adapter  

Quote:
... resetting your bios to default...


Hello! I've tried to set BIOS to "Fail - Safe Default", the "dmseg" dump is sent to you in PM.

I found also that this network adapter works with a PuppyRus 1.3.0 ( http://bit.ly/fQvCfo ) - a build based on the Australian Smile Barry Kauler's Puppy Linux 3.01 with the kernel 2.6.21.7. I've launched that PuppyRus as Live CD. Maybe the network settings are not correct, and I can't browse the internet yet. But network connection works, and I can open my DSL router's configuration at http://192.168.1.1.

Another forum ( http://bit.ly/eVq3sv ) says about similar problem, I reading that now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICQ 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Nov 2010, 05:52    Post_subject:  

OK, I see the bios-reset did not fix the problem.
But now I see this in your dmesg output -
Code:
e100: 0000:02:03.0: e100_eeprom_load: EEPROM corrupted

Ah, the e100 module has an option which may fix that. Try running these two commands -
Code:
rmmod e100
modprobe e100 eeprom_bad_csum_allow=1

This will unload the e100 module, then reload it with a special option.
Now check if a network interface has been created
Code:
ifconfig

If you see eth0, you're good to go.
If you don't see eth0, there's still a chance the driver loaded. Do this -
Code:
ifconfig -a

If "eth0" can now be seen, it just means the interface needs to be brought up, as such -
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexey_laa


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue 23 Nov 2010, 09:24    Post_subject: I need a driver for Intel 82559 Ethernet adapter  

Quote:
Ah, the e100 module has an option which may fix that. Try running these two commands -
Code:

rmmod e100
modprobe e100 eeprom_bad_csum_allow=1




Wow! I've made these changes, and found that eth0 appeared!

Then I've set up a PPPoE connection - it works. Some network settings maybe wrong, I can't open no WEB-pages, but can open my DSL router setup at http://192.168.1.1 Could you check out my network settings, please?

I send a dump of devices status and my network status (netstat -r -n, route) in PM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ICQ 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5240
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Nov 2010, 13:33    Post_subject:  

OK, your problem was due to a quirk of the e100 driver under the 2.6.33.2 kernel.
Here's how to make the fix automatic at every boot up; open /etc/modprobe.conf in Geany
and add this line at the bottom -
Code:
options e100 eeprom_bad_csum_allow=1

I don't think it's necessary to add the "ifconfig eth0 up" command, because I think (??) the Network Wizard will do this automatically.

Sorry, I can't help with PPPoE. All I know is there's a "Roaring Penguin" setup wizard within the Internet Connection Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0929s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]