Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 18:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
password problem
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
harry100

Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2006, 12:16    Post_subject:  password problem  

Hello
i have burned the live cd and it works a treat. However if i tryto use it on another computer it boots up ok until it is ready to go to graphical then it askes for user name and password. It is the same on any other computer all have plenty of memory 512. When i put the disk in the machine that created it no username or passwoed comes up,i did not insert any user name or password other than in the hide botton but that pasword does not work if in another computer , Any ideas
I think that what it does is a good idea so that no one could use the cd but i dont know how it has came about
Harry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11118
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Jan 2006, 16:18    Post_subject:  

Is it a multisession Puppy? The regular Puppy live CD isn't supposed to require a password, but this problem crops up a lot nevertheless. As far as I know the only proven cause is a corrupted pup001 file somewhere in the computer, which Puppy finds when it boots because it looks for a pup001 file at boot unless you tell it not to. What happens if you try to boot with option 4 (not to look for pup001 file) at the boot prompt?

Also, how much RAM have you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2006, 21:26    Post_subject:  

i have threads on here regarding the password prompt too.....
my version, im running a laptop with NO HARD DRIVE, due to hd failure, so there isnt a pup file for mine to look for...and like i said, it runs beautifully for a week or more than it does this u/p crap....

besides, why cant someone just say what the username password combo is??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2006, 22:23    Post_subject:  

teecee wrote:

besides, why cant someone just say what the username password combo is??


There is no username and password combo. The user is "root" and in Puppy there is no password set for root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2006, 22:44    Post_subject:  

dvw86 wrote:
teecee wrote:

besides, why cant someone just say what the username password combo is??


There is no username and password combo. The user is "root" and in Puppy there is no password set for root.


i have tried ¨root¨ and it still prompts for a password, and if i leave it blank,it just keeps prompting.....

again, why does it work beautifully and the start this crap??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2006, 01:44    Post_subject:  

teecee wrote:

i have tried ¨root¨ and it still prompts for a password, and if i leave it blank,it just keeps prompting.....

again, why does it work beautifully and the start this crap??


If it asks for a username and password, something is wrong. Is it a multi-session CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2006, 23:21    Post_subject:  

dvw86 wrote:
teecee wrote:

i have tried ¨root¨ and it still prompts for a password, and if i leave it blank,it just keeps prompting.....

again, why does it work beautifully and the start this crap??


If it asks for a username and password, something is wrong. Is it a multi-session CD?


yes, it is the 1.07 multisession....i had it running great....had save a total of maybe four sesssions to it......on a standard cd-r.....it was fantastik....and now, i cant access it.....

and, pardon my anger toward anyone here, but no one can come up with any idea or possible solution.
Back to top
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2006, 00:12    Post_subject:  

I would say that the pup file on the CD has problems. I don't use the multisession CD since I boot from HD, but the first things I would check is to see if the CD or the pup file are full. You may have also had a bad burn the last time you saved the information to the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2006, 19:02    Post_subject:  

dvw86 wrote:
I would say that the pup file on the CD has problems. I don't use the multisession CD since I boot from HD, but the first things I would check is to see if the CD or the pup file are full. You may have also had a bad burn the last time you saved the information to the CD.


i have burned this cd at least seven times, downloaded from two differing sites, and have the same problem. how can a bad pup file work beautifully, then all the sudden not, and prompt for a u/p???
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11118
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2006, 00:05    Post_subject:  

If you boot a regular Puppy live (not multisession) CD, then put the bad multisession CD in the drive and mount it, can you access all its files and directories?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2006, 14:31    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
If you boot a regular Puppy live (not multisession) CD, then put the bad multisession CD in the drive and mount it, can you access all its files and directories?


yes, i have done that before. i see all the files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0637s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]