Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 22:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jaunty Puppy Alpha9 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
fyujj

Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 18:57    Post subject:  

Celeron D325 (2.53 GHz), 768 MB RAM, video card GF4 MX460.

I've created a directory in ubuntu's '/' partition, copied vmlinuz, initrd.gz and the sfs file and needed only to add
Code:
title      Puppy 5-alpha 9
root      (hd0,4)
kernel      /pup5/vmlinuz
initrd      /pup5/initrd.gz
to the menu.lst.

Everything working fine, with eth0/auto dhcp network.
I've read a post about this puppy being memory hungry and checked top process viewer. There's this process 'X :0 -br -nolisten tcp' that was grabbing a lot of ram. Just to make sure, I checked after a fresh boot: same result.
Maybe it has nothing to do, but I see a 'br' there and I may have set a 'br' (Brazil) locale (not sure).
memfresh.png
 Description   
 Filesize   115.3 KB
 Viewed   731 Time(s)

memfresh.png

pup5mem.png
 Description   
 Filesize   108.05 KB
 Viewed   692 Time(s)

pup5mem.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 483
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 10:23    Post subject: GParted Broken
Subject description: Searches Endlessly
 

Suddenly GParted doesn't work in 476. The screen comes up and the greyed-out searching function goes on, but it never stops.
I booted up a separate GParted and it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jaapz


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Assen, NL

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 11:31    Post subject:  

I have the same Gparted issue here.
Also the desktop icon switcher doesnt work properly. It does switch icons, but on reboot (i use full hd install) it just goes back to the default (not so very pretty xD) icons.

Am using it now as my main laptop os Smile

Oh, and when i install packages from the ubuntu repos, it doesn't install the dependencies with it? Every program i got from ubuntu repos and tried so far didnt work Razz I tried emesene, midori and some other i dont remember xD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 11:56    Post subject:  

jaapz you tried to install midori man, that would be a big install, with all the extra qt/webkit etc, If you did it as a test thats cool, but if you wanted it as a regular browser, If I was you, I would compile it, it would take a lot of time, trust me I did it once and had to compile the whole QT 4, to get webkit, Since 4 series didn't have it, it took like 4+hrs of compiling and about 1.5GB of working directory, but the finished browser with the needed deps was around 12MB I think it was. but 12MB is a lot smaller than maybe 40mb+ if you install it from ubuntu. Thats one of the whole reasons I'm kind of against using ubunu/debian/ repos, The packages tend to carry a lot of extra deps that puppy doesn't need, Its nice to have it as a option, but as a regular repo, I use the puppy forum or compile it myself, I've used the Ubuntu repo a lot Smile mostly for software searchers to find source packages, Since they also provide all the sources its a great easy library to search for software sources and the download speed isn't bad either Smile plus the nice thing about getting sources from Ubuntu, they list all the deps and then you have a good idea of what your getting yourself into before you start compiling. Also sometimes they patch sources with fixes which is good.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jaapz


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Assen, NL

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 12:02    Post subject:  

I am already trying to compile midori, but yet without succes Razz
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=44655
I don't really know how to set up a good compiling system :$ I tried setting up the devx but havent succeeded in that either..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 12:26    Post subject:  

jaapz wrote:
I am already trying to compile midori, but yet without succes Razz
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=44655
I don't really know how to set up a good compiling system :$ I tried setting up the devx but havent succeeded in that either..

a simple way is have a spare ext3 partition and copy the cd files onto it, not into folders just as soon as you mount the partition and it opens copy them there, Then copy the devx_sfs to that same location.
then leave the cd in the drive, and click shutdown, a screen will ask if you want to make a pupsave, click yes, then click the largest size you can afford. and follow the rest of the instructions until you reboot with the cd in the drive, Then this is optional, but probably needed if you don't have much memory/space left, I make a massive pupsave Smile
To make a massive pupsave you click Menu/Utility/Increase Personal storage Size
pick 512MB, now its time to hack that puppy Smile Only do this step if you have a ext3 partition and the space to do it in Smile
go to /mnt/home/pupsaveresize.txt <--- that should be located where your pupsave is located. Right click on it and select "Open As Text"
now it should read 524288, but thats not enough so put a number "8" in front of it and it should now look like 8524288
now save it and reboot, it will take some time to reboot the first time because It has to make the 8.5GB pupsave.
I usually use a 16.5GB pupsave and also I copy and rename the extension, That way once I uses up a lot of it, I simple delete it and rename the extension back to .sfs from something like .szzzzzzz and I'm good to go after a hard reboot. (push power button on case) Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jaapz


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Assen, NL

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 14:04    Post subject:  

Hehe, thnx for the info, but isnt there just a way i can compile midori just on my upup full hd install? Razz Would be way easier and i dont think its impossible Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2009, 14:32    Post subject:  

jaapz wrote:
Hehe, thnx for the info, but isnt there just a way i can compile midori just on my upup full hd install? Razz Would be way easier and i dont think its impossible Razz

copy the devx/sfs to your mnt/ directory and reboot
or click on the devx it should open, highlite the folders and copy them to a new folder in say root like
/root/devx
then do the dir2pet /root/devx
and follow the instructions and make that folder a pet Smile
install the pet and get compiling.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 20:59    Post subject:
Subject description: Window manager doesn't manage transmission window
 

I installed transmission from puppy's package manager, it pulled it from the ubuntu repositories). It was missing one library which I pulled from my Ubuntu install. It starts and runs fine but I get no window manager around it, no bar @ the top no way to close minimize etc.
Any suggestions?

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ringofyre

Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2009, 08:57    Post subject: For Rob (tasmod)
Subject description: Wireless keyboard/mouse problems.
 

Unpluging and repluging the usb receiver worked for me once x was running properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hartiberlin

Joined: 21 May 2009
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2009, 09:42    Post subject:  

Hi,
I tested the ppa.iso and pps.iso

ppa.iso would not boot from Fat32 USB stick as it said
it could not find ppa-422.sfs

Then downloaded the newer pps.iso
and that booted fine...
But it seems it does not contain the latest WPA2 compatible
WIFI drivers.

I have a Realtek RTL8180 based PCMCIA WLAN card
and it does not work with it.

it even can not find any WLAN network at all.

The distis I got the my Realtek RTL8180 based PCMCIA WLAN card
to work with WPA2 encryption are Fatdog2 beta and turbopup and flexpup.

Hope this helps somehow.

Regards, Stefan.

_________________
overunity.com open source free energy research forum
overunity.de Deutsches free energy research forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n01fu

Joined: 10 Apr 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 18 Aug 2009, 13:30    Post subject: fprot issue
Subject description: downloads but fscan returns error
 

Athlon 5000 w 1GB ram, frugal install. fprot downloads, but immediately an error from fscan saying

"fscan - fprot:

file not found!

Aborting..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tomasrey88

Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 13 Sep 2009, 04:55    Post subject: Do Not Base On Ubuntu, It Has Major Bugs Developers Igore
Subject description: Keep Puppy Independent
 

Dear Barry,

Please do not base Puppy on Ubuntu. It has major bugs that the developers ignore. Keep Puppy independent.

If you use USB 2.0 devices such as USB flash or external DVD RW drives or external hard drives on USB 1.0 computers with Ubuntu, it will cause data corruption. This does not happen in Puppy 4.2.1. Please refer to the following webpage for details:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1231361

Please do not base Puppy on Ubuntu. Keep Puppy independent.

Thanks,
tomasrey88.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sapik

Joined: 15 Sep 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 15 Sep 2009, 19:08    Post subject:  Re: Jaunty Puppy Alpha9 feedback  

BarryK wrote:
Announced on my blog:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00768

I have started this forum thread for bug reports and general feedback.
...


Hello Barry,
Just reporting, Jaunty puppy works well on a Stock Toshiba Satellite 2800 laptop.
I installed as a Full installation on a second partition. It is a recent installation and I didn't probe exhaustively but what I test worked perfect. Also the pcmcia wireless card works.
By the way, I am posting using the laptop.

Some information of the machine:
CPU: Intel Celeron (Coppermine) @ 650MHz (max speed)
RAM: Stock 64MB
HD: 5GB
Wireless: Unknown Chinese PCMCIA card
SWAP: 250MB as a first partition.
OS related: acpi=force, Xorg@1024x768

Thank you to Barry and all the Puppy community. Puppy Linux Rocks! on old computers! Razz

Greetings from Costa Rica.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cichlasoma

Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 06:24    Post subject:  

I've just tried 476 out quite quickly.
On different machines, I see no icons in menu in Xorg.
In Xvesa it's OK, but Puppy cannot shut the computer down (or reboot it), it just restarts X instead, trying to shut down X restarts it instead as well.
I've tried to install circa 10 Ubuntu packages, in all the cases, Puppy reported no dependencies were missing, yet when I clicked the created menu entry, nothing happened. I've tried to run from console only some of them, i got messages on missing dependencies.
Was I especially "lucky" to choose packages which are special in some way or is installation of Ubuntu packages generally still not working?
(I was running a frugal install on a hard drive.)

Last edited by cichlasoma on Tue 29 Sep 2009, 06:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0960s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]