Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 02:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Made initrd.gz cpio file, but it won`t boot... [Solved]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5010
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 03:34    Post subject:  Made initrd.gz cpio file, but it won`t boot... [Solved]  

Here`s the command I used to make the initrd.gz file:
Code:
find $DIR -print | cpio -o | gzip -9 > initrd.gz_NEW

I get the error: Can`t mount root file system on unknown block .............

Any ideas anyone?

Last edited by sunburnt on Mon 12 Oct 2009, 00:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 06:00    Post subject: Re: Made initrd.gz cpio file, but it won`t boot...  

Hmmm .....

Code:
find $DIR -print | cpio -o | gzip -9 > initrd.gz_NEW


That will borks the directory structure ... You need to go into the $DIR first :

Code:
cd $DIR
find . | cpio -o -H newc | gzip -9 > ../initrd.gz.new



That's close enough to what my own script does ....

Rgds

Fixed: format used

._.

Last edited by Patriot on Sun 11 Oct 2009, 08:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5010
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 06:09    Post subject:  

Thanks Patriot, I`ll give it a go...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5010
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 06:25    Post subject:  

Nope... Sorry to say it still has the same error! Sad
Kernel panic, can`t mount root file system on unknown block..........
I tried it on Pup400 that I`m experimenting with,
and MediaPup I`m code hacking so it won`t copy the SFS to ram (256MB).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 08:38    Post subject:  

Hmm .....

Bummer ... this copy/cut-n-paste thing sure makes for easy typo errs ... I normally specify the format too ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5010
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 13:38    Post subject:  

Sorry again Patriot, I did as you suggested and checked my command line.
Yep... It`s wrong!
I`m writing this from MediaPup, my Hack: "don`t load SFS to 256MB ram" worked!
Many thanks for your help... Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0440s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]