915resolution patched

For drivers and kernel modules.
Message
Author
tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

915resolution patched

#1 Post by tempestuous »

For Intel graphics devices which need a vbios hack to enable their true resolutions, here is the "915resolution" utility.
Puppy 4.1 alphas already have this utility modified to support the Intel 945GM chipset in the Acer Aspire One, but this version has been patched further to support the G33 (GMA3100) Intel chipset, device id 29c0:8086.

UPDATE Sep 25 2008: G33 support now includes device id 29b0:8086.
UPDATE Oct 13 2008: support added for GM965, device id 2a00:8086.
UPDATE Dec 11 2009: ArchLinux patches added by Barry, then modified by me to support GM45 (GMA 4500MHD) device id 2a40:8086.
UPDATE May 31 2010: support added for GMA3150 (N10 Pineview) device id a010:8086.
UPDATE August 28 2010: support added for GMA X3100, device ID's 8086:2a01 and 8086:2a02. I have identified these two devices in the source code as part of the "GM965" chipset family.
UPDATE Nov 23 2010: support added for a SECOND GMA3150 chipset, device id a000:8086
UPDATE May 21 2012: support added for HDGraphics (Clarkdale/Arrandale) device id's 0040:8086 and 0044:8086
Also code removed for HD3000/Sandy Bridge device ID's, because these are incompatible devices.

For source code, see 5th post in this thread.
Attachments
915resolution-0.5.3-patched20120521.pet
(12.61 KiB) Downloaded 1193 times
Last edited by tempestuous on Wed 04 Dec 2013, 12:43, edited 12 times in total.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#2 Post by tempestuous »

Instructions.
I think (?) that current Puppy 4.1 alphas have code in the Xorg setup script which will automatically run 915resolution when Intel chipsets are detected, so once this updated version of 915resolution is installed all you should need to do run the Xorg setup.
But if you are using older Puppy versions you will need to do things manually. First run this command

Code: Select all

915resolution -l
This will list modes reported by the video bios. Chances are that the full resolution of your graphics device will not be listed. Don't worry, just choose an existing mode number which has a resolution you don't want, then the 915resolution command will reset that mode number to the full resolution. Let's say you want 1440x900 at 16 bit colour depth. Run this command

Code: Select all

915resolution <some_valid_mode_number> 1400 900 16
now run the Xorg setup. If the correct resolution now works, you should add that command to the beginning of /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin
because the 915resolution command is necessary every time that X launches.

raffy
Posts: 4798
Joined: Wed 25 May 2005, 12:20
Location: Manila

example

#3 Post by raffy »

Thanks, tempestuous. Here is an extended example:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=30986
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? [url=http://puppylinux.info/topic/freeoffice-2012-sfs]Get the sfs (English only)[/url].

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#4 Post by BarryK »

Hi tempestuous,
could you post the patched source too?
I'll upload it to puptrix. Actually, I've got a backlog of packages that need to be uploaded to puptrix.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#5 Post by tempestuous »

915resolution patched source attached at Barry's request.

UPDATED May 21 2012.
In 915resolution.c the new HDGraphics device id's 0040:8086 and 0044:8086 can be seen at lines 272-278.
Attachments
915resolution-0.5.3-patched20120521.tar.gz
(8.21 KiB) Downloaded 1014 times
Last edited by tempestuous on Wed 04 Dec 2013, 12:46, edited 11 times in total.

Ron
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun 03 Aug 2008, 17:36
Location: Around Seattle

#6 Post by Ron »

tempestuous wrote:Instructions.
I think (?) that current Puppy 4.1 alphas have code in the Xorg setup script which will automatically run 915resolution when Intel chipsets are detected, so once this updated version of 915resolution is installed all you should need to do run the Xorg setup.
But if you are using older Puppy versions you will need to do things manually. First run this command

Code: Select all

915resolution -l
This will list modes reported by the video bios. Chances are that the full resolution of your graphics device will not be listed. Don't worry, just choose an existing mode number which has a resolution you don't want, then the 915resolution command will reset that mode number to the full resolution. Let's say you want 1440x900 at 16 bit colour depth. Run this command

Code: Select all

915resolution <some_valid_mode_number> 1400 900 16
now run the Xorg setup. If the correct resolution now works, you should add that command to the beginning of /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin
because the 915resolution command is necessary every time that X launches.
I need to revive this thread because I ran into a problem using this. I did download the revised 915resolution and then added my resolution to it and that worked fine, but still only in Xvesa. Xorg still crashed when I tried it. Xvesa was okay for a while, but now I need Xorg for a program. I modified the /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin file as per above. I put it in just after the #comments (I guess that's what they are.) So it should have been the start of the script. When I rebooted, though, all I got was a blank screen - no display at all. Then I couldn't make it work with either Xorg or Xvesa. I had to replace my pup_save file from a backup. I guess I could have made one just for xwin.

So, should Xorg have worked? Should I try it again (I'm kinda scared to now...?) I may have made a mistake but I was pretty careful. Maybe there is a specific place to insert the line? Could you give me the precise syntax to use? I'm a pretty new user and unfamiliar with Linux.

Thanks, I really need this to work under Xorg.

Ron

User avatar
john biles
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sun 17 Sep 2006, 14:05
Location: Australia
Contact:

#7 Post by john biles »

Hello tempestuous,
Your Pet and instructions worked fine installed in TEENpup 2008 and I now have TEENpup running with the correct screen resolution on my 900 series EeePC. Thank You!

I've posted this link on the EeePC forum.
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#8 Post by tempestuous »

915resolution just updated in the first post to include support the graphics chip in forum member PuppyUSBUser's HP Compaq 2710p, device id 2a00:8086.

schneida
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 18:05

#9 Post by schneida »

I would like to use this tool with my Dell Latitude E6400, but whenever I start it i get

Code: Select all

Intel chipset detected.  However, 915resolution was unable to determine the chipset type.
Chipset Id: 2a408086
Hopefully somebody could fix that (I also sent an e-mail to stomljen at yahoo dot com)

Thanks in advance

schneida

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#10 Post by aragon »

i would also appreciate that as i recently got the same laptop from my employer.

aragon

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#11 Post by tempestuous »

Barry has just updated 915resolution here
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01251

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#12 Post by aragon »

tempestuous,

i've tried barrys patched version but it does not solve the problem with the mentioned dell with the Chipset Id: 2a408086.

any chance for a fix?

thanks
aragon

amigo
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 06:52

#13 Post by amigo »

Aragon, are you sure about that pciid? That number shows up as a memory controller in the pci-id database. Can you post the output of 'lspci' at least the relevant line for the video controller?

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#14 Post by tempestuous »

OK, I modified 915resolution to support device 2a40:8086. Dotpet attached to the first post.
I identified this device as "GM45" which may, or may not, be correct! Google tells me it's this device -
http://www.intel.com/products/notebook/ ... erview.htm

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#15 Post by BarryK »

tempestuous wrote:OK, I modified 915resolution to support device 2a40:8086. Dotpet attached to the first post.
I identified this device as "GM45" which may, or may not, be correct! Google tells me it's this device -
http://www.intel.com/products/notebook/ ... erview.htm
tempestuous,
Thanks for coming to the rescue on that one. I'll announce it on my blog and upload it to my sources repo.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#16 Post by BarryK »

Ah, yes, the source, tempestuous would you kindly post that also?
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#17 Post by tempestuous »

Modified source code now attached to the 5th post in this thread.
I discovered an extraneous comma at the end of line 63 of 915resolution.c. I removed it before packaging the source code, then I also recompiled the 915resolution dotpet and re-attached it to the first post.
If you downloaded the dotpet before December 12, please download again.

aragon, does this now work with your Dell Latitude E6400?

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#18 Post by aragon »

tempestuous,

thanks in advance, will test it as soon as i'm back on the dell. i'm a little ill but hope to be ok tomorrow.

aragon

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#19 Post by aragon »

tempestuous,

have tested it. :D Works wonderful, i now get a correct (and very sharp) screen on the dell.

thanks very much.

aragon

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#20 Post by jamesbond »

Thanks for this. I can resurrect my old-ish puppy 4.1.2 and have it scream at my new machines with the correct resolution :D
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

Post Reply