Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 22:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
PCountdown - countdown timer
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 11:31    Post subject:    

Works fine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 11:37    Post subject:  

01micko wrote
Quote:
davesurrey, re visible warning.. do you want an option for that? It could timeout any time you choose or not at all ...

Hi and sorry for delayed reply but my partner's PC HDD crashed so tryng to recover the data. Bit of an emergency.

For me it would be great to have the option that it continued to give a visible warning until it was reset but for others it might be better if that is optional.

Thanks as ever
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1682
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 12:01    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

Try this one, experimental, but without experiments our knowledge can not grow Smile


It works fine.....but, when it went off, I had to wonder....if I had set it to remind me to do something....it doesn't tell me what to do.

Maybe a field to enter the task? right now, it goes off, and in a senior moment, I have to ask myself what I am being reminded to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 16:04    Post subject:  

tclhost,

Ok, should be able to do that, add a field for the "task". Maybe I could add it to the splash? Would that be suitable?

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1682
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 16:11    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

Ok, should be able to do that, add a field for the "task". Maybe I could add it to the splash? Would that be suitable?

I think that would be fantastic!

Thanks
Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 16:57    Post subject:  

Version -0.1.2

See main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 18:58    Post subject:  

Dear 01micko,

I made a few mods that shorten the script a bit (generated the item lists in loops). Please have a look. Also I replaced "file icon" with "file stock", since, in this way, gtkdialog respects the button icon size stipulated in the user's gtk theme.

With kind regards,
vovchik
countdown.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  countdown.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.36 KB 
Downloaded  505 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1682
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 21:27    Post subject: Thanks  

01micko wrote:
Version -0.1.2


Works fine ... but the dog snarled the fisrt time she read the screen.

Thanks!

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 21:59    Post subject:    

Thank you for this nice little useful application. Works great. Smile
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 01:06    Post subject:  

Hi Jim1911 and tlchost.

Jim, remember when you reported the bug? I bet it was around 8 or 9 in the morning right? tlchost, same. The problem is the code solution I chose, which Patriot kindly pointed out to me. It wont handle 08 or 09 because bash (in this instance) reads the 0 as a switch to change to base 8. Consequently the code fails because we are working in base 10.

Now I know what the problem is I can fix it, but the fixed version will be slightly slower I fear (no prob for you Jim Cool ) but I can test and refine on my old k6 400 w/ 128Mib ram.

vovchik, thanks for your interest, I will look at your code and try to understand it, all good learning experience for me Smile

Cheers and thanks for reports.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 01:22    Post subject:  

vovchick

Thankyou for your addition, I love it! It will be in the next version, provided it works nice on my old machine, I can't see a problem. That code should trim a little fat too Smile . I like it.

Cheers

Mick

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 03:56    Post subject:  

updated to version -0.1.5

See main post

_____________________________________

vovchik,

I tried your function code and it didn't work. The gui rendered fine but it somehow would not allow the functions script to run correctly. Confused The code (my code) is very , how shall we say, raw. There are still refinements to be made. I did implement the 'icon' to 'stock' change, thanks.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 04:42    Post subject:  

Dear01micko,

I am scratching my head. I don't see how my functions can affect the stuff in the functions file, particularly since the gui renders in your case, too. All my functions do, as you know, is to generate the item lists - rather than having them hardcoded. It all works on my puppies (3.01 and 4.10).

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 05:33    Post subject:  

vovchik

I have it working now with my updated code Smile . I was trying to implement too many changes at once... a bad idea Embarassed . So I went back a step and implemented changes slowly.

Your function code will be in the next release. Just testing on old machine.

Cheers

Mick

_______________________________________

It all works on old box

Now up to v-0.1.6

See main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 06:47    Post subject:  

Dear mick,

I ahve another little suggestion. Try using the following in the "Duration of Splash" hbox:
Code:
      
<frame Duration of Splash>
   <hbox homogeneous=\"true\">
      <radiobutton>
         <variable>DUR1</variable>
         <label>Short</label>
         <default>$DUR1</default>
      </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
         <variable>DUR2</variable>
         <label>Sound time</label>
         <default>$DUR2</default>
      </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
         <variable>DUR3</variable>
         <label>Infinity</label>
         <default>$DUR3</default>
      </radiobutton>
   </hbox>
</frame>


The homogeneous="true" bit in the hbox obviates the need for manually spacing the strings used in the labels. They will centre just fine without whitespace padding.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0792s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]