Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 16:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3.1 -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 11:46    Post_subject:  

Gerry, perhaps an older kernel version from the "special puppies" folder will work for you,
such as this one: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/special-puppies/pup-431-k2.6.25.16-intel_modems.iso
or this one: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/special-puppies/pup-431-k2.6.21.7-scsi-intel_modems.iso
the rest: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/special-puppies/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
gnz11

Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 11:51    Post_subject: about upgrading  

for wuwei: there are big differences between 421 and 43/1

421 is from unleashed and new recompiled packages. sometimes even close versions don't always do well with upgrade.

43/1 was recompiled from 412 with woof.
if space isn't too much of a problem i would suggest using a new frugal for 43.

for gerry: similar to above. each version should be started with it's own save. they can be fine after update but sometimes not. to stop the new version from updating at start hit F2 and use puppy pfix=ram at boot. this will keep it from touching any savefiles.

also in 421 there is a stop to see what savefile you want to use.
in 43 it finds it's save and just starts up.

i say this from having about 6 savefiles from 301,421, 421bb, 43.

it's better to set up a small savefile for each version then blending. when we went through this between 2x,3 and 4 series it got ..interesting
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 302
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 12:31    Post_subject: Re: Alsamixer problem  

mawebb88 wrote:
Still the same on 431 as previous 430 and earlier beta's. No master volume slider and volume on system tray is always showing muted at each reboot

Rgds Mike
EeePC901


same problem as above.
EeePC 900a
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 14:32    Post_subject:  

The 2.6.25.16 kernel works fine.

Puppy 4.3.1 ignores existing pupsave files for other versions (ie 4.1.2), so "upgrade", whether intentional or accidental, is not possible. Bug??

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 15:23    Post_subject:  

gerry wrote:
Puppy 4.3.1 ignores existing pupsave files for other versions (ie 4.1.2), so "upgrade", whether intentional or accidental, is not possible. Bug??
It's the underscore in the older save file name, I think Puppy will grab it if you rename it, but maybe keep a backup copy of it, just in case it screwes it up Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 17:54    Post_subject:  

Gparted problem:

I've been trying to install various versions of 4.3.0-4.3.1 using
the Gparted on the cds, and universal installer.

Tried ext.2-3-and4, both full and frugal installs. When I try to
boot, always get "Error 2 bad file or directory".

If I make the partitions with any previous Puppy Gparted, going
back to 3.0, there is no problem at all.

Is there an older Gparted pet available that I can use on 4.3.1.

EDIT:
Mon. Oct. 26

Puppy 4.3> makes partitions with a 256 inode count which don't
boot from my previous grub.

Switching to 4.3> grub solves the problem and is backward
compatible with 128 inode partitions.

Other options:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=262324#262324

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 18:00    Post_subject:  

BTW, I like the new Package Manager and I've a suggestion:
it'd be useful if it also displayed package sizes (packed and extracted), and also if the Installed Packages list could be resizable.
Another one: being able to select multiple packages (say, thru Ctrl+click) would also be useful ..but this is "deluxe" Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
mmmrr


Joined: 03 Mar 2009
Posts: 142
Location: vancouver island, canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 02:43    Post_subject: a bug??
Sub_title: scan for wireless network takes 2 trys
 

very nice work gang

in 431 and 431 small, scan for wireless network, in network wizard, found nothing on first try, offered choice: retry/quit retry found lots, fine but what about having the scan run twice on the opening attempt, if the first pass is empty...

the little critter is so quick that time extra would be tiny......it was awhile before i tried the retry because in other utilities, apps the retry choice is not often so useful; in this case it seems required so why not combine the first two scans into one in the script, have a more useful first result.

cheers, mm
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1271

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 08:45    Post_subject: Skype pet for 4.3.1  

The Skype pet in the Puppy 3 repository fails on 4.3.1. The Skype 2.0.0.72 pet in the "bugs" directory at puppylinux.ca works. The only problem I experienced was a missing icon, now copied from a different installation.

---------

Suggested Windows 7 message: "Found old hardware; install Puppy"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 09:34    Post_subject: jwm shutdown not working  

None of the shutdown menu items seem to work now in JWM

This has been the case since I re-sized the pupsave file to over 1G.

Anyone else seen this problem?

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
slackali

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 12:40    Post_subject: Re: ...crashing window blacks desktop  

prehistoric wrote:
... I've had a problem of the desktop crashing, while using Puppy to examine a Windows system partition, when there are too many files in a directory. (You know what a mess you find in a Windows system folder.) I may have just been lucky using Puppy for this before, but now I've had the problem happen twice in a few minutes. The panel remains on the screen, but everything else is black. I've been restarting the window manager to get the desktop back.


--edit for clarity--
I can confirm this issue, using ROX to browse "x:\WINDOWS\\system32" folder, with additional details.

(All tests run from LiveCDs with pfix=ram.)

I reproduced this issue on two computers, but not a third:

1. (pup431-2.6.30.5) a Dell Dim9100 Pentium D 3GHz w/ 3G RAM and no swapspace.
2. (pup431-2.6.25.16-intel-modems) a Thinkpad T20 PIII w/ 512MB RAM and 512MB swap.

Browsing to the directory in ROX: ROX starts processing the icons for the files (default settings, no thumbnails), then the window closes and the wallpaper goes black; all icons are gone. My other open app window was still open, and the toolbar & start menu @ bottom still work fine... in fact everything seems to work. No anomalies in 'top', X still running. The mounted drive is still mounted. No problem using console to 'ls /mnt/sda1/WINDOWS/system32' .

I could _not_ cause this blackscreen in puppy431 on a Dell Dimension E310, Pentium 4 2.8GHz 1GB RAM no swap, on either kernel, whether I used Xorg or Xvesa.

But! I then reproduced this from the puppy 4.1.2-2.6.25.16 LiveCD on the Thinkpad T20.

On the other hand, on the puppy 2.17.1 liveCD, the Thinkpad was snappy (much faster than the Dell E310 on the new puppies) at opening & scrolling through the files.

(The mounted "system32" folders on the E310 and the Thinkpad were both NTFS WinXP folders with 50+ subfolders & 2000+ files, so presumably reasonably similar.)

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Denethor

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 13:25    Post_subject:  

I have a 8132 Atheros Ethernet network adapter, Puppy while the network adapter to configure it or fails to make it work because not connected in any way. Also at the next restart even windows recognizes most ethernet adapter until not out nutrition for 5 or 6 seconds. It is as if linux disattivasse somehow tab. is a problem I have seen of the atl1c module and also with arc and ubuntu has happened to others! Is there a way to resolve? Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slackali

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 21:33    Post_subject: Re: ...crashing window blacks desktop  

(All tests run from LiveCDs with pfix=ram.)

OK, three more details re the Rox blackscreen when mounting & browsing a Windows system folder:

1. The blackscreen appears the same as if I manually kill the 'Rox-Filer' process.
2. "Restart JWM" from start menu does not fix the issue. "Restart X Server" does.
3. The blackscreen happens under both Xorg and Xvesa (greyscreen).

It doesn't happen every boot.

It feels like Rox generates a cache of the folder's icons, so if it is going to crash, it's the first (or first and second) time I access the folder (containing 2000+ files in my tests). After the first (or first and second) accesses/crashes, Rox is very responsive browsing that folder.

Again, I did reproduce this once on the 4.1.2 - 2.5.25.16 LiveCD as well.

    On the system I couldn't reproduce the blackscreen on, it did reliably show an odd behavior after the "system32" folder loaded in Rox.

    Dragging the scrollbar to scroll up and down in the Rox window would show a garbled icon list whenever I was scrolling through the icons in the middle of the alphabet. When I'd scrolled down about 800 files, the icons would mostly stop scrolling, in a garbled state of display. Once I got down to within ~800 files of the end, the icons would suddenly refresh and scroll reliably. Same during repeat scrolling. So scrolling the middle of the alphabet resulted in scrambled displays. However, the actual icons were invisibly keeping track of their positions: right-clicking a garbled display would refresh the display & show the correct icons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slackali

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 22:06    Post_subject: hardinfo benchmark weirdness
Sub_title: SEGFAULT & odd multiprocessor results
 

according to hardinfo, milestone marks for a Celeron M 1.5GHz:
lower is better for all tests:
CPU Blowfish 26, FPU Raytrace = 41.

Dell Dim9100, Pentium D (two Pentium 4s) 3.0GHz, 3 G Ram, no swap space:

puppy 423 2.6.25.16-SCSIl:
CPU Blowfish = 27 Sad . FPU Raytrace 31 Rolling Eyes . FFT = 7.7

puppy 431 2.6.30.5:
Blowfish 13.7 Smile . Raytrace 57 Crying or Very sad . FFT "Segmentation fault." Shocked

Dell DimE310, P4 2.8GHz w/ Hyperthreading on in BIOS, no swap.

puppy431-2.6.30.5:
blowfish 43 Sad . raytrace 98 Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad . FFT Segfault Shocked

    (same in Xorg or Xvesa)


puppy431-2.6.25.16-intelmodems:
blowfish 29 Confused . raytrace 34 Rolling Eyes FFT 8.2 Smile

Same Dell DimE310, but with hyperthreading OFF in BIOS:
EITHER puppy431 version ~= the previous result w/ hyperthreading on but older kernel:
blowfish 29, raytrace 34, FFT 8.2.


FWIW, here are the numbers from my Thinkpad T20 P3 512MB Ram & 512 MB swap:

same results in 4.3.1-2.6.25.16 and in 4.1.2-2.6.25.16:
blowfish 113, raytrace 132, FFT 96 . Crying or Very sad

(all tests from LiveCD with pfix=ram)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slackali

Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 22:21    Post_subject: JWM (or a Rox?) issues
Sub_title: longstanding
 

two things:

1. if I go into JWM configuration GUI menu & try to change Alt+Tab to trigger the command 'nextstacked' instead of the default 'next', it works... but Alt doesn't work anymore in other contexts. (e.g. accessing a 'File' menu in an app by typing Alt-F).

I've experimented w/ every Puppy jwm config file w/o success. I've never known whether this was a puppy or jwm issue. Issue existed in 4.1.2 also.

2. yellow 'tooltips' pop up after hovering mouse cursor over toolbar app placeholders or over 'Show Desktop' or 'Menu' icons. The tooltips persist or reappear as long as you hover over the file icon area on lower left of desktop.

in 4.1.2, the tooltips were harder to get to persist after you left the toolbar area.

I noticed after the blackscreen rox-filer crashes, the tooltips weren't an issue anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1027s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]