Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3 Final -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 23:18    Post subject:  

John

/aside, a bit

don't know where you are....?

One on ebay for 99p

http://preview.tinyurl.com/yf72s7s

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 00:43    Post subject:  

Now that we have cleared up the separate issues of tubby's modem problem, we can move on to wifi.
tubby wrote:
The wifi interface is listed as MPC13A-20 the FCC ID:CJ6PA3070WL

I just Googled for details about that wifi device, and apparently it's a miniPCI wifi card with an Agere/Orinoco chipset. Puppy should probably support this device with either the orinoco_pci driver or hostap_pci driver.

tubby wrote:
If you can shed some light on why it is detected and initialized ok in Dingo but no other 4series it would no doubt help other puppy users who have the same interfaces.

Well you could help diagnose the problem by running this command immediately after boot up -
Code:
lspci -n

and paste the results here.

Now activate the switch that you referred to earlier, off, then on, and run the same command again.
This is almost certainly a wifi switch, not a modem switch as you first reported!
Paste the second set of results here.

Hopefully we will see the wifi device listed ... if not in both sets of results, at least in the second set of results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 06:36    Post subject: lspci  

Tempestuous, here is the result, hope it helps.


00:00.0 Class 0600: 10b9:1644 (rev 01)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 10b9:5247
00:02.0 Class 0c03: 10b9:5237 (rev 03)
00:04.0 Class 0101: 10b9:5229 (rev c3)
00:06.0 Class 0401: 10b9:5451 (rev 01)
00:07.0 Class 0601: 10b9:1533
00:08.0 Class 0680: 10b9:7101
00:0a.0 Class 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 0Cool
00:10.0 Class 0607: 104c:ac50 (rev 01)
00:11.0 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 32)
00:11.1 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 32)
00:12.0 Class 0880: 1179:0805 (rev 03)
01:00.0 Class 0300: 1023:8820 (rev 82)
The above is lspci -n before switching.
00:00.0 Class 0600: 10b9:1644 (rev 01)
00:01.0 Class 0604: 10b9:5247
00:02.0 Class 0c03: 10b9:5237 (rev 03)
00:04.0 Class 0101: 10b9:5229 (rev c3)
00:06.0 Class 0401: 10b9:5451 (rev 01)
00:07.0 Class 0601: 10b9:1533
00:08.0 Class 0680: 10b9:7101
00:0a.0 Class 0200: 8086:1229 (rev 0Cool
00:10.0 Class 0607: 104c:ac50 (rev 01)
00:11.0 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 32)
00:11.1 Class 0607: 1179:0617 (rev 32)
00:12.0 Class 0880: 1179:0805 (rev 03)
01:00.0 Class 0300: 1023:8820 (rev 82)
The above is lspci -n after switching.

/usr/sbin/net-setup.sh: line 1672: /sys/class/net/eth1/device/device: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/net-setup.sh: line 1674: /sys/class/net/eth1/device/vendor: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/net-setup.sh: line 991: 12806 Terminated gtkdialog3 --program NETWIZ_Connecting_DIALOG
sed: can't read /etc/network-wizard/wireless/profiles/00:1F:9F:88:BC:7D.Open.conf: No such file or directory

The above is xerrs.log after connecting via setup wizard,after switching off then on. Even with the above message i now have an internet connection. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 07:04    Post subject:  

@Aitch, thanks for that but the computor on ebay is a sattelite not a portege. Still a good starting price for p3.

regards

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 07:41    Post subject:  

Well in both cases no wifi device is listed.
So this is low-level problem, related to how the kernel interacts with your laptop's bios.
I suggest you first check your bios and see if there is an option for "Pnp OS = YES/NO". If so, set it for "NO". This is a well-known and important setting to run Linux on older hardware.
Now run "lspci -n" again and hopefully you will see a new listing for the wifi device.

If there is no such bios setting, then you should try the following boot options, one at a time:
pci=biosirq
acpi=noirq
acpi=strict
pci=nosort
irqpoll routeirq

But I see on the web that your Agere/Orinoco wifi device is known to create resource conflicts under Windows 2000, too. I suggest that a thorough solution would be to replace this miniPCI device with a more modern wifi device, one with G-mode or even N-mode wifi support. My own preference would be for a Ralink-based device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 08:21    Post subject:  

Thank you for your ideas and comments Tempestuous, i will try what you suggest and post results.
I am still a bit concerned that the hardware is detected and initallised in Dingo4 at boot but not in any of the later distros, there must have been a change in the way hardware is detected at boot surely?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 10:25    Post subject:  

Well, yes, the underlying technical foundations have changed with recent Puppies, especially with "pupevent"; a modified version of udev.

But I don't think the startup scripts have changed significantly in terms of hardware detection. And even if they have, the "lspci" command is the final determinant of what hardware Puppy recognises.

So as I said earlier, I highly suspect that the difference comes down to the modern kernel ... and if I'm right, then the only fix is to add boot options which affect the kernel's behaviour.

But I just thought of a good test - download the 2.6.25.16 kernel version of Puppy 4.3 and give it a try. It's called
pup-431-k2.6.25.16-intel_modems.iso
and you can find it here -
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-4.3.1/special-puppies/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 12:23    Post subject:  

Thanks again for your reply Tempestuous, i had already suspected it might be the kernel so i will download your suggestion and try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 13:55    Post subject: Solved  

It looks like it was the kernel, i am using the pup-431-k2.6.25.16-intel_modems.iso on a live cd and it connected without any problem.
I am now going to do a frugal install to see if it still connects ok.
Many thanks for your help Tempestuous and i hope this helps other puppy users.

regards and thanks again

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sprangalang


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 15:27    Post subject:  

HI,
I'm very happy with 4.30 full version. I even got my cheap ($8.95) ebay wireless card to work!

I have an annoyance with the sound though.
I am happy that ALSA finds my sound card, and assigns to it, driver snd_es1968. When I run ALSA, it always picks it up, and it works, with all the bells and whistles. BUT, as soon as I reboot, it's gone, and I have to re-run ALSA. I never hear a bark on bootup (I noticed that with Lighthouse, I would always hear "hello". I really like Lighthouse, but my puppypc would not behave with it).

I am using kernel 2.6.30.5, along with the zp430305.sfs. I only see one intel driver in /lib/module/2.6.30.5/intelmodem: Intel536.ko.

This in my trusty Micron Trek 2, with PII, 256RAM, 10G hd. Oh, the sound-card is an ESS Maestro 2.

I've seen a few threads on similar issues, and have tried some of the fixes, but no luck. I'm not sure if this can be considered a BUG, though.

Thanks for listening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rAndMLemnT

Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 22:34    Post subject: Graphics in 4.3
Subject description: Xvesa does not show JWM tray
 

I use an nvidia GeForce FX 5200 PCI graphics card on my main system The card is 32 bit and clock: 66MHz. My mainboard is MSI with an Intel 64 Bit CPU and 2 gigs of memory. Monitor is HP w1907 connected with DVI cable.

Puppy 4.2 and earlier was a no brainer to select xvesa and set my resolution, yet with 4.3 (haven't tried 4.3.1 yet) any resolution I choose does not show JWM tray. I can get by this way but it is inconvenient. Ideas? Opinions? Am I an idiot? I know the answer to '3'.

With thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 08:03    Post subject: frugal install  

Hi Tempestuous, i have now done a frugal install and network settings are saved and blinky loads in the tray, however there is still no connection.
I have solved the issue by installing dhcp and dhclient, then placing a symlink to dhclient in the startup folder.
This method does not work on the later kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 940
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 09:00    Post subject: Re: Graphics in 4.3
Subject description: Xvesa does not show JWM tray
 

double posted
sorry !

Last edited by charlie6 on Tue 20 Oct 2009, 09:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 940
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 09:01    Post subject: Re: Graphics in 4.3
Subject description: Xvesa does not show JWM tray
 

Hi,
on pup431k2.6.30.5 frugal
rAndMLemnT wrote:
I use an nvidia GeForce FX 5200 PCI graphics card ....
with 4.3 (haven't tried 4.3.1 yet) ....

Could this be an answer...?
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=44388
and
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46686
I installed gray's nvidia driver (thanks gray!)for my Ge6 6200SE...and it works fine !
Though be carefull ! Try first on a fresh pupsave.2fs ...one never knows what could happen.

Hope this helps !
cheers, charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 23:34    Post subject:  

rAndMLemnT

I'd also try using xorg instead of xvesa

also see

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=341732

and try this driver [177]

http://files.wildspad.com/afecelis/linux/puppy/drivers/NVIDIA-177.82-k2.6.25.16.pet

or get link for the 185 here

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46686

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 21 [301 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0906s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]