Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 00:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
WakePup2 v0.2 - Floppy boot disk (or boot CD) for Puppy2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 20:20    Post_subject:  

Welcome to the kennels,

If you are working in Windows: rawrite is not a Microsoft utility, it's 3rd-party, so you must go get it.

You can go here:
http://www.chrysocome.net/rawwrite
and download rawwritewin-0.7.zip, unzip it, and then run winrawwrite (or whatever they call it).

If your machine is capable of booting a Puppy live-CD, you can click
Menu -> Setup -> Wakepup create boot floppy
and create the Wakepup boot floppy from within Puppy.

A freedos version (rawrite3.com) is here, don't know whether it will work in a cmd window in newer Windows or not:
http://www.fdos.org/ripcord/rawrite/

Other versions can be found, use Google or the equivalent.

HTH, SHS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
svlevity

Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 23 Oct 2009, 07:40    Post_subject: WakePup2 - Floppy Boot disk
Sub_title: Booting from floppy disk
 

Thanks very much - I'll download the 'rawrite' file and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lostinxlation

Joined: 29 Nov 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 04:34    Post_subject:  

Could anyone let me know which puppy versions wakepup2 work with ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mitchellray

Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun 13 Dec 2009, 16:16    Post_subject: Floppybootdisk asking for path or command at 'a' prompt
Sub_title: two differing responses depending on when 1GB USB Flash D inserted
 

Hello,
I have been unable to boot my USB Flash Drive using the floppy boot disk.
The disk was made using WakePup create boot floppy in 4.31.
The Flash copy was made using BootFlash in 4.31.
The 1GB USB Flash D was formatted using GParted in 4.31. GParted is instructed to make VFAT16 and complies, but scans back afterward VFAT32. 'boot' flag was chosen.
Note: CFDISK scans the format as VFAT16.

Depending upon when I insert the USB Flash D, I get differing screen options/messages.
If USB Flash D inserted prior to power on, it is not found. The process then hangs.
If USB Flash D is not inserted at power on, menu comes up asking for media type.
Eventually, an 'a' prompt arrives. I do not know how to designate path, nor do I know what commands are possible/appropriate.
Please advise.
Mitchellray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 13 Dec 2009, 18:13    Post_subject: Re: Floppybootdisk asking for path or command at 'a' prompt
Sub_title: two differing responses depending on when 1GB USB Flash D inserted
 

Mitchellray wrote:
Hello,
I have been unable to boot my USB Flash Drive using the floppy boot disk.
The disk was made using WakePup create boot floppy in 4.31.
The Flash copy was made using BootFlash in 4.31.
The 1GB USB Flash D was formatted using GParted in 4.31. GParted is instructed to make VFAT16 and complies, but scans back afterward VFAT32. 'boot' flag was chosen.
Note: CFDISK scans the format as VFAT16.

Depending upon when I insert the USB Flash D, I get differing screen options/messages.
If USB Flash D inserted prior to power on, it is not found. The process then hangs.
If USB Flash D is not inserted at power on, menu comes up asking for media type.
Eventually, an 'a' prompt arrives. I do not know how to designate path, nor do I know what commands are possible/appropriate.
Please advise.
Mitchellray


Yes; gparted in 4.3.1 calls fat 16 partitions fat 32; it's weird.
A wakekpup2 floppy will not boot usbflash with puppy 4.3.1.
The floppy works fine on puppies earlier than 4.3.
The 4.3.1 flash can boot using the install cd and typing (puppy
pmedia=usbflash) at the boot screen.

Think I'll install 4.3.1 to flash again and check to see if it has the same
files as the earlier ones, (I should have done that before...duhh).
I used "universal installer" to "do the flash".

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 14 Dec 2009, 15:36    Post_subject:  

Okay; tried it again....it works.

Wakepup2 gives you lots of stuff to read and think about.
Don't read.
Don't think.
Just hit enter.....eventually you have to click a number;
click number 1.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mitchellray

Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon 14 Dec 2009, 21:01    Post_subject: WakePup2 hangs  

Hello rjbrewer,
When I insert the USB Flash D before powerup, WakePup2 proceeds to load but then hangs at a blinkin cursor.
On that page, it says it found USBFLASH, but a few lines down it says some type of adapter or converter (I'm not exactly certain) is not there.
Alternatively:
If I do not put USB Flash D in at powerup, WakePup2 gets to a screen asking for type of drive. I have tried both choices 1 and alternatively 6, both USB Flash Drive indicated.
Then the next step takes me to the choices 1 or 2, and I choose. Choice 1 results in a request for sub directory which must include USBFLASH.
I can not come up with the correct path.
Choice 2 results in a screen with a bit more detailed request for information and an a:\>.
I have no idea after trial and error what to place as path.
The only commands that seem to work are '?' and 'dir', but both get me to other screens where I am still at a loss.

Note: I have successfully booted my other computer, Asus1005HA with that USB Flash D after changing the bios to boot from peripheral 1st.
So the Flash Puppy is functional.
Mitchellray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 14 Dec 2009, 22:24    Post_subject:  

Michellray;

I used "universal installer" to put puppy on the flash drive.
"Bootflash" gives me the impression it is for computers that
are new enough to boot usb without the need for floppy

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mitchellray

Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 01:10    Post_subject: WakePup2 cont'd  

Hello,
I used universal installer to create the flash D files.
Does one of my results make it appear as if I used the BootFlash?
Mitchellray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 03:14    Post_subject: Re: WakePup2 cont'd  

Mitchellray wrote:
Hello,
I used universal installer to create the flash D files.
Does one of my results make it appear as if I used the BootFlash?
Mitchellray


From your initial post ;

"The Flash copy was made using BootFlash in 4.31. "

I hit 'enter' twice and 'number 1' once, to make it work.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mitchellray

Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 11:32    Post_subject: WakePup2 cont'd  

Hello,
Yes, I miswrote.
I used universal installer to create the flash D copy of 4.3.1.
Mitchellray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 14:49    Post_subject:  

Install 4.12 or 4.2 to flash and try it.
If it works, that eliminates wakepup from the equation,
(theoretically)

Edit: dec.16

Tried it with Barrys' latest experiment "Quirky-001"'
2.6.31.5 kernel and gparted makes 256 inode partitions,
same as 4.3.1.

Works fine

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mitchellray

Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 21:54    Post_subject: WakePup2 cont'd  

Hello rjbrewer,
Yes, I had success with 4.2.1.
Oddly, WakePup2 only finds two of my USB, the ones on the motherboard, but not the additional two plugged into the auxiliary USB plug on the board.

Thanks much for the assistance.
Mitchellray

sidenote: Puppy would not shut off machine from FDD boot of USBFlash as was solved elsewhere with CD-RW by apm power_off=1.
But boot option acpi=force and then save on shutdown works on subsequent boots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yul01

Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 30 Dec 2009, 07:39    Post_subject:  znk  

great work

thank you so much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prezent

Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jun 2010, 11:30    Post_subject:  SOLVED wakepup2 problem: "lupu-501.sfs not found"  

wakepup2 is a great tool for old computers!

PROBLEM:
I boot from floppy with wakepup2, but every time failed after a short boot, with the message:
Loading drivers needed to access disk drives.... done
Searching for Puppy files in computer disk drives...lupu-501.sfs not found. Drop ping out to initial-ramdisk console....
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
#

SOLUTION:
After many tests I get the point: wakepup2 is case sensitive! It is looking for lupu-501.sfs, but in install folder the file is LUPU_501.SFS. For this reason is coming the message above. I solved that by renaming LUPU_501.SFS in lupu-501.sfs. Everything is working fine.

SUGGESTION:
Please edit wakepup2 to look for LUPU_501.SFS instead of lupu-501.sfs. Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0815s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]