Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 11:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Wbar: a fancy launchbar (using Imlib2)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 07:09    Post_subject:  

CRF
Quote:
installed Aragon's xfce 4.61 pet

to much honour, it's grays one...

to your problem: maybe create a little script and start this script with xfce autostart?

Code:
#!/bin/sh

#wait for the desktop to settle
sleep 10

#start wbar
wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1 -pos bottom -offset 30 -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 0 -falfa 0 &

exit 0


aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CRF

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 14:48    Post_subject:  

Oops! Sorry! I read a lot of your posts and Gray's as well. To me you guys are the Puppy Guru's!

Thanks for the reply! When I get home tonight, I will try the script!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CRF

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 22:27    Post_subject:  

Fantastic!

Thanks Aragon! It Worked!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
swiatmar


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Location: Danube, AT

PostPosted: Wed 28 Oct 2009, 22:54    Post_subject:  

I have some problem with wbar under xfce. So I put xfce on my puppy 431 with the older kernel 2.6.25 and after installing xfce 4.6.1 I tried to install wbar. I've updated xintric and nothing is happening. But wbar is starting when I start it in terminal like wbar --above-desk. I tried also to put a command line to startup folder, but nothing is working Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1485
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 15:53    Post_subject:  

Hello swiatmar

swiatmar wrote:
I have some problem with wbar under xfce.......... I've updated xintric and nothing is happening. But wbar is starting when I start it in terminal like wbar --above-desk.

If you recall the image NOP431+Gimp.jpg that i posted in your NOP lost XFCE!!! thread,
you will notice that i also had wbar installed, i also had it loading automatically at each boot up.

All that i did to achieve that, was to add the launch command to the /root/xinitrc file,
below is how the bottom of that file looks after adding the launch command to it.

Code:
# Start wbar application launcher:
sleep 6 && wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1 -pos bottom -offset 30 -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 0 -falfa 100 &

#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec startxfce4

###END###

You can leave out the -offset 30 if you are not using the wbar with the offset patch, that i posted on page 7 of this thread.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
swiatmar


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Location: Danube, AT

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 18:24    Post_subject:  

hihihi:)

Thank you CatDude again Smile I don't know why but I have some really strange problem with my puppy. By the way this problem with gimp is still there. so I gave up and installed the package version of gimp 2.4.0rc3- and this one works fine:)

I've also got wbar to work Smile
I think usually beginner problems Smile

But thanks a lot for the support- Puppy has the best community- and Puppy really rocks Smile
By the way have an other problem with xfce- somehow I'm missing some of my menu icons- is it possible to editing t somehow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1485
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 19:00    Post_subject:  

Hello swiatmar

swiatmar wrote:
Thank you CatDude again Smile

You're very welcome mate.

swiatmar wrote:
By the way have an other problem with xfce- somehow I'm missing some of my menu icons- is it possible to editing t somehow?

More than likely i would think.
What icons are missing ?
What Puppy version are we talking about now ? Laughing

It would probably be best to start a new thread concerning this issue,
rather than trying to do it in this thread, it is a different subject after all.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chris

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 31 Oct 2009, 07:09    Post_subject:  

First things first - thanks to everyone who had contributed to this long running thread. I've got wbar running quite nicely and that's a testament to your community spirit.

Of course it is my nature to never quite be satisfied Embarassed so I'd like to tweak wbar a little bit more. To do that I need some help.

1. I'd like to have a wbar icon that opens up the jwm menu or something similar. So instead of having to use the jwm pane; menu button of right click the desltop, I can press a wbar icon. Any ideas how this could be done?

2. I've got wbar at the top (offset = 0) so I can push the mouse to the top of the screen and still activate wbar icons. But it would be really cool is I could get the icon text to display above the icon rather than below. Anyone reckon this is possible?

3. Perhaps not a wbar issue but I'll ask anyway - Can I change a setting somewhere so that when I maximize a window it does not fill the screen from top to bottom. Specifically I want it not to cover part or all of the wbar icons.

health and happiness to you all
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 20:29    Post_subject:  

I did read this nice long thread, but I didn't get wbar running in 4.3.1
I get:
Code:
# wbar -above-desk
Using /root/.wbar config file.
Using a Super Bar.
/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/usbpendrive48.png -> Couldn't load icon image.
#

Where can this png be found?
Will there be other missing items?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2009
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 21:11    Post_subject:  

In 4.31 it's:
/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/usbdrv48.png

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 09:58    Post_subject:  

Thank you Trapster.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 11:47    Post_subject: xfce wbar from xfce panel  

i need wbar that can autohide, so my desktop willbe clean. iwas trying wbar from, but i think its too much memory used for it. i just need a simple wbar.

so i used xfce panel as wbar, its was not complicated and easy to use.
add a launcher is easy

i was download from debian package.
the problem is, i cannot change the backround. if the backround modified with transparent, mybe will be look good
xfce4-panel as wbar.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  xfce4-panel as wbar.png 
Filesize  125.13 KB 
Downloaded  947 Time(s) 

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
swiatmar


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Location: Danube, AT

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 11:28    Post_subject:  

you can make the background transparent in xfce if you go to the panel click on it and set properties as transparent Smile
by the way wbar is really small and does not use much memory at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
swiatmar


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Location: Danube, AT

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 11:28    Post_subject:  

you can make the background transparent in xfce if you go to the panel click on it and set properties as transparent Smile
by the way wbar is really small and does not use much memory at all

sorry double post ups Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 07:56    Post_subject:  

Hi i am following this. http://puppylinux.org/wikka/WbarInstall

i am working with 520 and 525 atm

1. in the section edit 2 it gives an example of the file /etc/xdg/templates/_root_jwmrc

but it looks totally different to the default one i have.

where do i put the edit in it.


2 also with the wbar i have used in lighthouse pup it has a wbar icon pointing to wbar config application. is there a way to run this with this version of wbar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1000s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0163s) ][ GZIP on ]