Anyone know command line FFmpeg for Xvid & Ac3?

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Message
Author
User avatar
gposil
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 10:00
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia
Contact:

#21 Post by gposil »

Handbrake uses FFmpeg for that very thing...it is good but too large to include as standard Puppy feature...FFmpeg has no problems converting vobs to mpeg, or any other codec for that matter(provided you've compiled FFmpeg with the codec support you want)...

What sunburnt was getting at was creating a simple GUI to access the enormous range of features FFmpeg has...without resorting to PupFF/WinFF or Handbrake.
[img]http://gposil.netne.net/images/tlp80.gif[/img] [url=http://www.dpup.org][b]Dpup Home[/b][/url]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#22 Post by Makoto »

Well, yes, but I was mainly wondering if he'd tried it. :)
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#23 Post by sunburnt »

I`m working with vobcopy to try to improve it at the moment.
But if I get more time and I get FFmpeg working well I may try it.
I`m thinking of a GUI that does simple conversions, not all FFmpeg`s options.
I use to make TV stuff, but not any more, now I only do full size and quality.
So V & A codec selection, bit rate or sameq ( same quality ), simple stuff.

### I need to figure out how to select the audio streams, I got Spanish...

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#24 Post by sunburnt »

gposil; Your Dpup FFmpeg combo seems to be doing what avidemux can`t.
avidemux just can`t seem to get the sync correct ever, I`ve given up on it.

I want to fine tune my command lines for a GUI I`m making, so... Qs:

1) To set file size instead of bit rate I used: -fs , but I got a 800MB file.???
I substituted -fs 1500000000 for -b. Will it take -fs 1500m or -fs 1500000k.?
Using file size is best, big movie = 2 on a DVD, smaller = 3, Animated = 4.

2) So I used -b , but for a 1,200MB file I had to use: -b 3000k !!! ... ???

3) Should I use x264 or h264 instead of Xvid, are they really much better?
264s don`t work in player boxes right now, but that will probably change.
If 264 is a good idea, what optimized command line is best for it?

Below is my command line, could you make any suggestions to improve it?

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i /mnt/sdb5/V/Movie/-l1-2.vob -vcodec libxvid -b 3000k -acodec ac3 -ab 192k -f avi -g 300 -bf 2 /mnt/sda6/v/movie.avi

User avatar
gposil
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 10:00
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia
Contact:

#25 Post by gposil »

I find using this bitrate calculator works well for determining the right settings for -b

The format is kilobits/sec

Say for arguments sake your movie is 1 hour 30 minutes in length, and you want to limit filesize to 700Mb, your audio bitrate is 192k, then the calculator would return a require video bitrate of 869 kilobits/sec...So command line would be
ffmpeg -i /mnt/sdb5/V/Movie/-l1-2.vob -vcodec libxvid -b 869 -acodec ac3 -ab 192 -g 300 -bf 2 /mnt/sda6/v/movie.avi
and for x264 it would be
ffmpeg -i /mnt/sdb5/V/Movie/-l1-2.vob -vcodec libx264 -b 869 -acodec ac3 -ab 192 -g 300 -bf 2 /mnt/sda6/v/movie.avi
The Advantage in using x264 is the vastly reduced file size, but as you say it is not a standard in player boxes yet..although quite a few do it...

I hope that helps... :)

Cheers
Guy
[img]http://gposil.netne.net/images/tlp80.gif[/img] [url=http://www.dpup.org][b]Dpup Home[/b][/url]

Post Reply