Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 20:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 doesn't work.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 20:32    Post subject:  ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 doesn't work.  

PC specs

P4 @ 2.0GHz
1GB DDR RAM
ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 series (256MB of video RAM variant)
Puppy 4.1.2

I installed the driver from this page and the xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3 package. When I reran the xwizard to use xorg nothing happened, I then ran Xorg from the command line and got this output.

Code:
_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/puppypc:0
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6

X Window System Version 1.3.0
Release Date: 19 April 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 1.3
Build Operating System: UNKNOWN
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc 2.6.25.16 #1 Tue Aug 26 10:45:53 GMT-8 2008 i686
Build Date: 28 November 2007
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Nov 17 18:15:41 2009
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(WW) RADEON: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found
(II) Module already built-in
(II) Module already built-in
NTSC PAL
finished output detect: 0
finished output detect: 1
finished output detect: 2
finished all detect
before xf86InitialConfiguration
(EE) RADEON(0): No valid modes.
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found


/var/log/Xorg.0.log and /etc/X11/xorg.conf are attached. Can anyone help me get Xorg working? Xvesa works fine.
xorg.conf.copy.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorg.conf.copy.gz 
Filesize  2.08 KB 
Downloaded  367 Time(s) 
Xorg.0.log.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xorg.0.log.gz 
Filesize  5.25 KB 
Downloaded  383 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 21:42    Post subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=332617&search_id=258579438#332617

Does this work?

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 22:32    Post subject:  

Nope, I installed it, ran the xorgwizard and configured it how I was supposed to. When I run the test it says the GLX extension is missing. I think Xorg is running but I don't know how to confirm it.

When I open the catalyist control center it says the ATI graphics driver is not installed.

I'm going to try this with pfix=ram and install MUs pet after I install xorg_xorg_dri package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 23:01    Post subject:  

Doesn't work with pfix=ram either. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 01:35    Post subject:  

ITAmember wrote:
Doesn't work with pfix=ram either. Sad

Hmmz, the driver I gave a link to seems to be for the newer puppy linux (4.31) which uses a newer Kernel. That could be why it doesn't work.

To build the package to drive Nvidia cards there first needs to be a small module compiled against the kernel. I think that if you want to use a puppy with the older kernel you need a driver compiled against that kernel.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=273122&search_id=570855690#273122

There is a section on a patch required: If you have an old card (Radeon 8500 to 9250), then you need a patched Puppy:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36567


ATI are notorious for wobbly linux drivers, at least I always found NVidia easier to install, for better or for worse.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 19:22    Post subject:  

sikpuppy wrote:
To build the package to drive Nvidia cards there first needs to be a small module compiled against the kernel. I think that if you want to use a puppy with the older kernel you need a driver compiled against that kernel.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=273122&search_id=570855690#273122


That one works. Smile The only problem is I can't change the display resolution from 1600x1200. Here's the relevant section in xorg.conf (full version is attached)

Code:
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection


I changed it to this

Code:
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1024x768"
   EndSubSection
EndSection


When I restarted X the screen was black for a little and then went back to 1600x1200. When I opened up xorg.conf the line I added was gone.When I changed the display resolution from the ATI catalyst control center It just cut a section out of the screen and displayed that. Screeny is attached.

So close!
xorg.conf.copy.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorg.conf.copy.gz 
Filesize  1.33 KB 
Downloaded  379 Time(s) 
screeny.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  screeny.png 
Filesize  81.32 KB 
Downloaded  358 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 20:00    Post subject:  

Wicked. 90% there Razz
Hmmz. This may now be beyond me, but it could be your monitor that is the craw in your claw.

Is it LCD or CRT? If it's CRT is there a section to change the refresh rate from 60hz to whatever? If it's LCD what is the native resolution?

This is what I'd be looking at in addition to fiddling with the actual XORG. It's been a while since I have used an ATI card with linux Razz

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 20:08    Post subject:  

It's a CRT and there's no place to change the refresh rate. I uploaded the xorg.conf file to pastebin, link http://pastebin.com/f1e71174f.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 21:15    Post subject:  

Some extensive fiddling with the ATI config file got it working. So we're all good now. Thanks for the help. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 22:29    Post subject:  

ITAmember wrote:
Some extensive fiddling with the ATI config file got it working. So we're all good now. Thanks for the help. Smile

Cool.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Thu 19 Nov 2009, 22:54    Post subject:  

Looks like we hit a bump. OpenGL is working but I guess I don't have "dynamic GL support". I'm trying to run a game (tremulous) but this is what happens. http://tremulous.net/forum/index.php?topic=2576.0

Problem with the driver I'm guessing? I wish I knew how to fix this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 19 Nov 2009, 23:37    Post subject:  

ITAmember wrote:
Looks like we hit a bump. OpenGL is working but I guess I don't have "dynamic GL support". I'm trying to run a game (tremulous) but this is what happens. http://tremulous.net/forum/index.php?topic=2576.0

Problem with the driver I'm guessing? I wish I knew how to fix this...

There is a mention of using a symbolic link in the last comment on that page. Might be worth a whirl. L.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ITAmember

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 168
Location: The middle of a cornfield

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 00:06    Post subject:  

That's not it. The program can find the libs, it just doesn't have this dynamic gl support thingy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0802s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]